Some Smileys On Your way!

I thank my friend Kristina Van Hoose for the inspiration. Our discussion on usage of smileys gave me many ideas to write this post.

ecc53-child

Smileys or Emoticons are heart and soul of online conversations. I’ve received a feedback that I overuse them, maybe I do, but I like doing that. I am visually spatially oriented and images are what fascinate me. Smileys are expressions of emotions in online conversations where you don’t see actual faces and they supplement facial expressions.

Do I laugh as often I use a πŸ˜€ smiley? Maybe not. But the fact is something inside me does and that’s what I tend to express using this smiley. Do I smile as often as I use smileys? Yes I do–though I didn’t use to, but then I was not using so many smileys either.

I need to learn more emoticon texts. I don’t know how to create ‘blushing’ emoticon as I needed it so badly in last three weeks. What do I know so far?

πŸ™‚

😦

πŸ˜€

πŸ˜‰

πŸ˜›

❀

{If someone knows more, please drop the text in the comments. Thanks.}

It’s not enough. Too repetitive. My interlocutors get bored. I overuse smileys and it gives an impression of an adolescent–it’s good because I am a child at heart–full of awe and wonder for life.

How do I feel when I see smileys on some messages? I feel I am talking to a friendly person when there are enough smileys. When I don’t see them I feel I am speaking with a rather introverted personality; sombre and secluded. Smileys are clear invitations for friendly conversation.

As far as bloggers are concerned–I feel those who blog to sharpen their skills might prefer the way they want to keep it but others essentially participate in a social engagement and hence usage of smileys is considered a good gesture.

If I don’t see smileys in conversations it becomes a clear indication that I should not be too frank and jocular with such a person. Now I maybe completely wrong about this–but practical experiment so far has not betrayed me. Be it fonts or be it smileys–I have consistently found introverts to resort to less smileys and tiny font. Extroverts use bigger font and more smileys–though smiley part might not be too consistent with extroverts at times.

I love using emoticons and have been using them in excess since I started communicating online. Somehow I feel bad when I don’t use one. It’s curious how a person might mean something else and a smiley might change the meaning. You might have heard about health experts who suggest that even putting aΒ fake smile on your face might invoke related emotional state. If you imitate the facial expressions of a state of happiness you would become happy–temporarily–but if you keep repeating it often enough, you would experience states of happiness more regularly.

I feel something similar happens when you use emoticons–even if they are fake they have some effect and seeing smileys again and again starts making some impact on your neurology and starts programming you for better. Does it all seem like pseudo science? Why not try using more smileys in your conversations and see for yourself? No, you can’t. Because it would change you. It’s strange that we all hold to unhappiness by our thoughts and habits and yet wonder why it’s chasing us in one guise or another no matter where we go.

81 thoughts on “Some Smileys On Your way!

                  1. Hahaha No I’m really friendly and likes to comment and share but I also think about a lot of things and like to contemplate on them so I really think it suits me being on both sides of the personality since some meaning applies to me some don’t from each. I guess that makes me complicated πŸ˜›

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. No it doesn’t. I was an INTJ since I learnt about MBTI. Then, in 2012 I started becoming INFJ and last year I started becoming ENFJ. Now J in it is very slight and so is E. You get it dear?

                      Like

  1. Love this post Anand! πŸ™‚ I tend to use a lot of smileys too but I try to lessen them especially if someone I’m chatting or talking to is not using any which makes me think he/she is grimacing while reading my reply or post lol πŸ˜› Also when it comes to blogging and putting smileys there I tend to think people might think me I’m childlike which sometimes I am and not take me seriously hahaha πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fun Simplicity

    I love smiley. πŸ˜€ I used it all the time in FB, sms, emails, anywhere…when I’m using my phone. But when I’m using a laptop, I’m limited to only a few that I know. Your post speaks to my heart. That’s exactly how I feel about smiley. πŸ˜‰ Sometimes I’m abit hesitant about the receiver though πŸ™‚ Have a great day!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I love your smilies and as a non-techie, I have to tell you, your research might be off. I am considered an extrovert. I don’t use smilies and a large font for one reason and one reason only. I haven’t figured out how. I just commented on another blog and said….”I wish I knew how to convey lol out loud”. So Mr. Anand, two things I ask of you. How do you set a larger font and how do you make smilies? As my English husband would say, “I absolutely bloody well love them. You put as many as your heart desires…lol. Oh by the way, I use smilies in FB because it’s real easy, you just choose.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahahahaa πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      You gave me giggles Sharon πŸ™‚ Thanks for that. πŸ™‚
      To enlarge font:
      Go to Dashboard—>Appearance—>Customize—>Fonts—Select “Large.” or Normal–whichever you prefer.

