Make Me Smile!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Make Me Smile.”

Make Me Smile

If you’re feeling blah, what is the one thing you do that you can count on to put a smile on your face?

In the last decade of my life fluctuations in my moods have become lesser and lesser. With acceptance and meditation I have found an even greater stability in the last three years. Since I am retired and without any goal or ambition, I find myself peaceful in most of the situations. Still, I get fluctuations in moods sometimes. What can I always count on to make me feel better?

trees-790220_640

Rhythmic breathing is one such thing. Since our feelings are so deeply associated with our breathing patterns(or put it other way around–doesn’t matter actually!) and by changing breathing patterns we can alter the way we feel–rhythmic breathing, done wholeheartedly, almost always makes me feel better. Apart from it, helping others wholeheartedly is bound to make me feel better. It need not be something big–just listening attentively is enough. Everyone has a story to tell. If you listen others attentively you improve quality of life and relations. You can also help someone who is not feeling well–by guiding them to happiness or someone who needs education or someone who doesn’t have as much skill. All of these are bound to make you feel better.

It is important to have faith in things which make you feel better. It’s not that without faith they don’t work–they do, but with faith they work quicker and better. When some of us try breathing or helping others or listening attentively, we give-up very soon if we don’t have strong faith and then we start cursing the whole world and consider it all hogwash and mumbo-jumbo thinking that none of these clichés actually work! If you persevere with faith only for a while, these time-tested methods heal you and everyone around you like magic!

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Make Me Smile!

  1. Joana Salazar

    Doing good deeds really does makes you feel good, it satisfies you as person 🙂
    I agree that you really need to have faith in everything you do in order to keep you going 🙂 . Nice post as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I started practicing many years ago–in my childhood. In 2003 I invented a technique which helped me cure anxiety and gastric ulcer. There are many rhythmic breathing techniques available. I can share the link to mine–which is in a post. You can also join an art of living course if it is available in your city and learn Sudarshan Kriya–an excellent rhythmic breathing technique 🙂

      Please let me know 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  2. Your point is well taken that if you don’t have faith in what you are doing, you can’t make it happen. I just smile. Even though it is perfectly about nothing just adjusting the muscles of my face affects the neurons in my brain.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is very true. Simply changing the facial expressions has the power to change emotions. I am smiling too as I write this comment. Have a great week ahead, my friend 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  3. What makes me smile/laugh is thymus thumping, which I do daily but if I need that extra “nudge” I do it more often…and then I say I love you’s from my heart and also thank you’s…this always elevates my being into joy…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I had never heard about thymus thumping before. I need to google it but maybe I will read about it in some blog so why google now? Thanks for sharing your beautiful experience with us. Have a lovely week ahead 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

Would love to hear from you!

