Say Your Name!

Say Your Name

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Not a very long ago I did a post on WordPress usernames and got to learn about many amusing stories. I have always been interested in stories behind names. My first names have been Anand and Vikas. Anand has been used in school, college and workplace mostly, whereas Vikas has been used by family members and relatives. I was also given a monastic name Chaitanya Das when I took renunciation.

road-21205_640

These are all Hindi/Sanskrit names. Vikas means growth or development today. My maternal aunt named me so. When I was born she named me so saying that everyone grew in a way after my birth. I met her today but I have never told her that she didn’t understand the meaning of the word quite clearly else she wouldn’t have named me so. Vikas is used mostly in terms of growth related to material things. For example–you may use it in context of GDP growth of a country or for increment in the literacy rate and so on. I can’t complain as she was merely 18 years old then and neither did she nor anyone else grasped the meaning of the word clearly.

The second name was Anand. Ananda means bliss so Bliss is my name. Vedas and Upanishads describe attributes of absolute as Sat, Chit and Anand. Absolute is Truth(Sat), knowledge(Chit) and Bliss(Anand.) My maternal grandmother named me so as she felt blissful after my birth. Anand was my goal and I have always liked this name.

Chaitanya Das means servant of Chaitanya. Here Chaitanya stands for Chaitanya Mahaprabhu who was a great devotee of lord Krishna. Bhakti tradition uses names where Das is used as suffix. Chaitanya literally means conscious or aware.

If I had the choice to pick other names I would have passed on it.

23 thoughts on “Say Your Name!

  1. I don’t have an exotic story like yours Bliss :). Mine’s a Caribbean story. In the Catholic faith, you must give your child a Christian name (that no one uses them), my mother chose Mary. My Godmother provided Pamela. I go by both names because like you, my family and childhood friends know me as Pamela, while colleagues and college mates call me Mary. I was on social media as Mary and my childhood friends didn’t know it was me, so I changed it to Pamela, until a college friend said, I can’t get use to calling you Pamela. So, I became both :). Thanks for sharing your story with us.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My first name is Marie-Renée, I love it but it’s a little bit too hard to pronounce and people often find it too long and as I was younger I learned that I was born on Easter’s Day, and Doctor’s who helped my mum to my birth told her : name her “Pascale”, I love this name, symbol of peace, so soft… but as I’ve another name I change it in Marie Or Marine when I paint the ocean and the sea, so my artist’s name is Marine… oh I love to be in water too 🙂

    Like

  3. My first 3 names are Savio…Joel and Sylvester, Savio after St. Dominic Savio, hoping I turn out like him :p Joel because I was the jewel in my mums family, coming from a family of all sisters.. I was the crowning glory when born 🙂 and Sylvester was my grand father’s name 🙂 That’s ma story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My first names are Anne and Elizabeth. Anne was one of my mother’s names and Elizabeth was the name of the midwife who came to the house to assist in my birth. It is interesting that I was born on August 16 and the following year on August 15 the Queen gave birth to Princess Anne Elizabeth. My mother said they named her after me!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Anand,
    My Guru/Mahatma was named Ananda too. As well as a dear friend in India, Anand Saini. Nice name!

    My own legal name is James. Yet most of my friends and family call me Jamie. Which was my mother’s choice. My father, seemed to live vicariously and wanted me to be the big business person. While I do not care so much for the name. Or names. I would not change them. For the choice is really not ours, to make. I rather believe, the name is grown into. We make it what it is. Not the other way. Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have renamed myself…not legally but in every other way…I can tell by what people call me how well they know me…my given name is Darlene and my chosen name is Spiritdancing…I also have named my inner child and her name is Misi…great topic!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

