Why Is It So Difficult To Trust Goodness?

I was listening to a talk where speaker said something which ringed true to me.

He said:

Have you ever wondered it’s so difficult to trust positivity. When you see honesty, sincerity, goodness and kindness you immediately start doubting it. You question it. But when confronted with negativity you instantly trust it to be true. Why?

This post is more to start a discussion than to propound a philosophy as I have no idea why it’s so. When we see someone doing good to us or to others we start suspecting their intentions at first. We think they must be working on some hidden agenda and we try to figure out that agenda by using all our resources. It’s difficult to gain trust and very easy to break it.

sunset123

When someone says something negative about us or does something bad to us or to anyone else we don’t wait even for a moment before declaring them as evil. We don’t stop to think that some circumstances might have contributed to it or maybe it’s not true at all. Our media is so full of negative news which we all consider to be true state of affairs in the world. It’s rare to see very positive and inspiring news and when we see we doubt it first. But not negativity?

Why negativity is a norm?

Sunset1314

Some of the questions which might help us address this might be to ask if the world is an imperfect place?

Is it our limbic-reptilian brain(fight or flight response) which takes over us when we see goodness? Why does it happen?

What do you see more in the world goodness or evil?

I would love to hear what you have to say and you can be as honest as you want to. This would give us more clarity. Thank you.

117 thoughts on “Why Is It So Difficult To Trust Goodness?

  1. I find myself paranoid from time to time waiting for the other shoe to drop. I tend to become anxious or bored when a tv show was too much positive energy, I have trouble taking it seriously. Despite this I am typically a positive person. I fight my nature from time to time to fall back into that hole of negativity. Sometimes it is difficult with my husband who always sees the glass as half empty, when indeed “People who wonder whether the glass is half empty or half full miss the point… The glass is refillable!” Great thought for the day and reminder, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You ask great questions. I never watch the news anymore as the media is so negative, I’ve often thought of starting my own station of only good news! But I think the answer is this, you see what you choose to see…if you want to see goodness you will and the more you see it the more you will attract it…it has to start with one person to grow…I’ll be that person, will you?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your kind words and positiive attitude Deb. Yes I agree and I am also trying to see positivity like you.

      If you see comments, we went one leevl deeper to find out why we choose to select negativity or why we see it more than positivity. Though it’s subjective, there is evidence for us seeing negativity and suffering.

      The solution as you suggest is to grow in conviction and optimism. I also don’t follow media since 2003 except for a few news items I get as I glance on various social media or come to learn from friends. I would love to tune to your positivity radio.
      Thanks for your visit and wonderful discussion,

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Audry Walsh

    I resonate with this so much from both sides, the receiving and giving end. I have a soft nature and kind disposition, people has that reaction at me sometimes. Like I am being insincere because they are not used to be treated like that, or because they have had bad previous personal experiences. Is like a shock to their systems. I used to take it personally but no longer do, after realizing it was a perception problem from their end. Also from my end, sometimes, also have noticed I have had a hard time accepting when people are being kind towards me, and I have to admit I still struggle with it often. One time I watched a video from a psychologist, that mention something that sounded so true, at least to me personally. How we are always drawn to what is FAMILIAR, even if is not in our best interest and not based in logic, because the brain will choose what is known over what has no enough data based on previous exposure nor experience. So depending how our personal experiences have shaped our development through our years, will create a sense of what “feels” natural and even believable. So if for example someone is not used to receive compliments, if someone does it, an alarm goes off, because is not familiar, and the feeling of uneasiness appears, making some people react to it in all different ways. He also said it is possible to change that if desired. What he said, is something that I always have in the back of my mind, and has helped me to understand my reaction towards that, and/or vice-versa. Just a thought, awesome post Anand! 🙂 Cyber hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I resonate with this so much from both sides, the receiving and giving end. I have a soft nature and kind disposition, people has that reaction at me sometimes. Like I am being insincere because they are not used to be treated like that, or because they have had bad previous personal experiences. Is like a shock to their systems. I used to take it personally but no longer do, after realizing it was a perception problem from their end. Also from my end, sometimes, also have noticed I have had a hard time accepting when people are being kind towards me, and I have to admit I still struggle with it often.

