What If Everybody Is A Genius?

What if I call you a wonderful writer, artist or a genius?

Either you would believe it or not believe it!

Human Nature One

As discussed in another blog post before, we are too quick to accept negativity. If I appreciate– you will doubt it. You need to hear those things from myriad other people before accepting them.

Wittgenstein

Human Nature Two

Our societies are ego based structures. Altruism is our nature but ego suppresses it. If I appreciate you as a genius–firstly you will not accept it-secondly if you do–you will keep observing me–and then–if I call another guy a genius and then another–you will label me as someone who exaggerates. Why?

Because by very definition of genius–someone who is exceptionally bright is called that. So I should not call everybody a genius. What if everybody is a genius?

You will say–yes, you might be talking about that quote of Einstein where he says that a fish can’t climb a tree and a monkey can’t swim as good! Yes, that is true different people are designed for different things–so I am a genius writer and he might be a genius painter and so on!

No, but if you are appreciating him as a genius for his writings and also appreciating me as a genius–what is there for me? My self-esteem was dependent on being “different from the rest.” That is what feeds my ego so nicely. If I am like everyone else–if all writers you meet everyday are geniuses then whole purpose of my exercise and striving after excellence is defeated isn’t it?

Yes and No.

Human Nature Three

First: Everyone is a potential genius( In the conventional sense of the word!) Second: It’s very much possible that everyone I meet is a genius for me because their creations delight me. Here I use genius in a different sense than the conventional meaning. In ancient Greece everyone was a genius I have heard. What will you do if everyone around you is a genius? Will you lose all drive and purpose for living?

I am all for healthy competition but taking excessive pride in perishable things is not more than neurosis. I utter 4 lines and immediately I want to make them copyright, why? Because we have together created a society where abundance is lacking. We don’t have abundant wealth, abundant resources and we are looking to stealΒ from others. There are many generous souls and many fearless souls who don’t care for copyright or being called a genius because they create out of love! If you create out of fear–as most artists do–your creativity will be limited–no matter how great a genius you have been called by the society. Maybe you are getting credit for some different merits which you earned before and not for creativity–in any case–creating out of love is living in bliss every moment and in extreme bliss all creativity stops as only harmony remains.

So if you call everyone a genius and encourage them and educate them–what will I do? I will create a separate guild of geniuses. Only snobbish people who are geeks and who look down upon your so-called geniuses will be permitted in our guild and then we will appreciate each other as geniuses–though we will always have doubt lurking in the back of our heads about Β our geniuses. What a cancerous game we play!

That is why true educators and liberators are persecuted, ostracized and hanged. Women should not be encouraged–they can’t be geniuses. Some classes of society don’t have it to make it big. Some races are inferior than others and let’s keep it that way and so on!

Why do we want separate existence? Why do we want to be exalted as geniuses? Because we need to be loved. But love doesn’t need to be for “achievements.” In fact the love which is for your extraordinary qualities is not love at all! “My momma will love me only when I am a God,” is a phrase I read in a book which discussed narcissists. The very people who we shun by calling them ‘ordinary’ are the one who exalt us. When they exalt you- you don’t stop to think how much their exaltation is really worth when you had labelled them as ‘ordinary and fools’ in the first place! This is such a grand delusion that almost all artists and geniuses have hard time going beyond it.

65 thoughts on “What If Everybody Is A Genius?

  1. Wow, what s great, thought provoking post. And the discussion by your followers was great! I agree with most all of them.
    My daughter bragged about my oldest grandson in a text message to me. I replied, “He’s so smart.” She replied, “He is a genius!” According to one commenter, that means he’ll “dip.” Oh my, he’s only 2! I hope he doesn’t dip for a few decades! Lol
    Great post….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahah LOL πŸ˜€ Yes, Praveen said so. I don’t wholeheartedly buy the idea of dip but yes fluctuations keep happening in our mental and physical performances and I feel finding peace is much more important than getting ‘achievements.’ Thanks Debbie πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Crazy how much pressure we actually inflict upon ourselves. Well kind of, as (as you have mentioned too) it’s often actually inflicted by the expectations of our parents, maybe even friends and partners. Rather than focusing on what we like to do and do best we try to make everyone else happy in trying to achieve something great. And I fall back one of Albert Einstein’s quotes, a quote that I love so much: “Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing its stupid.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. beingmepresently

