Let’s Do Some Forum Mathematics!

Why This Post?

Yesterday I was forced to step down as the admin from what is now known as Blogger’s World forum. I am getting many messages and emails asking about the reasons which led to this so I wanted to tell certain things to all members who are inquiring. I wanted to discuss a few things with forum members as I was parting but couldn’t as my post was immediately locked for comments. This is so ridiculous. I stayed an admin since the forum started and had to never moderate a single post or edit anything against any member’s will. I never locked any post for comments. Now what happened all-of-a-sudden which forced the admins to moderate my posts?

There are people who were part of discussion when forum was created. During August, 2015, Blogging 101–I proposed the idea to create the forum and many members supported. The thread still exists in the Commons, so members can refer to discussions over there if they want. The reason I entrusted Kristina to use her ID to create forum was because I have a trusting nature and I never thought this would boil down to this.

The Reason Given For Forcing Me Step Down As Admin:

  1. I edit posts of people. I edit grammar.

No, I clearly don’t. I have only edited certain things: like adding feedback tag and inserting read-more tags because they were necessities. I didn’t unduly ever edit posts of any members. I wrote a post telling about the things I had to edit. For most of the members I kept adding ‘feedback’ tags thinking that they will be helpful for forum in the long run and I get this in return.

2. I stalk members. I take their privacy away.

I did write a few emails to a member(I am not revealing the name to respect their privacy. I have told about them to many members and if needed I can tell the whole story here!) and the reasons were obvious: this member had romantic inclinations towards me. She came in contact out of mixed interests and romance was one of them. Since the very beginning(August) she started writing some poems which were romantic and clearly expressed her feelings for me(in poems). I wrote a few emails to encourage her and help her in writing with feedback. But she was insecure as well as cunning. I also took help from one of the members and then the matter stopped temporarily. This member took help from another friend to investigate about me and this friend became over friendly with me and invited me for Facebook chat. She started spending more than 8-10 hours everyday in chatting with me just to know more about me because it was a job given by the aforesaid member. Then she(aforesaid member) kept using the ‘intimate’ material of discussions in these chats in her poems.

Well, there is not much use in going in details here: but it is apparent that these emails which were part of private discussions are now being called as “stalking materials.” That too after about 4 months since they were written. They have no bearing on any forum activity whatsoever. I did my duties on forum as they were needed to be done. No other member(except those two involved in the same thing) has ever received any mails from me which is stalking in nature.

3. I insult people and then say I was “just joking.”

There clearly are a few people who were hurt by my jokes. They were the same people who kept joking in the beginning but then somehow it seemed I crossed the limit. Alright. I apologized them long ago but they didn’t really seem to have forgotten. Now as some new members joined they kept indulging in light-hearted banter with me until it became “intimidating” all of a sudden! How? Another case came where a member was stalking another member. They wanted to make him apologize on forum for that. But why? He didn’t commit any offence on forum. One of the members started a debate with that member and then as I took a stand to call a spade a spade: all I get to see is I am not needed anymore. She intimidated leaving forum unless I forced that member to apologize. I refused. The result is apparent. Some old grudges and new power struggles.

 

 

Here are active members of forum who supported me directly or indirectly:

Pam Christ. Meg Sorick. Deb. Maddy. Arpita. Joanne. Jane. Amanda. Lou. Jackie. Indira. Heather. This is after I left forum. I have either received an email or a direct message or a message on forum from each one of them!

Some of these were there since the first day. They have been featured authors and have contributed immensely to the forum. Now the question is: if these members are the ones who wanted to see me there as admin–who were the people intimidated by my presence and were threatening to leave? I can count merely 3 people including one of the admins. The reasons have been given up thread. I didn’t entertain childish demand of one of them to force another member to apologize when it was not justified. I could never know what happened with the other!

