Does Weather Affect Our Moods!

Climate Control

The idea that the weather and people’s moods are connected is quite old. Do you agree? If yes, how does the weather affect your mood?

 

Yes, it does affect my mood. And I know it for sure that it affects yours too. Weather not only affects our moods but it sets temperament of people living in different climates. I don’t have any research to substantiate, just first-hand experience. I feel people living in hot climates have intense natures. They are not moderate. They are too loud and too tense. I love winters but have hard time coping up with the weather for the rest of the year. I have lived in many cities in India and observed how different were temperaments of people and how much they changed with weather situations. Here, I feel weather remains hot till November; it maybe because mystic fire makes me hotter than normal. I feel very good weather throughout December, January and February. March is preparation for April and May. By June you are crying out loud to almighty for your emancipation and have accepted your fate. July and August bring no rains here no more. September and October are spent with the anticipation of heaven which November brings. When some things are called good, some others become bad. 

allgau-63427_640

People living in lukewarm climates seem to have even temperaments. It’s also true that places with good climates become industrial hubs very soon, inviting people who are well-off, so there might not be a great temperament but certainly some mannerism which lacks in places disposed otherwise. It is also true that most of the people living in a certain climate have same karma, so even if their individual karma is good they have to cope with collective karma of the place and that is related to weather, in turn affecting their temperaments towards their karmic dispositions. The place where I was born and lived most of my life has extremely hot weather year around, so people here are loud, intense and show affection or hatred boldly. I have lived in other places where people behave much more politely and are reserved in their expressions. I have also lived in the places where people behave like people at my native places do as climates are similar.

I feel harsh weathers do add to human suffering. Humans are fighting a zillion wars at once and weather when it is harsh doesn’t offer any solace either. When you are sweating enormously because of intense humidity and your shirt becomes wet every two minutes you are bound to feel agitated. I read that accidents are more in summers. It’s obvious that heat alters the chemistry of blood and changes hormones too. There is a reason why sages used to live in hilly terrains, woods and himalayan regions in ancient times. It’s necessary to have healthy body and mind which are at peace to advance in meditation and yogic practices. You can’t fight a thousand wars at once.

12065522_1141544672540102_4800710098015991323_n

 

If climate is not harsh it facilitates meditation, study and research. Hot climate takes most of the energy to cope with sweat, heat, itching and irritation, thereby making it difficult to focus on more important things. Russian mystic George Gurdjieff used to recommend people to not complain about weathers. We start chatting about weather when we are most bored. In this part of the world weather has changed drastically over last ten years. Earlier it used to rain a lot in rainy season because there were so many trees around. We had so many options and playgrounds to play cricket matches. Now there is barely enough space and kids play on roads all the time. It barely rains in the rainy season. It rained only four times this season. It rains in winter a few times too, which is an added feature because it was not there before! It all will seem like a complaint but it isn’t. I am the most content man around as I have accepted life along with weather. The content man can’t compose a piece of a prose which highlights nuances of weather affecting people around him without dissolving boundaries by being neptunian. So borrowing from people around me and my past selves I wear a mask of a reporter and do the job. On second thoughts this last line was not necessary because you understand that anyway!

 

24 thoughts on “Does Weather Affect Our Moods!

  1. beingmepresently

    I’m in the South of the UK. We are currently having a very mild Winter at the moment. It seems to get warmer every year. We have not had snow down here in about 2 years now. I enjoy all weathers and don’t find it effects my temperament too much. I love being in Nature and respect the cycle of what needs to happen. It’s very clear in the UK as the seasons are very clear and different. I may well struggle if I were in a country which was hot or cold all the time. I tend to adapt to my surroundings. X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree totally Vibrant..I wait for the stretch of November to March…they are my happy months of the year.. summer too is good..the greys of the monsoon skies make me broody and sad.

    Like Deanne even I am sensitive to people and their moods. I tend to pick up moods of people around me like a sponge. Gets very difficult to ignore negativity if there is some around you. I am not versed in astro influences. Maybe that also affects my nature.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such an awesome post and beautiful pictures to accompany it!
    Winter makes me stressed with time. It gets dark around 5 pm, so I feel like the days are so short. Plus, it’s always so dark!
    Maybe it’s just me… I do love Spring and Fall though. BEAUTIFUL seasons!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The mood, the moods, the moodies. | The Hempstead Man

  5. When I was in college we had a string of 7 weeks of cloudy dreary and rainy days. Everyone became gloomy and short tempered but that first day of sunshine turned everyone around so dramatically classes had to be cancled for the day.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely post! Weather truly affects my mood too! Earlier as a kid I always associated the rainy season in India with schools re-opening (which used to make me sad lol ) Even today as much as I love the smell of the first rains, it still somehow makes me gloomy. The cold winter here in the east coast makes me more sleepy lol 😂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahaha, thanks for sharing about your experiences. I used to bathe in rains in childhood but still wet was not good. Now it doesn’t rain anymore–and the rainy season is only for name. 🙂

      Thanks for your feedback 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Good Day to You Vibrant,

    Here in the northeast corner of the U.S. we have four (4) distinct seasons.

