The Golden Hour!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Golden Hour.”

The Golden Hour

6:00AM: the best hour of the day, or too close to your 3:00AM bedtime?

Before college I hadn’t had the great taste of night outs. Night out doesn’t necessarily mean spending night outside-you got that? Ok. I am proud to have thoroughly tested every hour from multiple angles. I am not going to die with the regret of not having done most of the things at most of the hours of the day.

tree-213980_640

My schedule is no schedule at all. I feel my body clock adjusts to changing seasons. Today I might go to bed at about 4:00 AM or maybe later as I woke up at about 3:00 P.M. I woke up earlier but I was sleepy so I slept again! I am a night owl but not very consistent at that. When a cycle is complete I return to sleeping at 10:00 PM and waking at 5, 6 or 7 A.M. in morning for a while and then shift towards sleeping later starts happening. I don’t feel early to bed and early to rise saying has any ounce of truth to that because I see most early risers have no wisdom at all. They rise early to chase their ambitions–what kind of wisdom is that?

Since I am retired, I don’t follow strict schedules, though inΒ Vrindavan, since I needed to serve in temple, I had to wake-up around 3:00 AM every morning. After a few days that also became quite easy to do. So, I don’t feel there is a golden hour for me in particular. I like silence of night a lot. Chirping of crickets and cold breeze when everyone around has gone to sleep makes me feel great. I get to listen that chirping only when I am not listening to music. I feel nice at the time of twilight too. Sometimes I wonder if I am a Hippie. But then I don’t know what a Hippie is so I let it go and leave them be!

10 thoughts on “The Golden Hour!

      1. Well I’m a midnight guy πŸ™‚ Somehow, my mind is active only after everybody goes to sleep! Even in my school and college days, I used to study after 11 PM and until 4 AM or so. Ours was not really a quiet household you see πŸ˜› I find the night time more peaceful and productive.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m kinda that way too… I can go on without sleep & I will.. & it isn’t like that lack of sleep affects me.. I’m absolutely preppy, but then.. When I wanna sleep, I sleep.

    I kinda let my body decide.. Am I an insomniac?? I hope not!!

    Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

