Bajrangi Bhaijaan and Tanu Weds Manu Returns!

Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Bajrangi Bhaijaan is the most popular bollywood film of the year 2015. It is also the highest grossing bollywood film. This might be the best performance from Salman Khan, who is the most popular and successful commercial actor in India at present. Harshali Malhotra who played six year old Shahida in this film, along with Nawazuddin Siddique and Kareena Kapoor have done amazing performances. What makes this film tick? I should say almost everything. The story is fresh, performances are wonderful, especially from Nawazuddin Siddiqui who is an accomplished performer. The script, dialogues and cinematography is spectacular. The film gets doubly more interesting with his entry. Music is wonderful and comedy is top-notch.

More than all of the above, this film is about unconditional love. This film has a very strong message that unconditional love knows no boundaries. No boundaries of castes, creeds or nationalities can withhold the power of love. I was crying most of the times during this film because all of the main characters are so beautiful and compassionate. I really enjoyed watching this film and highly recommend it.

Tanu Weds Manu Returns

This film shouldn’t have been made. It’s a second in the series. The first film was tolerable but this one seems to be hackneyed with trite cliches and forced humor. I don’t know why Kangana Ranaut films are so highly rated on IMDb. This film has a whopping 7.9 rating on IMDB at the time this post is being created. I really don’t understand this. I watched Queen and it was also without any effect whatsoever and rated 8. I feel the ratings on IMDb can’t be trusted as far as Bollywood or Tollywood films are considered. They can’t be trusted for some Hollywood films either but on the whole they give me a good clue about the range of foreign films I should spend my time watching on.

This film started off as some light-hearted humor story, but since the very beginning I could feel some unease about the story. The characters aren’t believable. They are all too good to be true and at the right place at the right time–all of them. Moreover, the humor just doesn’t work. I was feeling that forced humor didn’t make me giggle. Couple of good songs and a Gangstersque end scene by Ranaut for which she has been known for so long is what makes this film bearable. I feel performances by Madhavan, Kangana and others are alright but story has no worth at all. The plot is almost unbearable. I don’t recommend this film.

Image Courtesy: 1 2

27 thoughts on “Bajrangi Bhaijaan and Tanu Weds Manu Returns!

  1. I watched both movies. While I agree the story is fresh for Bajrangi Bhaijaan, I thought it was too dramatic especially the climax scene was just too much!! The little girl acted really well, Salman was OK too. Kareena had absolutely nothing to do in this movie, that role was not even required in the movie! The same old (hero needs a heroine reason!)
    Tanu Weds Manu was baseless comedy for those interested in that genre of movies! Again the climax was overly dramatic and one that I did not agree with!! I mean, come on, does it only matter what the heroes think? Do heroines have no value?? Kangana Ranaut is an amazing actor and she performs her roles brilliantly!
    Queen was an absolutely brilliant movie which totally deserves its points on imdb, it gave a powerful message of how one can pick themselves up after what seems like a disaster of one’s life, but compared to someone else’s pain, is probably nothing! It is one of my favorite hindi movies!

    Like

      1. Too bad hulks don’t have a brain most of times
        brain> muscles πŸ˜€
        The other day we were talking about the avengers, I’m sure if i took quiz which marvel character you are I’m sure I will get Hulk πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Shashank Purohit

    I watched Bhaijaan recently (11-OCT-2015) and i agree that the message of the movie was incredible but i Salman as always let me down by poor performance even Shahida being dumb acted more and better. Nawazuddin Siddique actually made movie interesting else it could be disaster in Pakistan. Karina kapoor’s character was unnecessary and the movie was rather centered on salman khan but on a missing child and you could feel this by seeing that a child is missed and he/she is not crying at all (It actually made me laugh).

    As far as Tanu weds manu return is concern, the movie has no story at all, movie is exceptionally fictitious and i found that good actually and i forgot the negative points of the movie because i watched that long ago.

    final thing :))

    I liked Queen because of it’s ultimate message which is “To achieve something or to find yourself some times you have to come out of your comfort zone and dare”

    There are two movies which i want you to watch and tell me something about them.

    Mulholland Drive – I couldn’t understand the movie even after watching twice.

    Pulp Fiction – I don’t understand why this movie is highly appreciated.

    Thank in advance πŸ˜›

    Have a lovely day.

    Shashank.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I watched Bhaijaan recently (11-OCT-2015) and i agree that the message of the movie was incredible but i Salman as always let me down by poor performance even Shahida being dumb acted more and better. Nawazuddin Siddique actually made movie interesting else it could be disaster in Pakistan.

      Hello Shashank πŸ™‚

      Nice to see you here!

      Thanks for your valuable feedback. Yes I agree, but I guess you shouldn’t have high expectations from mainstream actors. Just enjoy dance and action sequences LOL πŸ˜€ Having low expectations is key to enjoy life and relations LOL πŸ˜€

      Karina kapoor’s character was unnecessary and the movie was rather centered on salman khan but on a missing child and you could feel this by seeing that a child is missed and he/she is not crying at all (It actually made me laugh).

