M For Mosquito!

Mosquito! What a lovely name! It has a certain music about it. Mosquitoes give you a great company. They sing in your ears, make you dance and play with them. I used to work in an IT firm, mosquitoes were my companions. I took renunciation and went for pilgrimage and they were there too. I came back to live with family and they are here too. Mosquitoes seem to be the only constant companions in my life. People come and go, mosquitoes don’t.

570038477-zanzara-ungheria-volare

In my early childhood when I used to read that France doesn’t have mosquitoes, I used to wonder why. Then, I got an idea that it’s because of cleanliness maybe. I used to think how nice it will be to have that in our country–no mosquitoes! I was wrong! I was only focusing on negatives. How lonely will life become if they don’t sing for you? Everyone goes to sleep in the dark dead of night but they don’t. 

I used to think that Mosquitoes are present day inventions. People talk how USA/NWO/Illuminati invented AIDS virus in their labs, so I thought maybe mosquitoes were also invented to carry malaria and dengue to control population in subtle ways. Again, I was wrong. As I was reading Bhagavata Purana, which was written thousands of years ago, I found the exalted presence of musical creatures there. Who knows they might have been there when Adam and Eve were eating the apple of knowledge in the garden of Eden!

ight45h

I don’t kill mosquitoes. I don’t hurt them. They’re sentient beings like everyone else, so I don’t. I don’t knowingly hurt any being. The other day, as I was reading Bhagwata Purana to my grandmother, she crushed a mosquito which bit her on elbow. I immediately asked her to not kill them any longer. I suggested her to scare them away. I also do the same. They’re persistent and come back again and again. But not that persistent. All you need is the rhythm divine-lost in the music their heart will be thine!

In deep winter of December-January they die. I used to think they die, but someone told me that they go hiding into some places. It’s beyond my understanding how they sustain for a month or two without food. Maybe they turn vegetarian for a while? Maybe they go into hibernation? Heather, if you’re reading this, please take it up in your Other Science Blog. Anyways, they do come back. So as the saying goes–a flame burns brightest just before going off altogether or something–these mosquitoes are most active before winter becomes deeper and darker. Not enough darker. If it were upto me I would live in Canada. I so love winters.

mosquito_1041975

So, these days they’re hyperactive. I am allergic to coils which create smokes and smokeless coils also don’t work well because I keep window and door open( subconsciously, it means I want to donate blood to them and don’t want to kill them!) Using fan is intermittent because it gets cold sometimes. I simply scare them off and then they come back and I scare them off again and then they don’t, for many hours. 

Only few mosquitoes are nuisance makers like few human beings who become terrorists. Rest of them are quite decent fellows. So when you are tensed or deprived of sleep or your wife has shut you out or kids are too demanding or boss is too mean or something, you feel that there are too many mosquitoes singing too loud and sucking blood too often. Believe me, it’s all in the psychology. Mosquitoes do bite tense people more and hypertension does make you feel more of their presence. When you’re cool, mosquitoes are few and a few hand gestures–off they go like cloud smokes which don’t return back. I have been in many trying circumstances but thankfully I have not caught malaria or dengue since 1889. I mean, since forever! 

image courtesy: here

 

 

 

 

35 thoughts on “M For Mosquito!

    1. Oh you read it and now you came back to tell me that you found it so beautiful that you remembered it. That’s very sweet of you really!

      Have a lovely weekend my friend 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

    1. Hahaha, they are already living as pets for so long. I didn’t invite them, they came on their own. I am sorry for you and wish you great health and happiness. Thanks for your feedback 🙂

      LOve and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wandering Soul

    I kill them, gleefully. Quite like a crazed person , looking upwards and sideways constantly and suddenly starts clapping in the air. The mosquito killer racket is pure fun. Bloody blood suckers! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very kind, Praveen. Thank you so much. Your every article is marvellous, especially in Hindi. I am so glad you liked this one. Thanks a ton!

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: M For Mosquitoes! | Blogging 101: Alumni

    1. Hahaha, no. That was mildly funny. I think having lived in UK you never had to face horrendous mosquito bites of Asia. So it’s not your fault. I am sorry for you. Thank you, Lou 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