Nobody knows better than me about active members. If they say they do: they are telling a lie. I have not presented twisted facts here. It is apparent that admins have not really done justice by saying that majority of members wanted me out. Or one possibility is: some of the members I have written names of here wanted me out but now they are just saying this: with what to gain? This is impossible. So I take it that majority of members still support me and it was merely admins: acting because they were ‘intimidated’ by my presence. And why? It was me who insisted that Rashmi and I be given admin rights to manage forum well. Kristina was not willing to give admin rights to anyone. (Just because we asked her to go ahead and do forum set-up with her ID! How childish is that?) That was shocking because she was not a favorite to become admin anyway. We were equals as admins and there must have been a discussion and voting if they wanted me out. It really saddens that you work considering everyone as yours and trust and they become greedy for certain reasons and then blame it on you.

 

 

 

94 thoughts on “Let’s Do Some Forum Mathematics!

  1. Hello, Anand!
    I came across this post today through a pingback.
    thanks for making this public. and we all know how unfortunate and sad it was.
    your honesty and openness show that there can’t be any fault from your side.

    after having a discussion with you, I tried to know the other side of the story for the better understanding of the issue but it saddened me more. they have just opposite story that of you narrated here. 🙂
    according to them, even the story of romantic inclination is also totally opposite. 🙂
    I got bewildered by this I stopped the discussion because it was getting more and more complicated. 🙂

    love and light ❤
    Vikram 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nobody will admit their own mistake, especially if they have hunger for power and a literary career ahead. At least following things are facts:
      1. I came up with the idea of the forum and spent considerable time and energy on it.
      2. Nobody had any right to ask me to step-down. Maybe I would have accepted a popular vote but they didn’t even wait for that. Almost all members who were active since beginning know that they fabricated lies about all members wanting me to step down.

      You did the right thing by stopping thinking about it for it is of no use to you. What you think about me will not change much in this regard. So do what makes you happy. I wish you all the very best 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Quotes Challenge | EXPRESSIVE HUMAN

  3. Vibrant, I’m behind Times so a few days late in hearing this news. So sorry for the division in BW. I cannot imagine how anyone else will willingly put their hearts into an activity as you have done I will greatly miss your role of welcoming New members and help in us to get acquainted as you did. I consider myself fortunate to have
    bonded with a group of blogging friends during your tenure of service. I will be following. Thanks for all the encouragement you have so freely given our blogging community.

    Like

  4. Hi Anand, There are two sides to a story. I have read your own side and will add a voice here based on what I’ve seen of you so far. During the last Blogging U courses in December, you struck me as someone ever willingly to render help to bloggers especially the newbies. An attribute I have also seen in the present course. You have a good spirit and want others to grow in their passion too. I can see other people attesting to your good nature here. Therefore, don’t let such trivial issues disturb your peace. Move on and embrace those who appreciate you better. Cheers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. I agree that I should retain my peace of mind. Your support and kind words mean a lot to me. I will try to stay positive and keep publishing here 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  5. I am not sure what I want to say…however, I do want you to know that I love your energy and sincerity; and you just can’t please everyone…love and support yourself like you do and let the rest go…much love and light

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes that is wisdom. It was not just about pleasing everyone but facing accusations for certain things I didn’t do and that too when I placed community welfare over my personal blog(which is also in a way to help others) I would keep your advice in mind. Thank you so much for the kind words 🙂

      Like

  6. IMO, you were not treated appropriately. It is definitely their loss and what goes around comes around. I have seen similar happenings before, in other forums and social sites.

    I have always found you very supportive and never intimidating.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes what goes around comes around. I feel I learnt a few things but I have always had a trusting nature and it has not changed despite some similar incidents in past. I can’t help it. Not all people have firm faith in Karma and not all justice can be witnessed in our lifetimes because life is mysterious and so is Karma. I only hope that we all get peace. Thanks for your kind words. They really mean a lot 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, I have started looking at brighter sides again. After all it was just a forum where I spent some hours and got to meet many people. Now I am feeling a lot of energy has been released and I have learnt my lessons. Thanks for the support. I published “its v/s it’s” as the first featured post in Grammar section over there. You just keep reminding me. I hope you take care while writing. Wishing you all the best,

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I guess not everybody believes in democracy? There should have been a vote and an open discussion. Regardless, you will always have my support Anand. Your kind and giving spirit has not gone unnoticed or unappreciated Anand. Hugs to you my blogging friend.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes that came as a surprise to me Kally. Those admins put themselves on a higher pedestal for an unknown reason. One of them merely started the site using her email because I trusted her and didn’t really work hard to build-it all up or give feedback but now somehow she had all the power to show me the door without even a vote!