      Hmmm you have a point there πŸ™‚ But I guess she cried enough. Then we also had our Bajrangi Bhaijaan who loved her as much, if not more, as her parents. So there was no reason to cry. Kareena Kapoor was sweet in her little role. It was a good start-off!

      As far as Tanu weds manu return is concern, the movie has no story at all, movie is exceptionally fictitious and i found that good actually and i forgot the negative points of the movie because i watched that long ago.

      LOL πŸ˜€ Alright!

      final thing :))

      I liked Queen because of it’s ultimate message which is β€œTo achieve something or to find yourself some times you have to come out of your comfort zone and dare”

      I get the message. I also liked the song. That is one of my favorite songs. But the movie is dull somehow. It didn’t impress me at all. I was expecting too much with an 8 point rating–again mistake of having high expectations. πŸ˜€

      There are two movies which i want you to watch and tell me something about them.

      Mulholland Drive – I couldn’t understand the movie even after watching twice.

      Pulp Fiction – I don’t understand why this movie is highly appreciated.

      Thank in advance πŸ˜›

      Do you remember you recommended me Memento back in college? One of your cousins or relatives who was in IIT had it in his hard drive and then you suggested me to watch it. Since then it has remained one of my most favorite films. I feel it is the best film Nolan has made πŸ™‚

      David Lynch is my favorite director. I found him after watching Memento. Though Mulholland Drive is not my favorite film–it is a great film. David Lynch had created a distinct cinema–it’s called “Lynchian Cinema.” Many auteurs get inspired by David Lynch. I highly recommend “The Lost Highway” and “Inland Empire.”

      The idea is to enjoy the film. Don’t try to get a meaning/message out of it because there isn’t one!

      Pulp Fiction is Quentin Tarantino masterpiece. It’s a film noir. You may say it’s “Bakar” aur “Bakwaas” in Hindi. But actually it is such a beautifully crafted bakwaas that it stands out as a distinct beautiful piece of art on its own. Pulp Fiction is also one of my favorites–there aren’t many movies like that. Also watch “True Romance” by Tony Scott which is based on Tarantino’s script–my favorite too. His latest Django Unchained is a complete entertainment package πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by.

      [ When I see you I still recall the day when we two were quarreling on field in Maria Mata High School and sister canned both of us up! LOL πŸ˜€ ]

      Love and light ❀

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Shashank Purohit

        Ha ha yes i remember that those were the days of school :).

        I like Tarantino a lot and when i say a lot i mean it (Though i am in love with nolan πŸ˜€ ). I found the movie (Pulp Fiction) a bit overrated and i am not able to understand what makes it special, it seems very simple movie and honestly i have stopped watching movies just for entertainment. Now. For entertainment i am reading now a days and i am trying to know what is my field of interest when it comes to reading. I am removing myself from computer slowly slowly. If you could suggest a good book which you have come across, please let me know.

        Blessings πŸ™‚

        AND i will stop each time when i would find something which i could call my cup of tea πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Maybe. I don’t find it overrated. Different people have different tastes.

          I also recommend Schizopolis of Steven Soderbergh!

          It is good you are reading. I stopped reading a long ago.

          I like spiritual books usually. I can recommend them if you like.

          But pretty much everyone knows them.

          Please keep coming I like discussions πŸ™‚

          you can also start a blog. I will help you as I have taken some courses. Also–Word Press has a wonderful community and they offer free courses on blogging almost every month.

          Maybe you don’t have enough free time–so whenever you feel like–I will be able to help you. Just let me know πŸ™‚

          Love and light ❀

          Anand πŸ™‚

          Like

          1. Shashank Purohit

            I am thinking towards blogging but as of now my main focus is on reading, i am improving my English because i am looking towards teaching English to poor kids for free and i am don’t know from where i should start. I love discussions and i will keep coming back. πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

              1. Shashank Purohit

                NO, because i am not sure how would i achieve this, should i go to any NGO or should i go thru my organization because they do these kinds if things and it’s not just English it could be anything. Because it’s not just about English it’s about awareness towards education. I could teach, i could help people write means anything which could help them to improve their life and not just kids i could teach older people too. I want to do something which could bring smile on someone’s face πŸ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Yes I understand πŸ™‚

                  I feel via your organization would be better and easier in the beginning. You can try and then see if it works out well and gives satisfaction and then you may continue or approach another NGO if dissatisfied. You should start and do what you could and then you will get direction πŸ™‚

                  Love and light ❀

                  Aannd πŸ™‚

                  Liked by 1 person

  3. While I thoroughly enjoyed Bajrangi Bhaijaan, I did not even attempt to watch Tanu weds Manu returns. I hadn’t liked the first part so thought I wouldn’t like this as well although many people seemed to enjoy it. Glad you did not like it as well πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

