Relationships And Society Are Merely Mirrors!

There was a mad woman. She was convinced that her body was not physical. She was sure that her body was sublime and divine. She used to say that there was no body as beautiful as her’s on earth. One day that woman was brought before a big mirror fixed on a wall. As soon as she looked at her reflection in the mirror she became extremely furious and agitated. She picked up a chair which was near her in the room and vehemently broke the mirror by throwing it. Once the mirror was broken she sighed with relief.


When it was asked why did she break the mirror, she replied ” This mirror was making my body physical; it was making my divinity look gross!”

The relations and society are not more than a mirror. You might go on breaking them but change would not happen. They just show your reflection. The work is to be done where it could be done, that is, upon yourself. It’s the center. Society and relations are not bondage. Bondage is your self-image.



There is another story I heard from someone. A dog entered in a place where there were too many mirrors all around. He started to think that he’s surrounded by too many dogs and he started barking. The more he tried to suppress the other dogs with his adamant vehement barking more he was forced in return.

When a wise man entered that place he told that dog that it’s merely his reflection in the mirrors. There are no other dogs at all, but the dog did not believe him. The wise man said to him–“just stay put for a while and see what happens.” The dog became silent and then all other dogs too became silent and then the dog realized his mistake and thanked the wise man.

yellow

This is our problem with relations and society. We think that other people are good or bad, whereas truth is, they’re simply our reflections. If you want to use other people, they would also want to use you; if you want to help other people, they would also want to help you. If you want to give out love and compassion, that’s what you will receive back. As simple as that!

Source: Translated from the book containing Osho’s letters to his mother.

image source: 1 2

51 thoughts on “Relationships And Society Are Merely Mirrors!

  1. So very true! We reflect our thoughts in the others thinking that what they want or feel about us is exactly the same thing as we want or feel.
    Very thought provoking piece that has been written from the heart. The success of a writer is when he/she is able to write something that resonates with people and you have done just that my friend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind words Rashmi. Yes it’s difficult to know minds of others as we don’t know even our own. When we feel good about ourselves we also feel good about the world and otherwise.
      Best Wishes,
      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anand,
    You have such a pure view on the world. I love the overall message and would tend to lean in the agreement side of things. I do feel that good and bad do exist, but I am trying to understand the deeper message being sent out here. I think pure children who have suffered have no reason to suffer as they have only been born into a sad situation. Sometimes we are strong and circumstances allow us to live another day, to find a better circumstance. But sometimes, as strong as we are, those circumstances never arise.

    As sad as this comment is, I am an optimist. I believe there is more good in the world than bad, and good wins everyday.

    thoughtfully yours,
    the (esc)ape artist

    Like

    1. Thanks dear 🙂
      Your comment made me feel even better. Yes it’s true that I am also an optimst despite all I have seen and hopefully would remain so. The grand scheme of things we humans don’t know yet but whatever it’s it points to a basic harmony and unity of all things,. Your thoughtful comment is very much appreciated dear Life.

      Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Srinath. 🙂 I am very sorry that I could not find to read your stories yet. But please keep visiting us in Alumni forum . If you keep visiting and request for feedback someone might give it more easily than me as I have been too busy with forum establishment and maintenance lately. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the idea behind this, but I have to disagree a bit because it’s not entirely realistic. In general, yes I believe that people are a reflection of yourself; so if someone you think someone is going to do something bad to you then it’s you who might do something bad to them, etc. However, there are still those people who are good, who give of themselves and are still hurt by others. I don’t think it’s safe to say that the people who hurt them are a reflection of themselves because sometimes there are just negative/bad people out there. I want to believe that people can change, that they can do better, and for the most part I believe that that’s true, but in some cases it isn’t and you have to be realistic about that fact. 😦

    ❤ and harp strings,
    Kate

    Like

    1. No I am not an INTJ anymore. I am ENFJ. I hope it didn’t come across as rude or something. Only that not many people spend as much time discussing. I am always free, especially to have such inspiring discussions. I am concerned about you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t see it as rude, I see that you are just concerned and thank you for that 🙂 I think we just both like discussions hahaha it’s just that I may not always have time even if I want to and love to find someone to discuss things with. I guess my personality exudes today. I found new friends!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks 🙂 Yes that’s true. I have spent a lot of time discussing such things as it’s in my nature to investigate roots of subjects. I feel it’s more important to connect with heart but heads do take over every once in a while lol 😛

          Please feel free to discuss whenever you have time. Hopefully I would be available, God-willing. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I’m sure you will always be available for us 🙂 Thank you for your time, it is very much appreciated. I’m available for now but tomorrow I’ll check now and then as I have to finish a work. I’m just enjoying this lean time and the work of other bloggers while I can. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I can’t say that. One of my feet is always in pilgrimage and other in home. I had to come back here because of fateful twist of events. I am always at peace, whether I am at pingrimage or at home. But somehow I am too sensitive to see people suffering around me and that makes me sad. 🙂
              I might go away never to come back again online too. But I have enjoyed every single moment of blogging and online discussions since 2008. And loved it since Aug 3, 101. 🙂