      It has remained a problem for me since childhood. I get glances of surprise when I offer help. Though it’s true that this distrust is also temporary when we are getting acquainted, still a difficult thing to cope with. I feel it’s part of ‘test’ to see whether you have what it takes to be really helpful to others. If you lack that genuine compassion you would soon get disheartened and slack-off 🙂

      One time I watched a video from a psychologist, that mention something that sounded so true, at least to me personally.
      How we are always drawn to what is FAMILIAR, even if is not in our best interest and not based in logic, because the brain will choose what is known over what has no enough data based on previous exposure nor experience. So depending how our personal experiences have shaped our development through our years, will create a sense of what “feels” natural and even believable. So if for example someone is not used to receive compliments, if someone does it, an alarm goes off, because is not familiar, and the feeling of uneasiness appears, making some people react to it in all different ways. He also said it is possible to change that if desired. What he said, is something that I always have in the back of my mind, and has helped me to understand my reaction towards that, and/or vice-versa. Just a thought, awesome post Anand! 🙂 Cyber hugs!

      True. So many of us ‘feel’ they don’t deserve compliments or love because of the past experience. That’s why spiritual gurus recommend living in the present moment so that past ‘pain body’ subsides.
      You might have heard about people attracted to perpetrators and abductors–what is that called? There is an affinity to pain and suffering if that has been the norm for most of our lives. Ego can’t take ‘bliss’ and ‘freedom.’ It keeps repeating those beavior patterns which attract pain and suffering. 🙂

      Your ideas always bring fresh perspective into discussion. I feel very good discussing with you. I look forward to visit more often to your site and see beautiful videos you share. I always make a mental note you visit but then in the joyous rides in blogospheres I tend to forgte. I would try to devise a way to keep up with your blog updates more often. Thank you so very much Audrey!

      Best Wishes,
      Hugs and love ❤
      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Audry Walsh

        So true Anand! Very good points! and likewise! Thank you for everything. No worries lol WordPress is a huge place is easy to get busy 🙂 I do the same and get behind visiting other blogs, I am trying to get better at it 😀 See you soon and keep up the good work! 🙂 cyber hugs!

        Liked by 1 person

            1. Hmmm, I guess ISJT? Would you like to take again? Just 5 minutes? I feel I am inclined towards I because you said you didn’t like swear words much. It’s not that extraverts like them lol, but they usually accept them easily compared to introverts. Best wishes 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Thanks! Now I remember I’m an expressive introvert. I’m able to get up in front of groups and speak for example. I need quiet time to recharge. Probably why I like to hike so much. I never liked night time parties, dancing and loud music. But I enjoy social activities with groups but I’m always ready for quiet time!

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Thanks for explaining Debbie. My guess was right 😛 I was an INTJ back in college, three years ago I started becoming INFJ, then about a year ago I started becoming ENFJ, now I am moving fast towards ENFP. It’s not me who is moving, I am doing nothing, something is changing my personality dramatically! Thanks 🙂

                  Liked by 1 person

  4. That is so true, everything you have written, Anand. I dont know if it is a human tendency or something else which makes us doubt goodness but immediately trust negativity. I think it is some sort of protective act that we unknowingly do to protect ourselves from pain.
    A very thought provoking post, thoroughly enjoyed this one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is what I believe.
    No person is inherently bad. There are paths which have led people to a certain place where they are. Every person has traveled a path which has led them through some type of bitterness or regret. Humans are just like that. Even with the best possible living condition, we can find something to complain about.
    When a being such as that looks at another being doing good. Deep inside they believe that it must hold some ulterior motive. Because survival does not happen by being just good. Life teaches us that soon enough.
    We have been shrouded with such negativity that a positive outset, leaves us uncomfortable. Nobody does anything completely selflessly – this is what people believe. Even if you are distributing food, you do it to go to heaven, or such.

    While negativity is frowned upon we readily accept it on others. Again, since upbringing, we are told that we are better than everyone else. We have to be better than everyone else. So, anything that the other person does negatively, even slightly, we believe, ‘Oh! He’s bad.’ When in fact, it’s just the circumstance.

    I for one have accepted that I am not perfect. I am both good and bad. Since people are going to judge anyway, I decided to just go my own way. Sometimes, it’s better to not explain. Just know that your conscience is clear.

    (I know you already had so many comments on the post but here is one more to burden you :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No person is inherently bad. There are paths which have led people to a certain place where they are. Every person has traveled a path which has led them through some type of bitterness or regret. Humans are just like that. Even with the best possible living condition, we can find something to complain about.

