The Man From Earth

The Man From Earth is an extraordinary science-fiction film. Though it might be a disappointing disaster for regular science-fiction fans who love to see a lot of action, I loved it. It doesn’t have any parallel-universes, aliens or space shuttles flying around; but it has a marvelous script. It was the last work of screenwriter Jerome Bixby and what a great work indeed! His swan song is the most unusually original idea for a science fiction I have ever seen!

It must be a very low-budget film-shot almost entirely within a single room.  No mazes, no big guns, no special effects and yet such an engrossing film. It reminds me of one of the greatest courtroom-drama ever, the 1957 film, Twelve Angry Men. That movie had brilliant dialogues and acting; similarly this movie has amazing pace, intrigue and grip. It flows smoothly and never gets boring.


This film has elements of history, religion, science and mystery presented before audience in an uncanny manner. I truly enjoyed watching this movie and since I wanted to keep this short note unspoiled I would not go into the details of script discussing elements which touched me the most.

In a way, this film is one of the most no-nonsense science fiction films I have ever seen. Amazing, entertaining, simple and brilliant–a must watch for all mystery and sci-fi buffs.     




Bill Thompson in his review has pointed out the weaknesses like poor acting by most of the actors and lack of a powerfully synchronized sound track. Still he finds the movie interesting. 

In a way Jerome Bixby’s swan song would become a classic like Heath Ledger’s performance in The Dark Knight; I don’t know if it happens frequently but somehow it’s so magical that others living and kicking cannot go around repeating it.

image: here

39 thoughts on “The Man From Earth

                    1. Alright. If you get “Suraj Ka Saatvaan Ghoda” by Shyam Benegal, it would be a wonderful tale of social classes. It’s based on Dharamvir Bharati’s novel of same name.

                      If you want to see feel-good/inspirational films: It’s a wonderful life/Life is Wonderful/Hotel Rwanda/The Untouchables(French) are some of the off-the-top-of-my-head films. I wonder if you like Mystery films. Might not be your taste so would not recommend, though I love Mystery. 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

                    1. No, that’s an epic film and you are not boring. Maybe you like reading more than watching films! Our entire family went together to watch that film and you know it has world record for number of weeks in a theatre. So it’s not boring at all 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

    1. You can join the challenge, just comment on any post and I would send you an invite if you are not able to create a post now. If you have been invited before please go ahead and share your story. If you want to do this on your blog with picture, then please add a link to forum and comment on the post with word for this week’s challenge. I hope you are not getting confused about it. Cheers 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks! I’m gonna see if I can find it. I’m sorry I’ve been absent. Yes, very busy and traveling. I didn’t know how to find the forum so I will now be able to get there with your help. THANKS! See you there in the next week I hope.

        Liked by 2 people

Would love to hear from you!

