Fiction or Nonfiction? The Great Divide!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Great Divide.”

The Great Divide

When reading for fun, do you usually choose fiction or non-fiction? Do you have an idea why you prefer one over the other?

When I learned to read, I was a connoisseur of stories and very curious for world around me so I loved reading from encyclopedia too. When I reached middle school, I was reading only nonfiction. I had realized by that time that fiction was the waste of time. I wanted to become ‘great,’ and great people read nonfiction. Great people don’t waste their time. This continued till I reached college and realized my self. Then I didn’t want to become great either, so reading stopped altogether.

tree-824429_640

Now what do I read? I read fiction and nonfiction both but only small articles. Long stories put me to sleep. Bloggers usually share small stories which are fun enough to read and I don’t read for fun. I stopped it once and stopped it altogether and stopped it for better. Now I read to feel people.

I feel I know some bloggers better than their family members or friends do. It’s not an exaggeration. If you have been reading my posts for a while now–you know me better than my siblings or former colleagues do. It’s not necessary to live with a person to know about his interests, hobbies, likes and dislikes. I feel bloggers express themselves more in their posts than they do offline–well not a general rule and not everyone does that. I read to know about bloggers. I read to feel them. I read to learn about humanity. I feel books also tell only that. I mean the one not intended just for fun. Getting to know about people around me is getting to know life in its multifarious and multifaceted forms. Life beautiful, unfathomable, mysterious sweetheart!

25 thoughts on “Fiction or Nonfiction? The Great Divide!

  1. I brought a fiction book from the library. It is due back in two days, so I was considering reading it tonight. But then I would have to let a lot of blogging go unread. I decided it was more important. So the book will go back unread. Until I starting blogging, I read about two books (fiction) a week. I enjoyed it, but I guess I’m moving on. I am always amazed at how fast I forgot most fiction books. But as I said, I enjoyed it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Reading for Pleasure. Fiction Anyone? | The Romantic Pen

  3. beingmepresently

    I mostly read non fiction. Mostly to learn and improve myself. However you have to apply what you read or there is really no sense in reading it at all.

    I find it easier to learn and improve myself by reading as an introvert, but if I had more confidence I would prefer to learn those same things by connecting and talking with people. X

    Liked by 1 person

  4. EnkalyaLive

    I read nonfiction, fiction, poetry, research articles, magazines, blogs. I find I learn something from nearly everything I read. I gain an understanding of another human by the words they have chosen to share. I appreciate your post as it has led me to think more deeply about one of my hobbies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. Reading enables us to know our world as much as direct observation does and sometimes even more. Have a great day, Enkalya 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. To answer your question, I read fiction; specifically romance novels. Any type of romance. Historical, Contemporary, Paranormal, Romantic Suspense, or other subgenre. Reading romance for pleasure not only serves as an escape mechanism, but it helps relax me so that I can deal with the pressures of everyday life, among other reasons. Many people look down on reading romance, but scientists and other high level professionals read this genre; many even write romance. The above gives you some idea of what I prefer reading fiction over non-fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I get a good idea about your reading now. Your everyday life must be a lot of pressure and romance indeed helps you get out of that for a while and take flights into beautiful worlds 🙂

      Thank you so much for sharing your ideas 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  6. For me, I believe writing my thoughts, feelings and experiences seems so much easier than “telling” them to someone. I think I’m more passionate when I write. It helps me to be more expressive as well. I so enjoy your posts, Anand. As you say: “Love and Light”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh this is such a nice example of what I was talking about. I feel it is true for thousands of bloggers 🙂 Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Declan 🙂 Have a great week ahead!

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

