Managing Comments On Your Blog Posts!

How do you manage comments on your blog posts?

Comments form the basis of discussion. This discussion, in many ways is essential for the creation of powerful feedback loop which results in learning. Feedback is the indispensable nutrition for your growth and sustenance as a writer, blogger and human being. The main difference between my Blogger blog and WordPress blog is the discussion which happens in the comments section. It gives me ideas for many posts and I feel encouraged to do better.

sunset-923581_640

One of the sure-shot ways of losing your blogger friends and readers is to not to interact with them in the comments section. If possible, you should visit all people who care to read and comment on your posts, even if it’s a simple ‘hello.’ If that is not possible, you should try your best to reply to their comments. They are your friends and most valuable partners in learning and sharing.

I am new to WordPress and still learning ways to become better with managing comments. Earlier, I used to think that the best way to manage comments was to reply as soon as you see a notification in the upper right hand corner. You can see many types of notifications over there and easily respond to most of the comments, though it’s a given that space looks a bit narrow. As time passed by I started learning that I miss many notifications this way. Sometimes they just slip out of attention and sometimes it’s a technical glitch. Then I started relying on Dashboard’s comment management. That is quite reliable as you get notifications for all comments. Still, it had a problem.

luner-lake-475819_640

Since I publish many posts everyday. When I select to go to manage comments after a long day of doing other things–there are many comments and I start forgetting if I have responded to some comments or I am seeing them for the first time. The problem it creates is–I end up giving double response to some comments and don’t respond to some of them altogether! I feel I have found a better way to deal with comments in last few days now.

Steps I Follow:

Responding to notifications when it’s manageable. It’s easiest to do and takes care of most of the comments unless you are ultra busy with something else and need grim concentration.

Managing comments via Dashboard. This is master of all procedures and must be done once in a while(ideally once every day!) But it doesn’t guarantee clarity–so sometimes you might miss many comments.

Go to individual posts. You know your latest posts or you can check them in the Dashboard. Sometimes visitors comment on old posts too. So if you have sticky posts which are old, keep checking them and also keep checking your latest posts time to time. You will find some unanswered comments. When you answer comments there you will feel very relieved and it will reinvigorate feedback-loop, discussions and interactions with a fresh zest!

Do you know any better ways of managing comments? Do you feel my suggestions are impractical for most bloggers? Please let me know via comments! Thanks for reading and have a wonderful Friday!

36 thoughts on “Managing Comments On Your Blog Posts!

  1. I couldnt agree more! Responding to comments is very important, not just because they are discussions which could inspire future posts, but also because of basic courtesy. If the reader has taken the time to read your comment and express their view on the comments section then its is only fair that the author take the time to respond, if nothing, at least to say thank you!
    If there are too many comments, then auto set the post to close comments after a certain number that becomes unmanageable!
    I usually respond to most comments from my phone, since I get a notification on it every time there is a comment!
    Great post, thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your beautiful and thoughtful comment, Rashmi. Yes, I completely agree. Though sometimes notifications are too many and we tend to miss and in that case it is fair to go to individual posts and respond to the comments 🙂

      Comments are life-line of blogging!

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well written. I have to say that my comments come in waves. Because I am a caregiver there are times I just do not have time to get on board in a timely fashion, but I still enjoy reading what I can and commenting when I can. Keep up the good work.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Karen. I really appreciate your visits and thoughtful discussions you bring in. I have also not been able to visit your blog in recent past but I would try to visit soon. Thanks and have a lovely day ahead. Love and light ❤ Anand 🙂

      Like

    1. Hello Friend 🙂

      I feel the easiest way of getting more comments on your site is to give more comments on the sites of others. For example–I feel indebted to you since you visited my site and I will be visiting your site after maybe a few hours or a day to read and comment. I feel not everyone thinks like this but most of the people do. If you stay positive and keep commenting more and more on other sites you will build a good rapport with fellow bloggers and then it will be much easier as you will feel encouraged and positive.

      I wish you very best,
      Have a lovely Sunday and a wonderful week ahead.

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

    2. I think one of the reasons is that your site is not linked to your profile. When I click to your name it takes me to your mail and not to your site. Please check it and let me know if you need help rectifying it. It will surely help you get a lot more comments as people go back to your blog after reading your comments using this 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. I should soon visit your letters. I feel you are very prompt to comments 🙂

      It’s a nice thing for blogging and life.

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  3. Sometimes when I go through my previous posts, I find that I haven’t replied to some of the comments by fellow bloggers. And obviously it embarrasses me!! Because they took out time to actually give their feedback and support me and I wasn’t even courteous enough to reply to them. Comments are the lifeline of a blog. A very good and helpful post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I try to respond right away, too. That way the comments don’t get overlooked! I also think the faster you respond, the better the chance for discussion. I agree about checking the spam folder, I’ve found comments there that never should have ended up there!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, I completely agree. There are myriads of things which come from the inexplicable womb of mystery which make a certain type of ideas possible at certain specific times( part of the reason why we observe such coherence in poetry corner despite so many participants from different time-zones and age-groups)–so immediacy of feedback is a must. Moreover the blogger/writer who created the art-piece also was in a certain frame of mind when it was created and comments on which discussion proceeds immediately become food for thought for new–more vital ideas.

      Thanks for this wonderful discussion, Meg. Always a pleasure!

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have the WP app on my tablet and every comment, like and link back shows up, no matter when something was posted and which post was commented upon.
    All I have to do is respond and it tells me immediately which comment has been replied to-so no duplication or leaving out, and which comment has merely been ‘liked’ by me.
    The only time my responses do get delayed is when I am busy with things other than WordPress 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Helpful post! Now I have to share a funny!!!
    Our most Vibrant friend does reply so fast and gets many discussions going! So recently, comments were flying everywhere. Other dear friends began to call him the energizer bunny (is that commercial played in India?). He popped in and said something (I won’t embarrass him) and I replied, “you said it.” Then he replied a while later, “what did I say?”
    Lol! I had to search for it because by now, I forgot! Lol
    Are we getting old or is the blogosphere going at warp speed? 😱
    So with all that said, how do we keep up when something goes viral? This may be a rhetorical question! 😀😃😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Debbie,

      You are just amazing and if you were not already committed to Bill, I would have proposed you for marriage today 😛

      You are so energetic and lovely and sweet that all your family members must be proud of you!

      If I could, I would have framed your sweet rhymes and pasted on a wall in the room but then rooms are so temporary so they stay in our hearts!

      Thank you so much for being so lovely and kind. I won’t answer the rhetoric question but you know you are enjoying this, so there!

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

  7. Not impractical at all! Some very good advice and I appreciate that. I would like to add – be sure to check your spam folder too. I have found comments lingering there even from some of my regular blog friends and felt embarassed about not replying to them. Have yourself a great weekend too Anand!

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Pingback: Managing Comments on Your Blog! | Blogging 101: Alumni

Would love to hear from you!

