Our House!

crocus-318291_640

Our House

What are the earliest memories of the place you lived in as a child? Describe your house. What did it look like? How did it smell? What did it sound like? Was it quiet like a library, or full of the noise of life? Tell us all about it, in as much detail as you can recall.

Since my parents were teachers in a government school which was located in a village, my earliest childhood memories are of the village apartment and also those of my grandparent’s house as we kept moving up-and-down from town to village. The apartment in the village looked so big at that time. When I visited it after 15 years, I couldn’t believe that it was actually so small. My imagination and memory had an entirely different version of that apartment. The floor on which my younger brother used to crawl and the blackboard on which my mother used to draw peacocks, birds, lotuses, apples and mangoes, looked so small. I also used to draw on that board and learnt writing alphabets and numbers.

birds-216827_640

There was a house adjacent to that apartment and the window had some loose iron rods so I used to sneak into their house to play with my young friend without anybody’s permission. There was a big banyan tree in-front of our house and a Shiva temple along with a well besides it. The banyan tree was such a huge tree that I have not seen many bigger than that. Maybe it was because for a four-five year old kid it was the biggest tree in the world! We used to make swings using the hanging branches of the tree and it was a lot of fun. I used to read books sitting on the boundary wall of the temple.

wren-965378_640

Smell was mostly that of chalk and books as it was actually a school. We had a lot of green fields in the vicinity. I used to bring some vegetables which used to grow randomly in those fields and my mom used to cook them. I used to see centipedes, snakes, squirrels, butterflies, dogs and cats with a great wonder. The scene with hundreds of cows, calves, bulls and goats marching together, plethora of dust and sound of bells and various shepherds talking to each other used to adorn our dawn and dusk. It was a very beautiful scene in the twilight. Some cows were very aggressive so I had to be very careful about them. Once I was with my younger brother at a neighbor’s house. He must have been about 3 years old and I was about 5. He left their house and started to walk towards ours. Their cow was infamous for hitting kids, so she started chasing him. As soon as I observed that I came running to protect my brother but it was already too late. She grabbed him using her horns and gave him a great jump up in the air! I used a stone to push that shrew as she was soon going to give him another blow. Then I consoled my brother who was crying and took him to mom.

Snakes and various lizards frequently used to cross our ways and they were creatures of wonder. I used to look at them with amazement and used to run after various colorful butterflies whole day. Once my father was taking a tuition class for some students in evening and a lizard fell on one of them. He was suggested to immediately take a bath and worship lord Shiva. I always wondered why it was so! Actually reptiles and such are conventionally considered inauspicious and when they fall on your body you are supposed to purify yourself soon!

travel-930360_640

There were many fields where we used to play and eat various fruits. Guava was one of my favorite fruits and in the field of one of the farmers there were plenty of guava trees. We kids used to make him mad with all our nuisance. We used to take bath near the well with the water which was filled in big tanks for cows and bulls.

It was a slightly different picture at my grandpa’s house. It was not a house of firm bricks but rather a mix of brick and clay like most old village houses were. Though it was located in a town it was like an old village house. Since it was a joint family I had a wonderful time in that house. Early morning I used to see my grandfather do Yoga postures with amazement and then I started imitating him. There was a smell of earth and raw food of animals as my grandparents used to tend cows and buffaloes. I used to watch television with my grandfather all the time. Since we were one of the very few families who had a TV in those days, a lot of kids from neighborhood used to come to watch various programs and films, especially on weekends when epics like Ramayana and Mahabharata were relayed by Delhi Doordarshan relay center.

70 thoughts on “Our House!