      Thanks for your kind words. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I agree with Kelly that there should be some democratic process. There should also be clear policies for all sorts of things there. They have however said on the group blog that admin removal was only meant to be temporary and that you are still welcome as author in meantime – but i do understand how deeply offended you must feel, especially after all your dedicated work and commitment there. It’s a terrible shame, just as things there seem to be going so well. I hope everything works out for you and glad to see you have a lot of support, just as I expected. I don’t know the details of what happened and don’t want to know – but I have been worried for sometime by some of the bantering you were being drawn into at BW – not by your comments but by the others. I regret the circumstances of your break from the grindstone that became BW but am glad for you to have some freetime for yourself for a change and for your time with your own blog. Take care of yourself Anand – Love and Light 🙂 PS – will poetry corner #17 be posted anywhere – even here maybe? I was so looking forward to it, especially being the last one….

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dear Colette,

        Thanks for being ever so kind. Like you, I also hope to gain some fresh air. Though I loved to help, life wanted me to move out from that place and gave a good blow. Anyone who knows details of my getting forced away will look at it with disgust and horror. The more details you know worse you will feel so I leave it here.

        I sent poetry corner entries to Rashmi via email. Just a day before she was arguing with me about continuing it and couldn’t publish it even when I sent her entries which was shocking.

        Love and light ❤

        Anand 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

            1. If you email it to me then maybe you should also email it round to other entrants also? I wouldn’t want to put you to any trouble though. Thanks for doing Poetry Corner all these weeks, you really went the extra mile for everyone at BW and really are appreciated by so many 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m sorry to hear this happened to you Anand. I’m not in enough to understand what is going on, all I know is that you were the first person that welcomed me in this blogging world and guided me to meet beautiful people here. Keep on doing what you are doing, you have been a blessed to many people.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you for taking time to give us your side of the story. I felt that somehow jealousy was at the root of it. Human nature can be so cruel. I was in a similar position where I was forced out due to ridiculous allegations. I didn’t have a forum like this to tell my side of the story. I just had to swallow my pride – or what was left of it – and fade away. I, too, had poured my heart and soul into the work. But I just graciously walked away….and then went on to better things! After I left, I realized it was really an unhealthy environment.
    So sad all that to say, it will be alright in the end. It’s painful now-and your presence will be missed with all the “extra” things you did. I’m really sad. I’ve not been as involved recently, but now that we’re traveling, I’ll have more time. I don’t want to undo all the great work you’ve done, so I’ll hang in there for now.
    They did say you could return as administrator didn’t they?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. As you say it’s unhealthy environment and wise people like yourself know that jealousy was the reason behind making me leave. They had to say that I could return otherwise that would have become bigger. I know that I will not be able to work there as they have made some grim and false baseless accusations. Perhaps this is all for good. I wish you all the very best in blogging and life 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Keep on doing what you’ve always done! Spreading light and love. You have many many fans! Stay in touch. I’m looking forward to another post from you, about the finer things in life: Light and Love!

