I Write Like Cory Doctorow!

For some background information behind this article, please visit previous articles I Write Like Lovecraft and I Write Like Arthur C. Clarke!. This is an experiment I carry out every month because it’s fun and it helps me see if there are any changes in my writing style. I have not read any of the authors which show up in my analysis so far. Maybe, just a bit, that too a very long ago. For example, I read P. G. Wodehouse when I was waiting for my job after passing out from college. But that wast that, never before or after!

Here are results from the latest experiment:

sunset-100367_640

Sample 1:   Douglas Adams

Sample 2:   Chuck Palahniuk

Sample 3:   P. G. Wodehouse

Sample 4:   Edgar Allan Poe

Sample 5:   Dan Brown

Sample 6:   Arthur C. Clarke

Sample 7:    Cory Doctorow

Sample 8:   H. P. Lovecraft

Sample 9:   Cory Doctorow

Sample 10:  H. P. Lovecraft

Sample 11:   David Foster Wallace

Sample 12:   Cory Doctorow

Sample 13:   Cory Doctorow

An analysis on analysis:

There are four samples resulting in Cory Doctorow, so for the first time I checked his Wikipedia biography. An excerpt:

Cory Efram Doctorow ( born July 17, 1971) is a Canadian-British blogger, journalist, and science fiction author who serves as co-editor of the blog Boing Boing. He is an activist in favour of liberalising copyright laws and a proponent of the Creative Commons organization, using some of their licenses for his books. Some common themes of his work include digital rights management, file sharing, and post-scarcity economics.

Well, there might be a misunderstanding but I do observe something related to copyright-liberalization. I did publish an article saying that nothing on my blog, written by me, is copyright. You are free to use, reuse, distort, claim authorization and so on. Maybe I am imagining things but it’s a synchronicity, nonetheless. You still see spirit of Lovecraft and shades of Wodehouse, Poe and Clarke from previous months revisiting me. A dash of Dan Brown is always there somehow. I plan on carrying out these experiments month after month. It’s fun. I recommend you to carry out this experiment too. Thanks for reading.

Image Courtesy: Cory Doctorow

13 thoughts on “I Write Like Cory Doctorow!

  1. Hey Anand,
    This is such an interesting post! I was and in fact still am a great fan of P G Wodehouse. I devoured his books when I was in school and college. Maybe back then, I used to think, though not write, like him.
    Sona

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Sona,
      Glad you liked this post. Thanks for your kind words. I also liked reading Wodehouse. He is rightly called master of english prose.

      I hope you would try this experiment someday 🙂

      Have a lovely week ahead 🙂
      Love and light ❤
      Anand 🙂

      Like

Would love to hear from you!

