I’m just sayin’ … honesty isn’t always kind

This is such a beautiful post. Truth is which helps people heal, awaken and enlighten. It’s not straight-in-the-face facts always. My heartfelt thanks to Donna and Catherine for bringing this beautiful discussion into awareness because such values need to be reminded again and again. I have been guilty of being truthful and harsh in my life where I should have been more kind, so I share this post with a gentle reminder to all my friends out there who feel that being honest is always the best. Kindness is better policy; better than the best!

A Year of Living Kindly

“Today I bent the truth to be kind, and I have no regret, for I am far surer of what is kind than I am of what is true.” (Robert Brault)

Attribution: Donna Cameron“I’m just saying this for your own good.”

“Don’t be so thin-skinned. I’m just telling it like it is.”

“Hey, I call it like I see it.”

“Jeesh, you’re so touchy!”

These phrases are often used to justify saying hurtful things. Sometimes the speaker may really believe that the listener needs to hear his unvarnished opinion about the poor sap’s looks, abilities, opinions, or prospects.

Speaking on behalf of poor saps everywhere, we don’t. We don’t need someone to tell us all the things that are wrong with us or all the things we don’t do as well as we should. That’s what that persistent little voice in our own head does—and it doesn’t need any help.

There are…

View original post 917 more words

16 thoughts on “I’m just sayin’ … honesty isn’t always kind

        1. I wonder why that is so important to you 🙂

          I feel thoughtful means serious–now someone might be seriously contemplating his own welfare–being kind to himself or might be thinking about welfare of others–being kind to others–both of them qualify as ‘kind’ but the second one is the general definition.

          Moreover: Thoughtful might just mean thinking deeply–a scientist or philosopher might be very thoughtful but not kind 🙂

          This is what I feel–might not be correct one 🙂

          Love and light ❤

          Anand 🙂

          Like

          1. Hello Vibrant,
            Thank you for your explanation. Language is very subjective. English is not my mother tongue. I find it very important that a word explains as best as possible one’s feelings. I thought that being thoughtful was equivalent to kind and even more than kind. My mistake.

            Liked by 1 person

  1. This reminded me of that scene from munna bhai when he tells people ow he ‘lied’ to a child giving him a chamanni,saying it was his.
    A lie told to make someone happy isn’t really a lie.It’s called being considerate. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