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Thanks for the encouragement and support Deb. I will also like to focus on positive things and move out of this negativity and fault finding. It’s so draining in a world which is already on fire 🙂

          Love and light ❤

          Anand 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  10. For the same reasons you wrote this post, I stopped visiting blogger’s world. It’s no place now where you can raise your voice. Just because few people know each other better doesn’t means that you(I’m not talking about you) will take sides. I know how supportive and helpful you are. Also, you’ve always helped the new members as well as given your energy and time to the place. In case, you were inactive, the forum would not have been the same. I don’t know what transpired that you wrote this today, but it’s sad that good and honest person that you’re are , being forced out to write this down. In case you need any help, I’ll be supporting you whatsoever.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for extending your helping hand Kaushal. Whatever happened and forced me to write this is sad. But it had to happen. Now I look forward. I wish you all the best in your blogging journey 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. For now I would refrain from joining communities because I am tired of all politics. I am one of the most apolitical person but the circumstances forced me to discuss all this in last few days. Thank you so much for your support. Peace.

          Liked by 1 person

  11. I have only been on WordPress less than two months, and recently joined bloggers world by your invitation. Honestly your one of the first names I remember seeing in blogging 101 and even in bloggers world. It wasn’t long after i joined all this happened and I have no idea the details. After reading this and some other recent posts I am beginning to get an understanding. I appreciate the work you have done and just how active you are i imagine that would be a lot to keep up with but you did. It’s a shame all that has happened the last few days. I don’t know just how well the bloggers world is going to be without your presence there, I honestly haven’t spent a lot of time being involved at bloggers world. Just used it to connect with other bloggers in an indirect way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind remarks Gene 🙂

      I had to write this post to share my side with members who were inquiring. I wish you all the very best in your blogging journey and life 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Richard P.

    I remember reading about that forum from your posts and thought to join up but with what you have written here, glad I didnt. Don’t lose sleep over those who are bent to kill your spirit. Hope you find yourself better with that behind you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your positive statement Richard. I did spend a great amount of energy in the forum but it was all for good reason to help many bloggers and create an environment where such interactions were possible. Jealousy and greed took better of some people and this happened. I hope to see better like you say. It is all part of our life stories.

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Richard P.

        Well if you ever start up another one or join one, lemme know. You’re an amazing blogger and such a strong and positive person, so I’m sure you’ll find better things to do than worry over the greed of others.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. If I start a new forum I will announce about it here. Though I feel it takes a lot of energy so I would rather keep blogging here for now. I am really tired of all nonsense I had to hear last few days. 🙂

          Thanks for your interest, Richard 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  13. Like a couple of the others above, I never really got involved in the forum because I found that I had very little time recently. That means that this is all news to me. I shall continue to follow your own blog, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I was shocked when I read the news yesterday!!
    You know I have been a member since the early days (after we finished blogging 101) though I’m not active there but I know you sacrificed a lot of time and energy to create this forum and to keep it alive with your supportive comments, creative suggestions, your posts, feedback,etc.
    You were the positive light to that forum.
    Please don’t feel bad about it, I do have (as the majority of bloggers who know you here) an immense respect for you. You are one of the kindest, supportive, unselfish person that I have ever met. ❤
    It’s their loss, not yours. They have lost a lot of credibility.
    P.S. Please don’t stop “stalking me” or correcting my typos, her highness need you.
    Hugs ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those words of yours really mean a lot to me Nadine. It’s disappointing that these things happen but they are the part of life and we have to accept them and move on no matter how bitter the taste is. I am glad your health is better and I wish you all the very best for the journey ahead 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  15. We are cool right Anand? I didn’t know about the stalking thing. I read that some bloke found you to be intimidating. I assumed that you left in order to avoid confrontation and unnecessary quarrels. I even wrote a post about it. But I see now that the matter is far more complicated. What happened was absolutely shameful. We always support you. You can count on us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Rugwed,

      I did read your post. I thank you for the kind words and your support but matter is certainly more complicated. I stopped visiting the forum because they were moderating my comments. They locked the post I created for the discussion while I had never locked any post since I was an admin or ever restricted anyone from saying anything. The jealousy and greed seems to have taken over some people when they saw that forum was well-setup and in place. The features and things you mentioned: I tried to initiate almost everything and looked through collaboration. Now it all seems like begging for credit which is not a good thing to do but in order to put my side of story I needed to tell you. Had you been there along my side you would know that I did more than anyone will do just to make it helpful for all people. And more ideas (including the forum) were put forward than catch the eyes of people. If I didn’t do many things: that was to let others take an active part and not that I couldn’t do. In some cases I did not do some technical things just to involve other admins in the process. Despite all this I am accused and forced out because of the jealousy and greed. Reading your post I realized that you didn’t have a clear idea. It’s alright.