      I completely agree. Insights like these make forgiveness possible for us. 🙂

      When a being such as that looks at another being doing good. Deep inside they believe that it must hold some ulterior motive. Because survival does not happen by being just good. Life teaches us that soon enough.
      We have been shrouded with such negativity that a positive outset, leaves us uncomfortable. Nobody does anything completely selflessly – this is what people believe. Even if you are distributing food, you do it to go to heaven, or such.

      True. It’s impossible to conceive unconditional love because our minds have been designed for survival. Though in the deepest cores run waters of love and peace. All of us want to be loved and cared. Not just because it’s required for the survival of body but because we have love in our core and we are made of it.

      While negativity is frowned upon we readily accept it on others. Again, since upbringing, we are told that we are better than everyone else. We have to be better than everyone else. So, anything that the other person does negatively, even slightly, we believe, ‘Oh! He’s bad.’ When in fact, it’s just the circumstance.

      True. Might makes right is norm in our societies. Our upbringing makes it look like this. 🙂

      I for one have accepted that I am not perfect. I am both good and bad. Since people are going to judge anyway, I decided to just go my own way. Sometimes, it’s better to not explain. Just know that your conscience is clear.

      (I know you already had so many comments on the post but here is one more to burden you :))

      Yes we are not perfect and accepting ourselves completely as we are makes us feel good and at rest. Consistently striving to be what we are not creates strain. Keeping our conscience is clear is best we can do and explaining too much is wasting time.
      And please: Believe me, I love comments and never get burdened by them. Thanks for your kindness.
      Have a wonderful week ahead.

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is based on my experience of suffering and pain.

    Acceptance alleviates suffering; but not pain. I have found that the cause of most of the suffering in my life was that I did not know how to tolerate pain and the truth that the pain carried.

    I think most of us carry scars that we can’t see and don’t want to see.

    We live in a world of illusion, we are surrounded by messages that tell us what we should be, how we should be and who we think we must be. There is no room for the truth of real pain in such a world.

    Accepting one’s pain is only the beginning. We must also accept the place of our pain in the world which means knowing that our pain is not the worst pain and does not entitle us to behave badly and abuse other people.

    Once we reach that level of acceptance we begin the process of healing.

    We have to discover our inner strength and realize that we are not alone in our pain.

    We heal our suffering by validating the right of other people to feel their pain without censorship or ridicule.

    I think that one of the reasons we find it so easy to remember and focus on negativity is that goodness causes pain for those people who are still in flight from pain. It is easier to believe in some vast network of evil than to accept the fact that some of the evil in the world comes from those of us who choose to be numb. This is not to say that people that choose to be numb are evil. Evil is as mundane as choosing to believe that a mentally ill person wants eat garbage on the streets of New York rather than entering treatment, even if he says no in the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Robert,
      It’s a very thorough, well thought and original response. I can feel it comes from your direct experience. You have not only affirmed a few things other posters said, you also make many new points which are food for my thought. I would think through them. And you are so right about the beginning of healing. Thanks for such wonderful insights my friend. Have a wonderful week ahead.

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great informative post. I agree with several of the comments. One is the “fight or flight” response which has been (and will probably continue to be) necessary for our survival in a sometimes hostile world. Also pain causes immediate distress and a negative response, whereas pleasure can pass unrecognized if we have our mind focused elsewhere. If we’re not paying attention to those around us, we could very well bypass some considerate, pleasant, and thoughtful actions. So, we must try to be more aware of our surroundings at times to notice the good around us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Despite having read so many responses, I find an originality in yours. You point to the importance of mindfulness, counting our blessings and being thankful so beautifully. Yes, moments of pleasure pass so easily and so do acts of kindness, that’s why we are so quick to blame those who hurt us, even when they have helped us a thusand times before. The pain takes over all pleasure memories so swiftly. Thanks for such thoughtful feedback. You are a great thinker Karen 🙂 Anand

      Like

        1. It’s indeed your great simplicity that you say such words of kindness to someone as new and inexperienced as myself. I really consider them a great pat on my back. Thanks for all the feedback, support and encouragement. Thanks for being so kind to me and to others.

          Sincerely,
          Anand 🙂

          Like

  8. I think most of us start by trusting in goodness, but end up being disappointed by people so often that we become wary. It’s a fact of life that ‘bad’ often overcomes ‘good’ because it has fewer morals. Also it’s in human nature to find ‘bad’ more fun/exciting to discuss and thus it gets talked about more. Think how few ‘good’ stories get into the papers….

