The Outsiders!

The Outsiders

Tell us about the experience of being outside, looking in — however you’d like to interpret that.

I once saw a dream. I saw my body and I was outside the body. I dragged my body and could feel that I was certainly not the body. What was I? Who was I? I didn’t know.

What I had was Drashta Effect getting fructified. Many people call it OBE (Out of Body Experience) and it usually happens while you are awake to meditators and non-meditators equally. Sometimes it happens when you are in a dream-like state. In those days I was in college and used to practice witness sense all the time. That coupled with an urge to see myself from outside might have induced that state during dream, but in any case it was one of the strangest dreams I ever had. 

tumblr_n26qz5TVtR1riibspo1_500

Drashta Bhava or Sakshi Bhava is one of the essential ingredients of Yoga. Patanjali has spoken about it in detail in his classical treatise Yoga Sutras. The easiest way to practice it is to start writing down your ideas without giving regard to quality. You can also describe your ideas out loud on a tape recorder and that will do it better or to a live listener whom you trust completely. It’s difficult to divulge everything to a live listener so a tape recorder or a notebook is recommended. When you keep practicing witness sense–it gets stronger and your attachment to body, feelings and ideas becomes weaker. The witness is thoughtless state so you find more gaps and less thoughts. Negativity drops and judgement drops.   

2 thoughts on “The Outsiders!

  1. I’ve had a few out of body experiences, but have never spoken about them. I’ve also experienced what they call back home “a wake dream.” Where you have dreams/visions while you’re awake. It’s strange and scary at times because I don’t know if I’m dreaming or if the events are really happening. :/

    Like

Would love to hear from you!

