Story Behind Your WordPress Username?

Dear friends,

 Usernames have interesting stories behind them. Well, not always-sometimes they are real random, or names or nicknames–but then those names also have stories behind them too. As much as I am fascinated by etymologies of English, Hindi and Sanskrit words, I am also fascinated by etymologies of names of people. I have asked hundreds of people about etymologies/stories of their names. My experience has not been too good. Sometimes I have felt people giving me strange looks, laughing behind my back and so on but I have always enjoyed it as it adds a profundity into my feeling about people.HNCK9592

For example: when I first interacted with Rashmi(Mind and Life Matters) in Blogging University–I asked her name. She was a bit hesitant at first but then she told me that I can call her by her first name, which was, Rashmi, obviously and Rashmi means a ray of Sun’s light. 

Many of us want to keep our identities anonymous and that is reasonable. I again wanted to ask Rashmi where she got her WordPress username Sashay909  from. Was Shashi her nickname? ( Shashi means Moon in Hindi and Rashmi comes from an Indian family) I could not muster courage to ask her again because it was already too often by then! I had asked her son’s name too. So I kept mum on her username.

{ By now many of you are already thinking ‘what a useless post.’}

Now: this post is about the stories behind your usernames. If you share your story, I will keep editing this post with your name/tagname and link to your blog and this will serve as a good post to know each other better. If your tag name is your real name: please tell the story about your real name and its meaning, if any. Why did your parents choose this name over others?

Condition: your story must not exceed 50 words. 

Let me begin the ritual.

Anand: (Sanskrit/Hindi): Means bliss. I didn’t cry when I was born. Family  felt blissful. Maternal grandmother suggested. 

thinkerv0: taken from gmail registration. Teen wanted to become a thinker, was listening to vibrant word of God.  

[ 36 words] 

Now it’s your turn to tell a story. If you feel 50 words are not enough, you can go into details and then I will edit to make it 50 and include here. Come on, you can do this! Just 50 words and a story which will be so personal and help others know you better!  

       

125 thoughts on “Story Behind Your WordPress Username?

  1. Seagull is similar to my birth name , sigal, which is modern Hebrew for spiritual healing, segula,
    I live in a town where the greatest joy i feel is when i watch the seagulls fly, i also love “Jonathan Livingstone seagull” about the nonconformist seagull .
    Sea is where i love to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Obviously a popular post! .. I might crib the idea?

    Hirundinae is the latin name for Swallow family. Hirundine is a word for “Like a swallow”. In Chinese, it might translate to Fei Yan? The dictionary says, quick and to the point. It’s something alluded to. Not necessarily my personality. The 608? Well, I had already used up that name here and could not use it again … sigh! So, hirundine608 it is then … Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing the story behind your name Jamie. It’s indeed interesting and I feel I have not heard the word before so it is a welcome addition to my vocabulary. Thanks so much for your visit. Happy New Year 🙂

      Like

  3. mysticalwriter12

    I have always loved anything spiritual.It speaks of mystery, awe & vastness of the open universe. When I decided to start writing I wanted a name that described how I felt about my spirituality. Mystical meaning: Inspiring a sense of spiritual mystery & fascination.
    Mysticalwriter was born!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very interesting and interactive post, Anand.

    My real name is Kakolee, which means ‘chirping of the birds at dawn’.

    Misti is my monicker at home, meaning ‘sweet’. It should be accurately spelt Mishti but I have always spelt it Misti. 🙂

    Like

  5. My cat was given to us by friends, when she was 7 years old. Her papers, from the breeder, show her name as Amanda Panda. So, that is where amanpan comes from. My lovely little feline is now 15 years old.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh what a cute story! I was always curious about your name, partially because it is so similar to ‘aman’ which is a Hindi/Urdu word which means ‘peace’ and pan obviously means something which is spread across or frying ‘pan.’ Thanks for sharing 🙂 I will include it in the post when I compile all comments again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. EVA Lambert; acronym of the 4 most influential women ever 😉 and my father’s name. My toddler niece couldn’t say my given name, so she called me Roo (an accidental blessing). It caught on. Later, Annie Roo became my clown name and a few years later I became grAnnie Roo.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. How profound a story your name has! I am really amazed by all these stories. May I know about those 4 influential women names? I will include this story in the post. Thank you 🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: Stories Behind Your WordPress Names! | blabberwockying!

  8. I used my first & middle name: Linda Elena. My parents chose Linda because it means beautiful. Elena is Italian for Helen which was my mother’s name. Anand, you always come up with the most fun creative ideas to engage everyone. Thanks for doing that!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for sharing your story. I am soon going to compile all of these in a separate post. I hope everyone will enjoy knowing each other better. Thanks for your kind words. Stay blessed. ❤

      Like

  9. My RL name is Cheryl, variation of the English name Beryl (a green stone, part of the emerald family, my birthstone). My username, Calensariel, means green (calen) stone (sar) maiden (iel), a combination of Quenya and Syndarin, two of Tolkien’s languages created for Lord of the Rings which I LOVE!

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Shambhavi. My maternal grandfather is a firm believer of Goddess Durga. It is one of her 108 names. It means Shiv’s beloved,counterpart. Shiv is also called Shambu. “Shambu priya” or Shiv ke jo Priy hai is Shambhavi.
    So I like to think myself as the loved one. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Jake – Apparently my parents didn’t even think about my name! I was going to be called Ben before I was born but when they saw my face the name Jake came to them! Must of been a sign from somewhere!
    The Peasant – This came originally from when I would play Warcraft 3 and Age of Empires computer games as a child, and always used to like the funny quotes the characters came out with so it ended up being my used name and has stuck with me since then!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh that is really interesting. The first impression I had when I saw you in the commons was “he might have something to do with farms.” Hahaha, this is how our impressions get formed.