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yes you are right. I feel, as I have heard other friends, I am gaining a perspective which was not there when this post was written. The survival mechanisms in our mind and world at large are based on ‘fight or flight.’ We have to plan and stay ahead of others to survive, that makes our outlook defensive, negative and suspicious. Though it’s also true that there is plenty of goodness in the world out there, we carefully select to focus on negatives since it hurts a lot. If a person has done 99 good things to us, we tend to forget them if the 100th thing is seriously bad for us and we mark them as ‘bad’ person in our memories. Thanks for this wonderful discussion M 🙂

      Like

    1. Yes you are right my friend. Though it’s not just about death. If we see good and appreciate it in others and our surroundings we become happier and live peacefully. Anand 🙂

      Like

          1. Living this moment is no guarantee we will die with the same way of thinking but it is more than thought it is a spiritual lift we feel as though god is with us and we hope to carry it to the end of our short life.

            Liked by 1 person

  9. The world is negatively polarised… but hey..there are people like you Anand..who are making changes in a truly positive manner!!! Trillions of dollars are rolling over bad things than good… but yeah…a few good souls are there who make change happen…this blog is a real eye opener 🙂 Thank you Anand… Even in literature we experience this…negativity is praised and applauded…where is postive things are deemed to be trash..sad but true…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes my friend. We all want love, care, sharing, nurturing and friendship but somehow our minds gravitate towards negative values. Yes there is some gravitational pull towards them, but that’s certainly temporary as peace and love is our final destination.

      Thanks for visit and beautiful feedback. Thanks for kind words. Have a wonderful Sunday Srinath.

      Sincerely,
      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

            1. A few of us from blogging university August class created a forum which would help us all share and communicate. We do what we did in Commons and maybe some chit-chat if one feels to inclined. If you have not visited please feel free when you have time and make a comment. I would add you as an author and then you can keep sharing your work for feedback and help others too if you feel like doing it. It’s a great place :
              https://blogging101alumni.wordpress.com/

              Liked by 1 person

  10. Do you think, Anand, that it’s because many people fake goodness while few people fake negativity or evil? So the evil seems more authentic and we trust that it is true–while, when someone is unexpectedly nice, we wonder, perhaps, if there’s an ulterior motive.

    I think, too, that there’s some weird attraction to the ‘dark side’. I remember, growing up, when playing ‘Cops and Robbers,’ it was SO much more fun to be the robber–cops were bland, robbers were spicy and exciting…

    I think one of the advantages of being in the blogosphere is the opportunity to see goodness at work. In telling their stories, and in sharing their gifts, people testify to their inherent goodness. You’ve created a forum for that! A counterforce, maybe????

    Thanks for a thought-provoking post!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I do believe that good is more prevalent than evil, but I don’t discount the presence of evil in our world! I think the two forces are fighting for control, but, Anand, I do believe that goodness is the stronger force and that most people want to be good and do right.

        Like

  11. Until April, I used to live in Paris area, a place where saying Hi in the bus is perceived as the symptom of two things : asking for money and any king of abuse to come. The social nom is to keep to yourself as a sign of a non-threat. Happiness and kindness are conceived either as a weakness or a mental disability. So… we moved and found a city where people are less stressed by the dense urban life. They eventually smile fro time to time but they do keep to themselves. So this makes me wonder : if loneliness the fate of people living in cities ?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s very saddening my friend. Unfortunately I have seen the same. People living in the same flats don’t know each other, rarely greet or talk with each other. Such loneliness among crowds. Very saddening. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, but we should never forgive hope, there’s always hope, especially if we show solidarity. When I discuss with people, I hear their struggle but I’m also often very nicely surprised to see they are willing to help in case of trouble. We just have to break the ice first. It is one of my deepest belief that if you show compassion, kindness, support and love will arise. But It’s difficult to do in societies that teach us to fear our neighbor.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Yes my friend. Your ideas are deep and profound and I agree with each one of them. The fear and isolation is prevalent but still superficial. The deep currents of love and compassion can move myriads of hearts in a matter of a few seconds because deep down we all are connected and look for love and compassion.
          It’s a joy to discuss with you.
          Sincerely,
          Anand 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