              Yes please keep visiting when your work allows you to. Would love talking to you. Friends like you are very rare, online or offline, doesn’t matter ❤

              Liked by 1 person

              1. It will make us sad if you will never come back online. I’m just starting enjoying this blogging thing. I know about it before but never have a time to check it out as I need to earn for family as I’m a breadwinner. Also since I am a freelancer now just almost 5 months so I now have internet at home and I’m usually online. I have other activities of course aside from taking care of my family. Glad to have a friend like you here 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

                  1. Yes of course friends should always have to communicate and encourage each other. I have a friend from India whom I didn’t communicate with for 3 yrs. He was a colleague in my previous job but we didn’t see each other just through email and FB. He just got married last May and I’ve just known it because he messaged me via messenger so I’ve checked out his FB page. It’s the first time I’ve seen a picture of wedding in India 🙂

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. Oh glad to know that. Weddings in India are a lot of fun lol so many customs to follow and there are many religions so there are so many types of marriages–court marriages are common of-course being resort for eloping romantics lol 😀

                      Liked by 1 person

    1. I was not rare but different yes, a bit. My colleagues used to call me “Babaji.” Classmates used to call me “psycho” in college and in school they called me “Saint!” Hahah, though I never thought myself rare. I was like an old person when I was a kid and now I am like a kid. Does it make sense to you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I understand what you mean. I remember when I was in kinder or 6 yrs. old I used to love playing and making friends, my family are sleeping already and I’m still outside, then in elementary and highschool we transfered place and I experienced bullying so I become introverted and shy and I’m an old soul, love old movies but when I was in college I enjoyed it more because I learned new things. I guess now I’m still young at heart but I’m still loving classics. We really are a mixture of our experiences that’s why we are unique and special. I still think you are rare 🙂

        Like

        1. Yes similar things happened to me. That’s why we are friends ❤
          We are all unique because nature never repeats. There are no two humans in history of mankind with same thumbprints I have heard. Why do you think I am rare, except for my olden INTJ profile?

          Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t agree on all of those words here Anand. There are really good and bad in this world. Sometimes even if you did good to others they may still do something bad to you and I understand that they may have selfish reasons for it although I do agree that there are circumstances that others just react to what you did to them. Still I admire those who are able to continue showing compassion, love and kindness even if they didn’t get something in return. I think they are showing great character even if others may think they are weak. I love the pictures here as it conveys your idea and for the record I don’t like mirrors not because I think I have a great body or as beautiful as your character here but the other way around lol 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    1. There are really good and bad in this world. Sometimes even if you did good to others they may still do something bad to you and I understand that they may have selfish reasons for it although I do agree that there are circumstances that others just react to what you did to them. Still I admire those who are able to continue showing compassion, love and kindness even if they didn’t get something in return.

      I know who you are Shine. I know you in every guise you come to me. Because you’re God speaking to me. { Does any of it make sense?}

      Coming to your point: The grand scheme of things can’t be seen by us as we are trapped in our lives. If we could see everything we would know that despite everything bad happening to us if we hold our ground we find bliss. There is a fountain of goodness, a source of life and joy inside you. It’s Tao, Name, Water of Life. When you keep showing kindness you get connected to it. Then you have an inexhaustible supply of love and bliss.
      I am not suggesting you to start believing in the fantasy of “imagining good.” No I am not. But when you keep showing compassion and kindness, soon the world becomes heaven for you and you don’t find any opposition to yourself. You see everyone as your own. Not just family, or pets or friends. Family, pets or friends are starting points and they are practice grounds for expansion of heart–but love should keep increasing and encompass entirety of existence. Let me know if it doesn’t make any sense. 🙂

      I love the pictures here as it conveys your idea and for the record I don’t like mirrors not because I think I have a great body or as beautiful as your character here but the other way around lol

      Hahaha, lol. I hope you liked Dostoevsky quote too. Thanks for contributing into this discussion. It’s always a joy to discuss with you. ❤

      Anand

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I agree if we continue showing compassion it is heaven for you. I may not always able to show it but I’m happier when I do although I don’t usually think those who receive my help are happy too 😛 I understand you but of course we may not see eye to eye because we have different beliefs but as long as we respect and share and help others then we can live in harmony 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. We need not agree on all points–that’s what makes a good community dear 🙂
          Still, if those who receive your help must be happy. That’s what ‘help’ means. If you see acknowledgment or a smile or a change in their lives it’s a great reward for what you have done. If our help is smothering others we need to step back and have a sensitive look. Not everyone who needs help knows they do. 🙂

          I can give you an assurance that your words and actions are making a difference everyday. Don’t worry about their not making others happy. They are doing it if they flow out of a pure heart which doesn’t want anything in return. For example: This discussion initiated by you is a great help for me–you may not realize it–but it’s helping me gain clarity of thought process and it’s making me feel good. 🙂
          No, I am sure we can see eye-to-eye. ❤
          I like you in every guise my dear. Because you are God speaking to me. My beloved divine. ❤

