I Still Write Like Cory Doctorow!

For some background information behind this article, please visit previous articles I Write Like Lovecraft and I Write Like Arthur C. Clarke!. This is an experiment I carry out every month because it’s fun and it helps me see if there are any changes in my writing style. I have not read any of the authors which show up in my analysis so far. Maybe, just a bit, that too a very long ago. For example, I read P. G. Wodehouse when I was waiting for my job after passing out from college. But that was that, never before or after! Even this month Cory Doctorow got one result better than David Foster Wallace!

Here are results from the latest experiment:

beautiful_sunset-963426

Sample 1:   David Foster Wallace

Sample 2:   H. G. Wells

Sample 3:   Cory Doctorow

Sample 4:   Chuck Palahniuk

Sample 5:   Cory Doctorow

Sample 6:   David Foster Wallace

Sample 7:    Dan Brown

Sample 8:   H. P. Lovecraft

Sample 9:   Cory Doctorow

Sample 10: Cory Doctorow

Sample 11:   Leo Tolstoy

Sample 12:   Vladimir Nabokov

Sample 13:   David Foster Wallace

An analysis on analysis:

There are four samples resulting in Cory Doctorow, so I still write like him! The last time I checked his Wikipedia biography. An excerpt:

Cory Efram Doctorow ( born July 17, 1971) is a Canadian-British blogger, journalist, and science fiction author who serves as co-editor of the blog Boing Boing. He is an activist in favour of liberalising copyright laws and a proponent of the Creative Commons organization, using some of their licenses for his books. Some common themes of his work include digital rights management, file sharing, and post-scarcity economics.

Well, there might be a misunderstanding but I do observe something related to copyright-liberalization. I did publish an article saying that nothing on my blog, written by me, is copyright. You are free to use, reuse, distort, claim authorization and so on. Maybe I am imagining things but it’s a synchronicity, nonetheless. You still see spirit of Lovecraft and shades of Wodehouse, Poe and Clarke from previous months revisiting me. A dash of Dan Brown is always there somehow. Leo Tolstoy also paid a visit.  I plan on carrying out these experiments month after month. It’s fun. I recommend you to carry out this experiment too. Thanks for reading.

Image Courtesy: Cory Doctorow

12 thoughts on “I Still Write Like Cory Doctorow!

  1. Well I tried it 😀 and I got different result each time, I should note that all the samples were poems.
    Here are the results:
    Chuck Palahniuk
    David Foster Wallace
    Dan Brown
    James Joyce
    Leo Tolstoy
    Stephen King
    Isaac Asimov

    Leo Tolstoy and Stephen King? 😮 😮 😮 😮 NO WAY!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it does look like that!

      Thanks for your visit and feedback. You will enjoy doing it. I do it every month. The very first post has bits of information on “I Write like” website or you can google about it–that is not a very thorough model 🙂

      LOve and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