  12. I really have no idea. Could it be partly because we see more acts of kindness/goodness be unveiled as something that is not, or not completely without agenda? Whereas we don’t see much of acts of negativity turn out to be otherwise? :/
    In any case, like you, I tend to believe people in their goodness more than to doubt them.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. As in we see a fair amount of acts of supposed goodness turn out to be bad or manipulative, whereas negatives ones we don’t see it becoming ‘good’. Say a giant corporation does some charity campaign, ppl may doubt their intentions as just for pure marketing purposes or as an act of covering up something, because there have been such instances. But on the other hand we don’t see them doing something bad which turns out to be good..for the sake of someone/something..
        So is it possible that because people usually have no purpose for doing something bad intentionally so as to cover for goodness, so all the goodness-turn-false cases become prominent. Thus ppl become more cynical?
        Maybe you should ignore me cause I’m rambling lol.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. No you have some valid points. But I have seen many people, ordinary people showing great kindness to me in the most unexpected places too. It depends on our experiences. Thanks for elabirating it for me 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  13. Thank You for this post. It reached me at the day I need it most 🙂
    It was, wait, what I‘m thinking about? Ok, lets start again in more positive way!
    I love life and I consider it like a gift. Sometimes it happens to dissapoint, but it is me, not the world. I am young and there are a loto f things that I don‘t know about the world and its rules, so sometimes I have very high expectations. I serch for positive sides always and if there is someone who tells me that all rich people are thieves, all governments are evil and don‘t care about us etc. I don‘t re-think my view about these all things. It is very clear view about the man who speak that kind of words.
    Still it is very involving to cry about all things that are not going in the way we want. And to trust all bad news, all evil things is easier than believe in positiveness. I think it happens because positive, Goodness thinking is related to faith. And faith is not very easy going thing. It needs time and patience, also some maturity and wisdom.
    While we are children we don‘t need to be reminded about laugh and joy, we are near the Source. You know what I mean? But when we grow up, there are a lot of temptations to turn away from It.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I clearly understand you. I am 29 and I have also been conspiracy buff earlier. I agree that it’s easier to pick on negativity as our minds easily hold on to that. The faith is something deep and connected to our hearts so it’s evident that we are going to get it when we have patience. Thanks for taking time to respond in detail I really appreciate it.

      I would also suggest to meditate if you don’t. Our minds are absorbers of negativity and we hold it for long without looking for positivity unless we get connected to something positive.

      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

          1. I say sometimes it can be different thing, because You can pray only by saying words and You can pray with heart. When You pray with heart an even words are not necessary it is equal to meditation 🙂 The other way is just words. It is better than nothing, but…

            Liked by 1 person

  14. Jenn

    I think we are all born optimists. The world teaches us not to trust. I like to think I still believe there is good in others, my trust just has to be earned.

    But it’s true, if someone gives me a compliment, I doubt their sincerity automatically, but if someone is critical of me, I believe them without question and doubt myself. I have to learn to be my own biggest fan.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I think I agree with dsmcknight above. Paul writes  “Finally, brothers, ,whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. -Philippians4:8. We are to renew our minds daily, to bring our thoughts under discipline, and control.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s one of my most favorite quotes of all times. Thinking and talking about these things makes our sublimes. I missed to respond to this comment. My apologies 🙂
      Have a wonderful day ahead Jackie,

      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

  16. My family often tease me about wearing rose colored glasses. They insinuate that I am naive to the world. I’m not. I see the bad but I choose to focus on the good. Life is short and I want to enjoy it. I don’t want to spend my days in negativity. I think that so many people are tired of being disappointed. By believing/focusing on the negative, they aren’t let down.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Your views make a lot of sense to me. I have also been suggested by my family to be more clever and worldly wise. I have always had heart of a fool. I feel I am gaining a perspective as these discussions proceed. It seems that our organisms basically want to survive and survival takes over the true happiness somehow. Our minds are so designed that we choose to hold pain and negativity back while easily forgetting bliss and happiness. This colors our world negative and makes us distrust everyone as cost of trusting is to be paid heavily if broken. Thanks for your thoughtful response. Best Wishes. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Anand, While I think this is a problem for many people, I would say that I make a conscious decision, every day, to look for and to appreciate the goodness in the people who surround me. And to treat them with the respect and gentleness I give my daughter. I am no pushover, and can and do say/do say difficult things when necessary, but I have a deep belief in seeing the best. It makes my life beautiful and rich each day. It is a source of great happiness, at least for me.

    I do think it takes making an effort. I think it requires not being so “me” focused. Empathy. Empathy is everything.