          Love and light.
          Anand ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. You are right we sometimes need to step back because they may not like it or us per se and they may have other things or soneone else on their life that are able to help them already but I agree that even if we may not get feedback or appreciation the important thing is that you are able to help someone sincerely. I have an experience with someone who told me it’s not good that I’m too friendly and open but I respected her and since she listened to my side of the story as she really didn’t know me that well we eventually became good friends and now she understand and appreciates me and even if we don’t always see each other I always think of her. And yes Anand we see eye to eye lol 😛

            Liked by 1 person

            1. You are right we sometimes need to step back because they may not like it or us per se and they may have other things or soneone else on their life that are able to help them already

              If they are getting help they should be happy and it should show up in their outlook. If they are sad they need help. But then people are very sensitive because of past trauma and some are hardwired to avoid others. In any case an initiative taken with a good heart is never bad and you can step back when they don’t need it and keep continuing to help others. 🙂

              but I agree that even if we may not get feedback or appreciation the important thing is that you are able to help someone sincerely. I have an experience with someone who told me it’s not good that I’m too friendly and open but I respected her and since she listened to my side of the story as she really didn’t know me that well we eventually became good friends and now she understand and appreciates me and even if we don’t always see each other I always think of her. And yes Anand we see eye to eye lol 😛

              Yes, if we stop helping others just because some people didn’t accept our help we are discouraging ourselves and good cause. There are so many people who could be helped in one way or other. Every minute the thoughts you are emitting, your presence and positivity is affecting someone out there. So it matters. Yes I already thought we see eye to eye, why did you think otherwise? Smothering presence? It’s a drawback in my personality. I am not perfect but improving rapidly, thanks to friends like you. I am sure you would keep thinking of me and I would keep thinking of you with positive memories and joy.

              Sincerely,
              Anand

              Liked by 1 person

              1. I’m just pulling your leg to see your reaction lol 😛 I’m used at smothering usually but really if they don’t like it I tend to step back and find someone else since I usually want to surround myself with positive people but if they need me I’m always here for them just like I’m here for you my friend 🙂 Thank you for thinking of me in a positive way… 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Hmmm, dark humor?
                  Do you know what plastic mind means?
                  I am glad you consider me a friend and say such kind words. Thanks for being here for me. Thanks for being so kind. Thanks for the beautiful discussions and encouragement. You are a beautiful soul.
                  Love ❤

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. Thank you for the beautiful words, you are so sweet and really such a talent 🙂 It’s not dark humor just humor 😛 and love the discussions with you but I guess I’m not as well read, versed and knowledgeable as you. Thank you for the new words I’m learning. 🙂 Please explain what plastic mind means. 🙂

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. Thanks for your kind words. And I feel you are sweeter ❤
                      Alright I take your humor positively now. You are very well read I feel and very perceptive too. I am also learning a lot from our discussions.

                      I have heard "brain plasticity" which means our intelligence can be enhanced unlike what experts in the nature versus nurture debates, pro-nature used to believe earlier. Our brain can create many new interconnections even in advanced age. Intelligence can be increased.

                      I read 'plastic mind' in a poem on a blog today morning so I was wondering what it meant? Hence asked you. It's alright if you don't know. 🙂 Stay blessed dear ❤

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. I believe brain intelligence can be increased with using it through reading, interacting and sharing things with positive people as learning doesn’t end. I’ve read a long time ago that Japanese business leaders as they are used to using their minds and learning they continue to lead their institution or business well way beyond their 90’s. Also I have watched about brain on discovery channel it was also so long ago 🙂 but I loved it that when we use our brains the synapse if I’m not mistaken interconnects with each other when we learn something. Brain is such a great and beautiful creation. As for plastic mind I’d say maybe the writer is just using metaphor to say that the mind is not used properly or the way someone thinks reflects his/her attitude thus not being true or “plastic” but I maybe wrong 😛

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. Very interesting things you say. I have also read about “Mankato Nuns” they were super nuns. They used to play quizzes, chess and other games even after 90s and used to keep journals so they were super-healthy and did not suffer from diseases like alzheimer’s. I feel your example of Japanese execustives fits well here. Yes they are synapses. Yes intelligence can increase with interactions as we keep receiving timely feedback.

                      About plastic mind–I have difficulty understanding what you mean–but then it was a poem 😛
                      Poets are sensitive people. Romantic and vulnerable and hence they use words out of place, in a hurry all the time lol 😛
                      No need to mull over it any further.

                      What was your MBTI result dear?

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. Hmmm, I am newb ENFP. 😛
                      I have been INTJ for most of my life. Then INFJ. Now ENFJ and heading to ENFP. I lack patience in some regards but have immense patience in others 🙂

                      You can see both sides of a subject right?

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. Right! I think since we are unique and complex individuals we cannot really exactly categorize our personality but these tests are huge help to understand ourself more and understand others 🙂

                      Like

                    6. Hmmm, what else do I have to offer? Thanks for all your kind words and time. I don’t need anything else. And please don’t spend too much of your time here if you have other obligations 🙂

                      Sincerely,
                      Anand

                      Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