      I wish you all the best for the journey ahead.

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Indeed I didn’t. The way I read it, it was overposting on your end and misunderstanding on theirs. I see now that things are more sinister. Sorry if I accidentally made you look like a confused bumbling person.

        Liked by 1 person

  16. Anand, I have always found you to be extremely supportive and kind. Like EricMWalk, I have not been actively involved in Bloggers World forum, and this kind of dissension makes me inclined to be even less so. I will continue to read your posts on the Word Press Reader and hope that you continue to make the blogosphere a better place.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Brenda,

      Thank you so much for your kind support. I hope we will keep interacting. It is my pleasure to interact with friends like you. What I had to do was because of the compulsion. Happy new year to you, Buddy and whole family 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Sorry to hear about this. I know I have not really been involved much in the Bloggers World forum as I have found it easier with my schedule to just follow the people I have been following through the WordPress Reader. However, I hope that this doesn’t stop you from following people as you always have great comments and insights for people. Look forward to you writing more and hope all is well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I hate we have to interact with this as excuse. I have liked interacting with you even in normal circumstances. I understand what you are meaning to say. WordPress on the whole is a community full of great bloggers and even the forum has been source of happiness to many. I hope I will stay in touch with many bloggers even without the forum. Thank you so much for your visit and kind words Eric 🙂 Happy New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Ranie 🙂

      I can’t thank you enough for the support. I am distressed and truly sorry for what happened as we all started as one big family in August. 🙂 We are friends and shall remain so.

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. beingmepresently

        It’s completely my decision. I have not asked others to do the same. People now have the chance to make up their own minds without the threat of their comments being disabled! X

        Liked by 2 people

  18. I for one am deeply saddened by what has happened. You were always supportive of my work, and it’s a shame to see you go. I am even more disappointed that attempts have been made to discourage discussion about your forced withdrawal. Are we supposed to ignore the fact that the most active and helpful admin has suddenly left? If any offensive comments are made, can’t the remaining admins just block or delete them? I’m not going to make any accusations, but I wonder about some of the decisions that have been made.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Josh,

      It is overwhelming that you could understand all this even when you were here just for a few weeks. Had you been here since the forum idea was discussed and forum was created you would have clearly understood that I never even intended those things which have accused me of. It certainly looks like that when a certain strength has been reached some people who had agendas started acting on them. It saddens me and many members 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. True. I never had to suppress any discussion since August 18 on this forum and I always favored open spirit and expansion over contraction which is the spirit of freedom and friendliness and now I am being accused of being intimidating 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Well after a few of us spoke up the admins have created a new post where we can talk about their decision. For my part I never found you to be intimidating, and enjoyed reading the banter between you and some of the other members 😀

            But I wanted to let you know that even though I don’t agree with the decision to ask you to step down, I’m going to continue to use the forum…at least for now. It’s not that I don’t support you, but it’s proven to be a good way to find new blogs. But it will be much less fun without you 😦

            Liked by 2 people

  19. Anand, I’m sorry to hear this. It is their loss. It’s also very sad that some people have their own agenda and when it doesn’t go their way they strike back in adverse ways. I appreciate your honesty, your willingness to always help others and the fact you are standing up for what is true. Many blessings to you.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Linda,

      I had a difficult time sleeping yesterday: not because I had to step down but because lame and false accusations which were used by some people who were being opportune. I have abhorred power struggles all my life. Now the problem is that unless you stand up for certain things you can’t even help some people who matter to you. That is why I needed to write this post and I do feel better after writing it.

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

Would love to hear from you!

