There Is No Death For Me!

This post is based on The Daily Post’s prompt:

Brainwave

What’s the best idea you’ve ever had? Regale us with every detail of the idea — the idea itself, where it came to you, and the problem it solved.

First off, I must say, it’s not the best idea or realization, because I have had many profound realizations which transformed my life dramatically and some of them might be difficult to express or have already been expressed in previous posts; therefore I choose this one, which is, without any doubt, one of the best and most profound realizations I have ever had.

It was a sunny morning in August 2008, in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, India, outside a small factory which manufactured electronics appliances. I had joined it as a part-time job, because it was a time of recession in the IT market and the company which had given me a job offer 1.5 years ago, was postponing on-boarding of select candidates on that account.

summer-368224_640

I was sitting outside the main gate under a tree. I was reading The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin, those days, which I had bought in a book fair and had been biting dust, decorating my book shelf in previous moths. I was contemplating about the evolution of life on Earth. I thought there have been many intelligent species like Dinosaurs who lived for millions of years and then vanished off the face of earth. Now humans are there and they might also have a limited existence. Then, as often used to happen to me, my attention suddenly switched to self and I became a witness of my thoughts and mind. What about me? Idea came as mind again started working after a small dip into the no-mind. This walking, talking, learning and earning will all be a thing of past, memories and then I will die. Where will I go? Will I see myself dying?

beautiful-world-nature-love-art-3

And Eureka! That was the moment when this epiphany hit me hard! There was no death for me! I can’t ever say that I will not be with me. The body and mind are always subject to change but the sense I Am, never changes. Suppose I am going to die after 1 minute. What will happen after 1 minute? Will I not be with myself? No. There can never be a moment when I will not be with myself. That which is can’t become isn’t. That which is not was never there. So, there might be a death of a body–tissues are dying everyday. There might be a death of mind–many memories are dying everyday. But I can’t really die, because I am. And there can never be a moment when I will never be with myself. There might be change in places around me, people around me, beings around me. But I am, I was and I will always be.

That was the moment when I lost fear of death altogether. I had felt this fear sometimes but on that day it disappeared. Later on, I discussed about this realization with my colleagues, friends and family members, also on the discussion forums. I could never really convey it fully in words. Some of them said I was rehashing what they had read in spiritual books and mythologies about eternal life and soul. Some others said I was spitting balderdash. The matter of fact was, I had read many similar things but such realization was unique and extremely profound and life altering. Later  on, in 2012, I had to undergo a near-death-experience which also eliminated physical fear. I was premature in declaring that I had lost all fear of death. In 2012 it stroked me hard at the physical level starting a transformation.

19 thoughts on “There Is No Death For Me!

  1. I agree completely. I always think that no matter what you believe in term of the soul or the afterlife, we do know that energy can neither be created nor destroyed. Our brains are giant conductors of both chemical and electric energy. So when we die, it is not destroyed. It is us, in some form.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “Behold, what I have seen to be good and to be fitting is to eat and drink and find enjoyment in all the toil with which one toils under the sun the few days of his life which God has given him, for this is his lot. For he will not much remember the days of his life because God keeps him occupied with joy in his heart.” Ecclesiastes 5: 18 & 20
    You my friend ARE Joy! You welcome joy! You spread joy! And thereby will never be separated from it…even in death. Hugs & Blessings!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, thank you so much for such thoughtful and uplifting comment dear Dawn. I hope you are back from your wonderful pilgrimage and relaxing in lovely Autumn Sunday. I wish you a lovely week ahead. Love and light ❤

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: There Is No Death For Me! | Blogging 101: Alumni

Would love to hear from you!