    I prefer Spring and Fall, because of their unique beauty.

    Spring is my favorite, even though I tend to suffer from respiratory illness then, because the sun is worming the world, the birds are returning, and the snow is melting.

    Once the snow melts, spring flowers bloom, the trees also bloom with flowers and the buds of fresh leaves.

    Our hours of daylight also increase dramatically.

    How wonderful it is when the sun is till up after supper, and we no longer feel like it is the middle of the night.

    I wouldn’t want to live in Alaska in the winter, where it is nearly constant dark in the winter.

    Spring is a time of renewal, after our harsh winters, with constant snow shoveling, and fighting to drive safely to appointments.

    Some of us enjoy winter for the skying and other winter sports. My husky also loves it and she is fun to walk, even though I need to wear ice cleats to avoid falling on the ice.

    Others experience depression after the Christmas season.

    Spring is a great relief for them as well.

    In early spring, until we can fully appreciate the sun’s warmth, we seem to collectively suffer from what is called “Cabin Fever”.

    We become inpatient for the warmer weather to arrive.

    Spring signifies Freedom in many ways for us. We no longer have to put on the heavy coats, watch the weather forecast and sever weather warnings, and can start to enjoy outdoor activities with our friends and family.

    I do love Summer, even though, like you Vibrant, I don’t like to sweat, unless I’m doing something to “earn it”.

    Fall is my second favorite season. I’ve had enough of the hot weather, and appreciate being able to take the air conditioner out of the window. It feels so good to be “naturally” comfortable again.

    Fall is second to Spring for me, only because as late fall changes to colder, even snowy weather, we have to brace ourselves for the harder and colder Winter season.

    Thank God for the holidays!

    They help us renew our faith, enjoy our family and friends with quality time (more important to me than gifts), and helps us to adjust to the new year.

    Once again, you have taken me away from my sometimes tedious process of building my project, while growing myself and learning.

    I thank you for that, and thanks to everyone else for your wonderful comments!

    Best wishes to all of you, collectively, with respect for our diversity of faiths, this holiday season.

    My Best to You
    Arth

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have painted a beautiful picture of your spring and fall!

      I enjoyed reading it and I completely understand why they are so beautiful for you.

      I feel Christmas makes winters less gloomy for western hemisphere!

      Thanks for your lovely comment and kind words.

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  8. I go into hibernation mode in the cold weather, but I don’t mean that as a negative thing. I actually like to hunker down, drink tea in the afternoons, have a cozy fire going in the wood stove… You get the idea! Very informative post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good morning Meg 🙂

      Winter might be gloomy too. I feel most people here in India would like winter better. However, I find my parents, siblings and relatives complaining when it is too cold. I love it!

      Thanks for your feedback 🙂

      Have a great day!

      LOve and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Winter makes me energetic. I feel most energetic during winter. It depends on what is what. Our winters might be like your Autumns as temperature reaches lowest to 5 degree centigrades 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Deanne

    Awesome post! Very informative. I know weather affects my mood for sure… The environment as well. For I’m so in tune with my surroundings. To stray alittle my sun Conjunct my Neptune; does this makes me neptunian☺️?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that certainly makes you neptunian. Neptunian is used to suggest a dissolution of identities and taking on personalities of people around you. If you would like me to observe your horoscope, please send your details via mail. 🙂

      Thanks for your kind feedback. 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Deanne

        Im very sensitive to people around me… I do tend to take on their personality especially in relationships. I blend or become my partner so easily thus breakups are extremely painful because I tend to take on their identity. Even if it’s not an intimate relationship; it’s like a spiritual awakening or a rebirth. I’m continuously going through periods of rebirth so I see everything in a spiritual light. Sometimes I’ve a hard time seeing or understanding the reality of certain situation because the dream world is my reality. I’m going to do some research on this myself then share my findings. I normally look at the Synastry aspect because I tend to meet people who I Neptune or people who Neptune me (mainly conjunction) but I’ve never really look into me conjunction myself. By the way my Mercury Conjunct my Neptune as well.

        Really awesome post… I’ll definitely share my findings as it relates to me and my personal experience.

        Thanks Anand

        Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