  1. Thank you for sharing your childhood memories with us =) You gave us a vivid description of the place, I really felt I was there, you are an excellent writer.
    By the way, I love the smell of books and chalk though I’m bit allergic to the latter.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, you are allergic to chalk! I had calcium deficiency so i used to eat chalk and stuff in my childhood…I have doubts that my mom used to eat too LOL 😀

      Thanks for your kindest words of encouragement and appreciation, Nadine 🙂

      Had it not been for beautiful souls like yourself I would never have found courage to write 🙂

      More love and more Light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

        1. I tasted white and more than chalk it was a white pen like something….made of clay..it was tasty in those days…definitely lol 😀

          Oh my my, I don’t know how to thank you anymore. My words fall short! I become speechless yet I fill the space with something or the other. You are way too sweet.

          Blogosphere and the world at large needs positive, encouraging and supportive friends like yourself 🙂

          LOve and light ❤

          Anand 🙂

          Like

  2. It was a treat reading about your childhood memories! You really grew up in sync with nature…something I could not experience living in Dubai…not so much nature as such other than the desert! It was always the city/modern life….which is why I love Virginia….so much nature and so much greenery! My maternal homeown in kerala is also beautiful,……truly green!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, so your dad was working in Dubai? I thought you moved there post marriage. Kerala is so beautiful I have heard, especially Wayanad. Thanks for your wonderful feedback, Rashmi 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yea…my dad was working there….my mom travelled to india to deliver me and then back with me to Dubai when I was 56 days old…hehe…so for me middle east has been home for the longest time, until I moved to US. My friends joke around with me saying that I am global citizen, originally Indian, grew up in Dubai, Graduated from UK and now living in US. 😛
        I love visiting kerala…when we were kids, my parents would take us to kerala for school vacations, we used to love it, coz of the rains monsoon season! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind words. I feel honored by them. I just wrote what came in my head after looking at the prompt. I am newbie writers so I can’t capture senses and images well in a few words but with practice and such wonderful support and encouragement I might be able to do that in a few years. Thank you so much.

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

    1. Oh thanks for your kind words. Finding pictures would be too difficult! Both of those houses we lived in some 24-25 years ago so very few pictures hidden in some old treasure boxes lol 😀

      Thanks a lot!

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Like

        1. Indeed. I often see a set of pictures I took first with my cell-phone. I took pictures of kids and family members and made an album. I also look through old photo-albums but that is kind of rare. 🙂

          You still look like a child lol 😛

          Like

                    1. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Oh, I forgot to tell you. That site didn’t send me the converted book, so it seems they are scammers who need books lol 😀 Please send me PDF if you have one and we may start reading together. Have you started reading already?

                      Like

  3. That was a great house and surroundings you grew up in, Anand! It feels so idyllic. And I can understand how everything seems smaller when you grow up. I recently saw the photos of our childhood home and I was like, “Wait, it’s like everything is compressed!” In my mind, everything was bigger. I guess the viewpoint does make a difference 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That small town became a larger city, though still manageable but not visiting villages often. I have lived mostly in many different cities for studies/job and only in last two-three years here back with my parents.

      Thanks for asking and wonderful comment. Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you took time to share that, thanks a lot Neeraja. I was trying to paint a picture from a child’s viewpoint and that is why I didn’t care to mention the scientific reasons as child also kept wondering about it at that time. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and kind words 🙂

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. And I thought I was the one with great childhood memories!! *SIGH* I’m so envious of you that you got live in a place where everything was so close to nature and simple. Childhood is what shapes our mind and makes the foundation of our personality. No doubt your humble persona has been because of the amazing childhood you had in the village with all those snakes, butterflies, banyan trees and that cow!!! You’re one lucky guy!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. My goodness! You are exalting me. It was wonderful though I have hardly painted a palest picture of what it was like. But yes I was nostalgic all my teenage life for the earliest phase because village life was very colorful and I had a mix of town and village life as we kept travelling back and forth so often. Later I accepted the life as it was and nostalgia disappeared.

      Though I don’t deserve all those kind words about “humble persona” and all, thank you so much, Hasmeet. You are very kind and thanks for reading!

      Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  5. Pingback: Our House! | Blogging 101: Alumni

Would love to hear from you!

