Flawed: What is your worst quality?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Flawed.”

Flawed

What is your worst quality?

My worst quality is lack of tact and diplomacy while giving my opinion. I have been blunt to the extent of hurting my friends in past. This was not meant to hurt others but rather to help them improve. I expected the same from them. But it’s not always helpful to know our weaknesses. Sometimes we just need a helping hand, a smile or a kind gesture while we ask for opinions or help. I used to take a great pride in being honest with my opinion. I used to think that being truthful is the best way to go about it, even if it hurts people a bit.

woodland-656969_640

Continuously speaking–and not being moderate with my opinion on others has caused me loss of many friends and well-wishers. It’s not that I regret that–because it was supposed to be so–it was my destiny–but the lesson I learnt is that I should have exercised caution.

Even here in the blogosphere, in the beginning, when I started giving feedback, sometimes I exercised no caution at all. It’s true that nobody really wants you to proof-read their posts in their comments section. Even if people ask you to correct their grammar they want you to do so via email. I used to put corrections directly in the comments section. When your comments are very big and look overweening, and contain corrections on thinking, grammar or style–they will not be liked. It’s a fact. Most budding bloggers and writers need encouragement and established ones really don’t care for your suggestions anyway. So even when someone asks you to give honest opinion, if you are too tempted, please use email and send then suggestions. You will know if they want you to continue giving those suggestions or not. Not everyone is blogging out there for the same reasons–so exercise tact and diplomacy. I feel most bloggers don’t need these suggestions–it’s just me. I have tried to exercise caution lately but maybe I can improve it a bit.

I have joined a course called Blogging 101: Commenting Bootcamp. It will be organized from December 14th to 18th by Blogging University. It will also help me and many others learn the art and technique of commenting more effectively. I am looking forward to it. I feel I needed to personalize the prompt for Blogging 101 course today and I am happy with what I have done. So far so good!

32 thoughts on “Flawed: What is your worst quality?

    1. Oh that will be nice. You can also join us in the Alumni forum and it will do nice for your blogging experience. This is a forum where many bloggers share their posts for feedback and also participate in fun activities:

      https://blogging101alumni.wordpress.com/

      If you visit and comment I will send you an invite πŸ™‚

      I have also enjoyed interacting with you. Thanks for being part of Blogging 101.

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Based on your comments in Blogging101, you’re the last person I’d’ve thought likely to be too blunt in criticism… πŸ™‚ This was a very interesting post to read!
    I’ve got the same problem, I’m quite straightforward whether face to face or over the internet, and tend to tell it as it is. Where I come from – Central Europe – this is not uncommon but where I live – in England – it’s the height of bad manners. It makes things difficult in everyday interactions: at the very best, the English find me abrupt, at the worst, they think me downright rude – I on the other hand find them insincere and find it difficult to tell whether they like me or whether they’re just being polite. Although after more than a decade here I’m getting a bit better at this! πŸ™‚
    On the internet I find it easier to be tactful because you don’t have to submit the comment straightaway – it’s in writing and you’ve time to consider what you’re saying and how best to say it. Face to face however is a real problem because even if I don’t blurt something out, my face tends to show what I think!

    Like

    1. I agree with you on the difficulty of offline communication. I heartily thank you for the kind words. I feel I am working everyday on being less blunt and more poilte. Kindness weighs more than Truth. Truth is what helps, heals and enlightens πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for your visit and kind words πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. justcallmeflem

    Loved the post! I am also very blunt and straightforward in my day to day discussions as well as in my blogs! With that being said, I do not handle criticism at all. I like to think that I am just a person who enjoys posting as opposed to “writing”. I do envy everyone whose posts I do follow because I know, I personally, will never be an eloquent writer, and I am totally okay with that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are a wonderful writer no matter whether you consider yourself or not and I am happy to hear from you. I feel we all should be considerate enough to not hurt others and I am working on that πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Yes that is true. Some of us have some shortcomings which are part of our nature. It takes a lot of effort to improve. Thank you so much, Rashmi πŸ™‚

      Have a great day ahead πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, what an honest post. Growth is never easy, and it’s even more challenging to do in a public forum. I can tell you have gained wisdom in this process and you have been thoughtful enough to share it with us. In fact, I thought you used great tact when you gave me feedback on this assignment by 1st complimenting my post then avoided saying straight out “hey, you forgot to add the pingback part of the assignment!” Instead you used much appreciated diplomacy which left me feeling encouraged Many thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your thoughtful comment Cathy. I am glad if my comment was decent. I want to help without hurting so I need to keep improving the commenting. I am learning something new everyday. Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. I respect when people give honest feedback and appreciate comments. It is true that not everyone does or is at a place where they can handle an honest response. But they need to know that it is just one opinion, and as they become more confident in their own writing and opinions they will simply take or discard other comments.
    With friends, it is a bit different. I find you have to listen mostly and just be there. But on line you are responding without the face to face feeling and intention so I find it best to mention the positives and then subtly add something constructive. If they respond wanting more, than you can expand your thoughts without hesitation.
    congrats for taking on such a personal blog entry. Woof!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for such a thorough response. I feel you cover all bases very nicely. Tact is about being constructive without being hurtful πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Thank you, Anand, for your candor and vulnerability. It’s so reassuring to read (and it can never be read too often) that we all share the same journey of self-discovery, -accptance, and -love. Your post reminds me of our friend Donna Cameron’s recent article on honesty and when to curb it: http://ayearoflivingkindly.com/2015/11/11/im-just-sayin-honesty-isnt-always-kind/
    Wishing you a joyful and connected week! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words Catherine. Yes I did read that lovely post and reblogged it here on my blog. This post also inspired me to write this one.

      Have a joyful and blissful week ahead yourself πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Your teenie-tiny flaw is over-shadowed by the great-goodness you have brought through the offering of a plethora of comments instilling constant encouragement to sooooo many others!!
    Our flaws can be blessings in disguise to improve our efforts & bring us closer to fullness!

    Liked by 4 people

  7. Pingback: Flawed: What is your worst quality! | Blogging 101: Alumni

Would love to hear from you!