      Thank you so much.

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  12. The Subtler you-Because we all have that unnoticed part of us which we are unaware and which comprises of all those qualities we would always want in us. Only requirement-Enlightenment and believing ourselves.
    That does not sound like a personal story 😛

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you Anand 🙂
        You are more kind by taking such an initiative as there will several out there who will be approaching and dropping out their comments and you are patiently reaching out to everyone. That’s great 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Interesting blog with content from many. My contribution here is short because the only thing I know is that my mother told me her daddy (Clyde) chose my name – Oneta. That’s less than 50 words; however, I have used the idea to write a post called “A Might Have Happened…” story. I’ll post tomorrow. Stay tuned for more about me and how it might have happened!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your kind words and sharing your story dear. It’s beautiful as every story is. I will read story on your blog as well and add this one in the anthology 🙂

      LOve and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

          1. Isn’t it like the 100th time someone has asked me that :D. LOL

            In college everybody used to say, “So HR round must be easy for you ”
            May be the reason I was rejected from HR Rounds :D.

            Jokes apart, Hongalli is my village and Revanna is my father. So the naming convention in southern parts of karnataka is like that. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  14. My user name is my three initials with my fiance’s last name. My name is Lynette Jo-Letta Logan. My mother gave me my father’s initials. Lynette means little beauty. When I met my best friend 20yrs ago she called me Missy and it stuck.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. My real name is on my blog: Teresa Smeigh. I use Tessa as a nickname on here and Terri at home with family and offline friends. I like Tessa and would change my name if I could. Teresa is my paternal grandmother’s name. I named my blog Tessa Can Do It because I am trying to convince myself that I can do it. This is actually the second blog. Finallyawriter.com came first.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. What a fun comment exercise…I was never fond of my given name…there wasn’t ever a nickname that someone called me…with that said somehow I knew I was a special spirit and I loved, loved dancing and I am unable to dance conventionally…however…my spirit can…hence Spiritdancing…I had polio and my left leg was most affected…so a nickname reflecting dancing…fun, fun

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s a lovely story. Thanks for sharing. I feel our spirits not only ‘can’ dance, theys hould ‘dance’ as life should be a big celebration. I will add your entry into the post soon. Thank you 🙂

      Like

  17. Chrysalis is a caterpillar on its way to becoming a butterfly. I added the Ms. when I found a website where chrysalis was already being used.
    I never intended to blog anonymously; but I do feel more of a connection to my chosen name than to my given name, Patrice Guillaume. My last name is French for William and I was 28 years old before it was pointed out to me that Patrice is also male and French.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Dr. Meg Sorick, sort of obvious! Meg is short for Margaret which means “pearl , precious and rare” and I was named for my mother, who was in turn named for Princess Margaret of England, Queen Elizabeth’s sister! My last name: Sorick is my married name and is Lithuanian in origin. The meaning of the name has been lost in time but is similar to the Russian word for the number 40.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I expected your story to be interesting and it’s very very interesting. I had already gleaned parts of it from our discussion. The only problem is: you have crossed 50 words and yet not told about “Dr” Chiropractor Madam 🙂 I would try to truncate by doing away with conjunctions and subjects like ‘and’ and ‘my’. Thank you so much Meg 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Username Nissetje. “Nisse” is the nickname my Danish grandparents gave me (it means gnome, those cute little ones with the red hats). And then when I lived in Holland and learned to speak Dutch, I got into the habit of adding “tje” to pretty much every name and noun. Thus: Nissetje.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hehe, we have a friend on forum by name Lula. Lulu is easier to call and write 🙂 That’s beautiful story. You have both of your parents’ name in yours as we all have characteristics of our parents 🙂

      Usually patriarchal societies here in the east tend to give surname/name of men to children. I guess it is so more or less everywhere: Robert Downey Jr. and so on.

      Some girls have started keeping names of their father’s family along with their husbands in their surname even after their marriage but it is not an old trend 🙂

      Thanks for the discussion 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Rati means art of making love. Rati is also the name of wife of Kamadeva(Indian version of cupid!) : is that what Ratinder is about? Please leave it if you don’t know more. Thank you so much for sharing it. I will add it in the post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. That might have some origin in Punjabi dialect which I can’t fathom. From Sanskrit origins however: Rajendra(Rajinder) Veerendra(Veerinder) Dharmendra(Dharminder)
          Narendra(Narinder)

          etc: all come by using suffix ‘inder’ indra which is name of mightiest demigod Indra. So one who is like Indra in ruling is Rajinder, one who follows Dharma like Indra is Dharmendra/Dharminder and so on. 🙂

          I will be sure to add your words/story and not my interpretation into the post. Thank you so much for the discussion, Ritu 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

                    1. Oh no not at all. I talk more than you do and please never hesitate to talk to me. You can talk here and also join Blogger’s World–there also we talk a lot or join me on FB or write a mail–whichever is good for you 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Believe me Anand, I could give you a good run for your money! I only don’t get to write as much as I would like because of time constraints, otherwise, I’d be blabbering on too!! 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