    Thank you for your thoughtful post. I really enjoyed reading it. I believe everyone is a genius in some way. There are many types of intelligence these days. Plain old IQ is not as highly rated as it once was. X

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award | Life of an El Paso Woman

  5. Akhila

    Your post made me to think of my friends, even though it’s not at all connected to ‘genius matters’.
    When I was a kid, I had two kinds of friends-:
    one – natural friends with whom we fall into friendship naturally and
    the second – Friends whom I thought I need them as ‘my friends’ ( I was too kid to analyse the reason behind my thought).
    And wonderfully the friends in the second category are my best friends…( I still wonder how it happens )
    Thanks for your post. Enjoyed it..

    Liked by 2 people

  6. For most of my life I’ve been awed by the genius of ordinary people. I truly believe we are all born with some incredible talent. It may take time to discover what it is but I do believe it exists. But too often we want to compare ourselves and others to see where one or the other of us has failed to realize our potential. Then we will think egotistically that we are better than others, or we will think we are failures in our own life.

    I think we should rather try to see the uniqueness in all of us and appreciate we will not all be the same. And why should I be like others, or why should they be like me? I should instead focus on what is my strength and talent, and appreciate others for the same in them. Jealousy gets us nowhere.

    Nice post. Love how it makes you consider things on a deeper level.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Karen πŸ™‚ Nice to see you. I always enjoy our discussions. I completely agree. You are very wise. Hope you are enjoying the weekend πŸ™‚

      Have a lovely week ahead πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Good work. The gist (I suppose?) is that we are burdened, and it is those burdens (unhappy ones) which drive us. And so there is much dissatisfaction in life, due to our drive source being the millstone bout our neck which creates much unprofitable lives. Whereas (at the end of the post?) true happiness and freedom to create works of genius are had by freedom, deliverance from the weights and measures. You are somewhat enlightened, fellow, there is just one more thing (lol)……

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I appreciate how you’ve described the difference between loving an ordinary being and loving someone for an achievement!
    The people who make you feel exalted are more special in reality!
    Loved your post πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  9. The What of everybody and the Genius of everybody is what to be thought of, on this post.
    This is bit tricky and may be little confusing too.
    It does give food for thought.
    The outcome is individual.
    There lies the individual genius, I suppose.
    Love to you Anand!
    Shiva

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I, as a woman, had to take time to read your post. I was confused for awhile. Especially when you wrote, “Women should not be encouraged–they can’t be geniuses.” I’m not sure (because I can’t be a genius) how to take this all in. Perhaps you could clarify it for me?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Karen,

      That is supposed to be a sarcastic remarks on sexist individuals since ancient ages who kept women deprived from their rights of education πŸ™‚

      Happy Weekend πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Whether we are a genius or not depends or whether we believe in ourselves or not, whether we have confidence in ourselves or not. We can succeed at anything if we believe in ourselves, so if one is successful are they considered a genius? If my life is filled with inner peace, contentment and an unconditional love for all then that is genius…don’t you think? Great piece Anand, very thought provoking, in fact, genius!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I completely agree. That is why true educators and liberators of mankind always try to awaken us, bring light in our lives and guide us to have great faith in abilities we all have. Thanks for your wonderful feedback, Deb πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I gained so much by reading this look at human nature. People are interesting, aren’t they? Some reactions you can predict so easily how they will react if the status quo changes. But then they do surprise you. I like this line: ” It’s very much possible that everyone I meet is a genius for me because their creations delight me. “

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks for your wonderful feedback, reading and visit. I keep reading your poems and they do delight me though sometimes I don’t give feedback. I wish you a wonderful weekend and Halloween!

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. Recently in one of our alumni meets, we had a discussion. Its been some 20 yrs we met, and we noticed the duffers and genius of class of 1990 are almost on same socio-economic ladder almost, with some duffers excelling to heights and geniuses having a flattened curve. We concluded, everbody has a genius in them, and it all depends who uses it at right time. Our another conclusion was Law of conservation of genius, which meant a child prodigy who has put his all genius in childhood may have a dip later. Its the one who is uniform and peaking at the need of hour, would excel.

    As always your brainstorming social analysis. Great post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your wonderful remarks Praveen. You always bring perspective into discussions. Thanks πŸ™‚

      Have a lovely weekend πŸ™‚

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Like

Would love to hear from you!

