Follow The Followers!

This is very simple to do. Whenever you get a notification that someone has started following you, you just click the plus sign below their name and start following them too. They deserve this. At least I feel so. I am not a celebrity, so, when someone starts following my blog it becomes my duty to follow theirs.

Now some of you might be thinking many things about the practicality of this. I understand. It’s not possible to go through all blogs. Despite having 15 hours free at my disposal I can read only 50-70 blog posts a day at best. Is then following so many people waste of my time?

14-11-14 - 1

Am I contributing into a virtual society where things are not quite what they seem?

No. It’s true that all of us have more followers than actual readers and engagers. Still it’s not a bad thing for community and blogging. What would I do if I have ten thousand followers? You may ask!

Keep following people. Without proper exposure you remain in a shell, in a cocoon. When you get exposed to many blogs, many people and many ideas, you expand as a blogger and as a person. Never ever hesitate to click that follow button just because you think you won’t be able to read through all the blogs you follow. No, it’s not a must that you do read all blogs you follow, you always have a choice.

beautiful_cats_wallpaper_d2914

When you reach a point where you have more followers than you can manage you always have choice of limiting interaction. We all know that in the long run we are very likely to interact with those who are most active and with those who have ideas most coherent to ours. But it doesn’t mean that you should not get exposure. When you keep getting exposed you find a great many people who have similar ideas and expanding is always good because you can manage it before crashing. But to choose to stay in your cocoon because of fear of not being able to follow through is not healthy in my humble opinion. Since blogging is socializing it’s only justified that you keep expanding and later you come to find your best balance. I hope it would help some of us!

40 thoughts on “Follow The Followers!

  1. Pingback: No More Cultural Elitism | La duchesse d'Erat

  2. Pingback: My Week Picks – Week 35! | BeingZingy!

    1. Indeed, we are all same. We want friendship, love and encouragement. ( No we ‘need’ them as social beings.) Our genes prohibit seclusion and isolation but various negative pressures force us to go in seclusion. I am glad you, like me, realize the importance of initiating friendship. 🙂

      Love and light ❤ ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for all the comments here. I will generally check out several posts on a followers blog, plus their ‘About’ page. I don’t follow any that contain a good deal of profanity, and negatively. But, yes, I think from now on I will follow my followers!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve pretty much done the same thing, follow my followers except in a few rare occasions where I was certain I wouldn’t be interested in the subject matter, (too much negativity, for instance) I even followed some blogs that have no practical appeal, like a parenting blog (I don’t have any children) just because as a writer I think I will benefit from getting a look at the parental experience. It’s like having a broad based research tool at your fingertips!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Good Morning Meg 🙂
      Thanks for your feedback.
      Indeed, it becomes impossible to follow too much hatred and negativity, though I would let them feel good by having an extra follower. 🙂

      Yes, very true. A writer especially a storyteller is better equipped if they read about all things, especially about the things they have no experience with. 🙂

      Your point is so true and resonates well with what I was trying to convey in few words: We don’t go out of our comfort zones. Prompts, inspirations and reading things we have no experience about makes us feel a large part of life we had not touched before and also makes us better as writers. I have read about craft, parenting, travel, quilts, food, music and many other things I was not familiar with before becoming active in blogging and it has been a sheer pleasure. Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I so believe what you just said Anand! It’s never a bad thing to give someone a push on their journey. Whether we read their blogs or not, I totally believe in sharing happiness & smiles..

    One like or One follow from us, holds the power to make someone feel appreciated. Now that is a virtual good deed ✌🏻️✌🏻

    I’ve had people follow me & when I follow back, they unfollow 😂😂 I really feel that’s a pretty cheap tactic, but if it makes em happy.. Then so be it 👍🏻I’m not someone who would follow & unfollow whether they follow back or not 😄😄

    A very good point discussed today Anand & Beautifully said! 👍🏻👍🏻

    Liked by 3 people

    1. “I’ve had people follow me & when I follow back, they unfollow 😂😂 I really feel that’s a pretty cheap tactic, but if it makes em happy.. Then so be it 👍🏻I’m not someone who would follow & unfollow whether they follow back or not 😄😄”

      Please don’t expect others to stick. Keep doing good and God-willing you would be happy 🙂

      Though it’s sad, it happens 😦

      Yes it’s true that every single like, follow or comment is an energy going from us to the person concerned and it’s making a difference, sometimes a huge difference so we should not hesitate in doing good 🙂

      Thanks for your thoughtful comment Noorain 🙂 Stay blessed.

      Anand

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I also follow my followers but if at some point I see there is a certain trend in their posts that doesn’t appeal to me I do unfollow them. In the end I don’t follow for charity, I follow for my own personal enrichment and entertainment. I’m not even sure I should feel guilty about it…

        Liked by 1 person

            1. No, I won’t be so quick to grade, compare and judge 🙂 We all have our unique destinies. 🙂
              I am following mine and you yours. Please keep doing what gives you optimum happiness. Because after all we are working for happiness 🙂

              Sincerely,
              Anand

              Like

    1. Yes Debbie it’s right. Though I have followed almost everyone I have come across as it takes me out of my comfort zone and gives new exposure. My focus in this blog was to point to the fact that sometimes we are hisitant in following even those who follow us. Thanks for your input. Best Wishes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

