First Crush!

This post is based on The Daily Post’s prompt First Crush!

Who was your first childhood crush? What would you say to that person if you saw him/her again?

India-Village-Gorgeous-girl-man-birds-and-environment-poster-images

Human minds work in mysterious ways. Mysterious are the ways of life and love. I was very young, maybe 3 to 4 years old. I was there besides a handpump waiting for my turn to take bath. I recall there were many young girls taking bath. They were many years older to me. There was one girl named Bundi. She was my friend and we had played together.

I didn’t know I had feelings for her.

( Well, give a four year old some space and leeway please!)

As we were taking bath, I heard those girls talking about Bundi’s marriage. In Indian villages, girls used to get married at a very young age. As soon as I heard about her marriage, something hit me hard in my heart and stomach. I felt as if she was being taken away from me. I felt as if she was mine and being forcibly taken away. Well that was it. I neither said anything to her nor heard from her thereafter. I can’t even recall her face. I can’t even recall my own face.

indian-girls-water-pick-up-from-river-best-hd-painting-poster-wallpapers

If I see her again?

Well, she’s not she.

I am not me.

A lot has changed.

You can’t take bath in the same river twice.

So there!

65 thoughts on “First Crush!

  1. I fully understand about this First Crush.
    And Crushes go on happening in Life, which ultimately Crush You as you said I do not remember my own self.
    I for now, follow you.
    Welcome to my blog and receive the warm hospitality.
    Love to You.
    Shiva

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I was eleven years old the boy who lived up the street from me kissed me. About twenty of the street’s children were playing hide-and-seek on a sunny Saturday afternoon. I was hiding behind a boulder, my hands tightly gripping the huge ball of stone. Suddenly I felt a hand cover mine and then I heard a voice, Ben’s voice. He inched around the boulder until he was kneeling right next to me.
    Now, Ben, wore glasses and was what we then called a ‘Mamma’s boy. He had never before even spoken to me. Being one year younger than me we rode the school bus together with our siblings, but we had never sat together or acknowledged one another. That day changed everything and after he had bashfully kissed me on the cheek he ran off toward his home.
    The following Monday after school he followed me the half mile from the bus stop to my house and all the way he was whispering “I’m gonna kiss you, I’m gonna kiss you. I ran to my house, up the driveway, around the garage and up the side of the mountain behind our house. I ran fast, but he was right behind me and now that no one else was close enough to hear him he was yelling, “I’m gonna kiss you! Finally out of breath I collapsed into a pile of leaves and started screaming, “You try it and I’ll tell my father and he will kill you! Now everyone for miles around knew that my father was a mean alcoholic and the kids in the neighborhood were scared to death of him.
    Suddenly Ben stopped yelling and fell to his knees. I think he finally realized what a dangerous situation he was in. I looked at his face and saw that he was breathing hard and looked as white as a linen napkin. Suddenly he pulled something from his front pocket and dangled it in from of my face. When I saw what it was I relaxed a bit realizing I was in no danger. He said, “I just wanted to give you a candy kiss.” He carefully put the candy into my hand, saying, “See you tomorrow” and started back down the mountain.
    I never told anyone and neither did he, but we did become friends as every day when we got off the bus he would put a candy kiss into my hand and smile at me. They moved away the next year and I never heard from him again, But I will always remember him and his candy kisses.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow!! It’s such an engaging anecdote with a sweet climax. Thanks for sharing this with us. If you have not already published it on your blog, you might consider doing it, as many readers of your blog would love it, I am sure 🙂

      Have a wonderful week ahead.
      Anand 🙂

      Like

      1. You had a crush earlier than me lol :P, I had when I was 6 yrs old, I guess since Superman Christopher Reeve looks different so I had a crush on him lol 😛 I experienced taking a bath with kids using hand pump, very common here two. I guess until I was 12 lol 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I see my first love very differently now from the way i saw him then he broke my heart and i lost out on wonderful opportunitys for him and he let me down. What i would say now is “you were not who i thought you were, and i am glad we parted”.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yes it happens my friend. When we have a very sensitive heart and we are kind people might take advantage. But it’s life teaching us lessons so we must not lose faith in love and life. We should come out stronger by God’s grace. Love and light ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Oh…the first picture looks like it’s done in Prithvi Soni’s style (can’t be sure if it’s by him – his faces are painted with more confident strokes) – but I love the way he changes simple village belles into apsaras.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahahha LOL
      I don’t know my friend, a website offers free-wallpapers. I look for royalty free images as it would be too tedious a process to ask for permission of artists when I need them on a day to day basis. I love sites which shout out “NO ATTRIBUTION REQUIRED!!!”

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Of course, you do. Being an artist myself, I find it difficult to use art without attributing. One should be careful though. Even bloggers and tweeters have been pulled up by companies such as Pixar.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful imagery and the quote at the end is true 🙂
    I remember having a crush quite young as well…I didn’t realise it at the time of course but now I know it was definitely a crush. I was in primary school at the time lol. :p

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Pingback: My First Crush! | Blogging 101: Alumni

Would love to hear from you!