    Francesca

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You are a beautiful soul Francesca and give such great advice on how to become positive. Yes when we start serving others we are not always thinking about the little ‘me’ who is strained and pained and our world becomes more positive. Service with a good heart is a must.
      Thanks 🙂
      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

  18. What a great post!! I really do feel,it’s a veil of security that we don on.. A protective shield.. Negativity does prepare you for a battle,even if there isn’t any.
    Being positive is seen as being hopeful and gullible. The sound of a hopeful heart shattering is much crisper and louder than that of a closed one.
    With that being said,i will say that each one of us awaits and loves positivity,irrespective of how closed & cramped we are in our heads.. because if it wasn’t for that.. I guess we all would be souls without a path to tread on.
    There would be not one man,getting up to see the sun,not one man caring about another…
    Wouldn’t you agree?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I completely agree. We all are made from love and this entire creation is based on energy of love. In our heart of hearts we all want to be loved and like it. Still there is something outer, on the surface which is not interested in love. Which is interested in survival of body as you suggested–against being tricked and fooled.
      This is mind based on our animal brain and it somehow selectively chooses to focus on negativity. We keep storing negative emotions and forget positivity. If a person abuses you in the end you tend to forget all the good he had done for you because negative emotions have taken over all positive ones.
      Thanks for this wonderful and thoughtful response Noorain.
      Have a great day,
      Anand

      Like

  19. Its natural our experiences shape our perceptions. As we grow and age, and experience heartbreak and loss, it too often become our response to be guarded and expect the worst. It takes an incredible amount of strength of will and mind to keep positive and look on the bright side.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I thank you for your response and feedback Lula. Though I have to ask–why it’s not the other way around? Why do we experience heart break and loss and develop defense at large? You can overlook this question if you are not free. It’s enough 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

        1. Yes I agree. Why most things have to hurt? Is it a given that we have to meet more bad people in life than good? Or it’s just that we forget good experiences soon and keep bad collected to help us survive? Hmmm..I feel I am getting a perspective. Thanks dear 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I think it’s the balance that good and bad create. If we don’t have bad, then how do we know we have good. The bad sticks with us longer so we make better choices going forward in hopes of netting us more and more good.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. In my experience there are more good people in this world but I guess it depends where you are sometimes or what kind of people you chose to be with. I think even if we experience bad things from others, we should not dwell on it but on the lesson. We can’t blame people for putting their guards up if they experience bad things or are hurt. No one wants to be hurt.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Thanks Shine 🙂
              I agree we can’t blame others for how they react to seemingly good things and there is no absolute good in any situation. And yes it also depends on a specific situation. I thank you for your wonderful feedback and my apologies for having missed this notification earlier.

              Best Wishes,
              Anand

              Like

  20. I think it has a lot to do with what we’ve been through in our lives. My oldest daughter & I went through some horrible times when she was younger. But my youngest didn’t have those same experiences. My oldest doesn’t trust anyone to have good intentions other than me, her sister & my husband (her stepfather). But my youngest sees the good in everyone, even after they do something wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it’s a very well thought response Jess. I suppose it depends on various persons. Do you feel it’s true for majority to feel good, bad or neutral about the world?

      Like

    2. I think experience or background have something to do with it but not always, it may also depend on how things look or perceive something. I remember a story in one of the book of T. Robbins where two identical twins have the same experience (having an abusive father) but different path. The other one have successful and happy life while the other one was in prison. When interviewed they have the same answer. I believe it was “How can I be not like this with that kind of a father?” However, background really has a big impact and can result in a vicious cycle for most.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. True. I agree with you. My sister and I grew up in the same environment but see the world completely differently. Where I feel the need to work hard for what I get, she has the attitude that the world owes her everything she wants. But our view as far as whether the world is good, bad or neural is pretty much the same. We just respond to that view differently.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Ah! I remember having read this story in a slightly different phrasing. The father was a drunkard and had two sons. The one who was sensitive started hating alcohol and other became a drunkard following into the footsteps of his father. This is a beautiful story and it stayed with me.

        Thanks for adding such value into our discussion.

        Best Wishes,
        Anand 🙂

        Like

  21. This I’ve seen a lot amongst people and I truly feel as if it’s the survival mechanism kicking in and also past traumas/root patterns being brought to the surface as a result. If people gain awareness of this mixture of nature and nurture coming into play and fully acknowledge their individual experiences…digging right back to the past, they could literally change their reality to one of manifestation rather than fear. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Very true Faatima. Most of us have to undergo immense pain and suffering before we get to that level of awareness as you suggest. My question would be this: Why past traumas? Is there suffering prevalent among us ?

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Pingback: Why Is It So Difficult To Trust Goodness? | Blogging 101: Alumni

Would love to hear from you!

