A Natural High?

I am observing fasts and it has been the third day since I started. Hindus celebrate a festival called Navratri for nine days to worship the Creatrix or mother goddess. She is primarily known as Maya, Shakti and Shri.  In Yoga she is the inner energy known as Kundalini. Many hindus keep fasts for these nine days. I am not a follower of Hinduism or any other religion. I was born in a Hindu family but got over it very soon. Why am I observing fasts then? I do have a faith in mother nature. Also, fruit salads and other eatables which are helpful in the successful completion of fast and detoxification are easily available to me at this time. My (ex) family members empathize with my fast better if I do it on occasions like these.

france-980153_640

I feel a natural high during fasts. Is it obvious for you too? Please share your experiences in the comments. You need to know what a high is? You already know it. Some people feel ecstatic and blissful after running and some others after sex and some others after doing drugs. I feel drugs make you high and the term is mostly used for drugs like Marijuana. I took Marijuana as an experiment and it did make me feel high, so I know what high of Marijuana is! You know we have natural THC(Tetrahydrocannabinol–the psychoactive substance which gives you high present in Marijuana!) inside our brains too!

Deep meditation process creates a flow of secretions inside your body to give you a constant high without any outside drugs. Such a high is not a consumer of your bodily resources so you feel ever fresh!

I feel fasts also make you feel high. There is plenty of energy available which is not being spent on digesting heavy foods like grains and you mostly eat fruits which are easy on stomach and drink a lot of water. I feel I am easily able to figure things out. So if my IQ is 95 on a normal day, it seems like 120 today. I mean you need not take those figures literally, do you? I am easily able to read and write. But then this all might be illusory. When you take Marijuana and other drugs they do tend to make you feel smarter but some of them don’t really make you smarter at all. But they do give you elation, bliss and a greater attention span for a while. Am I killing my brain cells by doing these fasts? No. Researchers have found that our hunter-gatherer ancestors evolved great brains by working to hunt for food. Their brains worked better when they were hungry–pressure to find food or die, and the improved blood circulation when it was not being directed to the digestive tract!

flower-968306_640

So I am feeling a natural high. It’s not the first time I am feeling so with fasts. When I was in Vrindavana, a place of pilgrimage in northern India about 1.5 years ago, I used to keep fasts twice a month. It used to be the 11th lunar day(Ekadashi) every month. I was more strict on myself there. I did not take fruits in the first 8 months. I observed many highs in which time seemed to slow down. It used to seem that people in-front of me were doing things faster–like in the Charlie Chaplin films–you see they walk faster, talk faster and run faster–the film is moved faster–I don’t know why they do that. When I was young and used to watch a few films of Gandhi and Chaplin, I used to think–“Ah! So people like Gandhi walked so much faster than today’s men!” So, I used to observe that time slowed down for me.

flowers-982761_640

What it might mean? Even when you consume Marijuana, you know that there is a great surge of ideas and you feel that in a very short time you get a great chain of thoughts. Maybe it’s apparent with Cannabis Sativa and not with Cannabis Indica. I don’t know that for sure because I couldn’t do enough experiments. The Sativa in Cannabis Sativa comes from the Sattva–the highest mode of energy in Hindu philosophy. There are three–Tamas(Inertia), Rajas(Passion) and Sattva(Harmony.)

Demigods in Indian mythology live in a realm which is full of Sattva. They live for 10 thousand years. I don’t know if such realms exist but Sattva is dense form of existence or energy. Harmony allows you to solve your problems easily. You feel peaceful and you can reflect on problems easily. Fasts not only detoxify your system but also increase harmony of body and mind.

Almost all religions have fasts in one form or another. Sages or founding fathers knew about the importance of fasts and made them part of core teachings and practices. I feel most of the believers observe them to follow tenets but they also enjoy the benefits all the same.

Fasts also have healing qualities. Medical research has shown their importance time and again, though I have not pursued that much and I would not reproduce references for the same here. This natural high I am feeling is quite palpable and anyone can easily verify it by doing fasts on their own!

9 thoughts on “A Natural High?

  1. First of all Happy Navratri 🙂 I fast on first and 8th navratri 🙂 I liked the way you elaborated your concept of keeping them 🙂 And yes I do feel calm and peaceful inside 🙂 Though I won’t say what high you meant 😛 never tried anything that could give me a high 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for asking 🙂

      Sometimes, I go for prolonged fasts without any meals for as long as 36 hours 🙂

      Currently, I keep taking small quantities of fruits and dish made of water caltrop and some other things periodically but none of them contains salt as it’s difficult to give up salt for indians so it is a training for body and mind lol

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  2. ananya269

    I never fast. But I’ll try out one day. I’m a Bengali so we have durga puja. I can fast one of these days. It sounds great but fasting for continuous nine days sounds a little intimidating. I’m not much into these religious stuff but I’d like to try it out for a day.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your wonderful feedback Ananya 🙂 It’s indeed fun and exciting as an experiment–though I really don’t crave these altered states of consciousness.

      I hope you will try them one of these days!

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Would love to hear from you!

