Why Pleasure Is Pain?

thailand-191635_640

Pain is pain. Pleasure is also painful. It’s not about the experience but about the craving. Craving for happiness is our nature. Our true nature is bliss. Craving for happiness causes unhappiness. We all shun pain and run after pleasure but pleasure ever keeps running away from you if you keep chasing it!

When you are craving pleasure, its absence causes pain. When you are indulging in pleasure the fear that it might go away is always present and causes pain. When pleasure has gone away the memory of pleasure causes pain. So your life moves from pain to pain and in pain. Unhappiness has been termed pain in this discussion. Pain strictly is healing mechanism of body.

Peace is beyond unhappiness and happiness. Bliss is beyond pleasure and pain. Love is beyond pain and pleasure. Light is knowing this! Peace, bliss and love have no opposites. Light has no opposite. Darkness is the absence of light. Goodness has no opposite, evil is the absence!

When you stop craving for pleasure, pain stops. When you accept life, life accepts you!

51 thoughts on “Why Pleasure Is Pain?

  1. True, pleasure becomes pain because of its absence we crave. I guess since as humans we usually pursue pleasure. Tim Robbins as I remember said, people does things because of either pleasure or pain. We try to forego pain but it haunts us, however it also teaches us. Great post! Bless to you my friend. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Akhila

    Craving for happiness causes unhappiness…. yea.. true..
    But let me crave for challenges, so that it gives me troubles and make me engaged every now and then . πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, we all know wise things but we rarely practice what we know–that is the whole tragedy of life. We think that things are supposed to be ‘certain way’ and this is why we become unhappy. Accepting life as it comes and moving on makes it really peaceful πŸ™‚ Thanks for your visit and comment James.

      Can you please add your blog’s link to your Gravatar profile?
      I feel that might also increase traffic to your site πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  3. YES!!!! Instead of running from pain or running towards pleasure we can STOP, BE STILL, and find what both pleasure and pain arise in. The silent inner peace that is who we are- beyond our personality, our preferences, our roles, our history- we are that which appears as emptiness and despair, but what is in fact full of unending love.

    Thank you for this blog. It rings from my heart as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s beautiful Anand!
    It made me remember my classes of Yoga.
    When I used to tell fellow students to do the Yoga posture, I used to say; ‘more the Pain more the gain’.
    Of course in your context it is different but I did love to read it.
    You ave done justice.
    Let it spread like fire.
    Love to You!
    Shiva

    Liked by 2 people

      1. You have not read my About I suppose.
        Not the Post ‘About:’
        You may read that also.
        I have taught Yoga to thousands.
        May be a thousand women included.
        I have trained more than a hundred Yoga teachers Man!
        Much to share in the times to come.
        Love to You!
        Shiva

        Liked by 1 person

  5. There’s a saying that people tend to use ‘pleasure is the absence of pain’. Not true, they must go together, for it’s the contrast that makes up the experience. I have chronic pain, quite severely all over my body, and people say to me ‘how terrible, how can you live like that?’ Because it’s part of my journey in this life and I must accept it and move along to my own rythm. It doesn’t bother me too much anymore, as I find the most simple of pleasures is my focus nowawadays. I’m not saying this to sound like I have life down pat, of course I have my problems, but the point is acceptance of pain is essential to everyone, no matter what the problem is, because it’s part of life.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. True. Acceptance of pain is easier said than done, especially in extreme cases–but worth being done and it transforms us and makes us more profound human beings.

      I heartily thank you for your visit and profound discussion.

      Thank you so much Emily πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

          1. I’m trying to do 2-3 posts per week, more than that is too much for me. Unless maybe its a quick photo or something! Sunday, Wednesday and Friday are the days I usually post something! I am glad you noticed though! Love and light!

            Liked by 2 people

Would love to hear from you!