      To use smileys colon and bracket ( the sign above 0 in laptop keyboard, use shift key)= πŸ™‚
      😦 (Sad smiley is Cololn + Bracket(above 9)
      If you want the cheeky tongue out smiley use colon and P = πŸ˜›
      If you need winking use semi colon and brace above 0 = πŸ˜‰
      If you need heart use < and 3 together = ❀
      [ This is all you need, I mean this is all I know Sharon!]

      love ❀

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I love your smilies!
    I tend to over analyze comments and when there is a smilie it just makes me relax and think, ok, they come in peace lol. It also sends a kind of encouragement somehow. Idk how to explain it, but don’t ever stop the smiley! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Anand, so interesting to read this. I know only a few emoticons, have a ‘dumb’ phone notva ‘smart’ phone ( who wants their phone to act smarter than its owner?), a nd prefer to let my words convey emotion. But I love seeing them in people’s blogs- I smile back! By the way, what is :p ?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. 1. Oh, thanks. LOL! 2. And really? I thank you from my heart, but just accepted one last week :(. Let me mull it over for awhile. 3. Great. Found a fun, descriptive word. I will copy it over to the blog tonight. While you’re there- is there a way to schedule a post for publication at a later time? I don’t seem to find a way to do it. Probably looking in the wrong place.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Jackie, you are supposed to do that post here in Alumni forum. If you want you can do it on your blog as well as on Alumni–preferably don’t do at your blog so that we have a unique attraction for Alumni forum. πŸ™‚

          Please let me know if you have a problem about it.

          Like

  6. I found your exploration of emoticons fun to read and interesting. The blue smiley was intriguing 😊Mostly I use only three or four basic text based emoticons that may or might not appear as a happy little icon. The previous one in this comment is one from the icon menu provided in my mobile phone’s virtual keyboard, no idea how to make it with text… happy blogging Anand and congratulations on your extensive achievements in our blogging 101 journey πŸ™‚ cheers πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

        1. No! Did that come across like that?
          I feel you care most for me among all bloggers and this care is motherly. There are many wonderful friends but you’re one with wisdom and motherly care and nurturing and every time I speak with you–I sense your affection and love for me. Thanks for that πŸ™‚
          Gratitude ❀

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I was joking, that’s why I winked. I remember something you wrote a while ago that’s all πŸ™‚ Thank you for your kind words. I don’t visit your blog every day but have a good catch up when I do. You are one of my fave top blogs to read πŸ™‚ I always worry for how much time it must take just replying to comments. I won’t ever be offended if you fail to reply though I do enjoy our chats πŸ˜€ absolute pleasure meeting you and sharing the b101 journey πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

  7. i don’t use smilies often when i Blog but i use them on every other social media platform I am on! I do like this heart thing ❀ hoping i can get it to work when I type the symbols.
    my favourite typed smiley faces (",) and (-_-') hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. wordscoffeeandlacedresses

    I love using smileys too! Although, because I feel like I am over-using them, I use more exclamation marks, in order to show my happiness and excitement πŸ˜€ You should see my personal messages to my friends, they are FULL of smileys, as there is more of a range to be used on my phone, than on here. I have a site that I use, for WordPress, I Googled it specifically because I was desperate to use smileys (fsymbols[.]com), which allows you to copy and paste smileys, into your text (just click on the desired one, it will automatically copy, then you can paste it whereever you want). So far, the few I have used from that website, have worked

    Liked by 1 person

    1. wordscoffeeandlacedresses

      Although, I need to add that, on some of the smileys, they will appear as a box-like symbol, in the text box. However, once you publish the comment/post, the smiley will appear

      Liked by 1 person

    2. πŸ‘ŒThanks for giving that link my friend. I understand you have a greater range available on phone. Yes it’s working and I would use that. Thanks so much Words . Have a great day ahead πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. wordscoffeeandlacedresses

        You are very welcome! Glad I could help out. There are other websites out there, but I find this one works the best. Have a fun time with the smileys πŸ˜€

        Like

    1. Good Morning Arpita!
      Maybe I didn’t think that way. I have interacted with a friend and he uses a lot of them as well. πŸ™‚ You certainly exercise moderation compared to me πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Somehow I always feel emoticons bring life in conversations. Without using them, sometimes I fear I may appear rude! It might sound crazy, but thats why I ‘ve used them in abundance. So use away my friend! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Yes πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›
    I love smilies…. in world where the facial expression is non existent it is so easy to take offense and misconstrue someone’s intentions … I don’t care if you over use them as I know it is all in the spirit of sharing and friendship … if I knew more without looking them up I would use more too !!!
    Love your daily interactions… it is a lot of fun n:D
    CHeers

    Adrienne
    PS if you are retired is you gravatar a recent shot?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Adrienne. You’re so young at heart despite everything you’ve faced and it’s inspirational. Truly. I am glad our day to day interactions are making you feel good. God willing they would continue. When we work for common good–the universe helps us. When we work for personal gains–might help or not help based on its mood–lol πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      That picture was taken in 2011. I took retirement when I was 27. I rarely take pictures so I have kept it as it’s. Would change it once I become popular lol πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Younger people – more smileys. Anand I don’t use them on WordPress because I can never remember the keystrokes but if I have a set of them, I do use them.
    Also I don’t know if you have visited any forums where people use multiple animated smileys, they do get annoying and distracting.
    Hope you are having a good week-end.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Maddy that is the rule. I am getting younger day by day and hope you would also. I have seen those annoying smileys too—honestly–they were fun for me lol πŸ™‚

      Happy Weekend πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. I ❀️ this post!!! πŸ˜€ You know why, Anand!! It talks about smileys πŸ™‚ I am so glad you really like to use them too! Always use them when I’m smiling reading a post or when something actually makes me laugh out loud!! πŸ˜€
    Great post, as always! :

    -Pink πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Anand, the feeling is mutual! πŸ˜€ You are one of my most favorite people I interact with on a daily basis!! I just posted the challenge I took part in today. Something is is ‘draft’ mode though. πŸ˜‰ Should be published tomorrow, after I have my morning coffee! ❀ Second rank, ehh?! Second is the best!!! πŸ™‚
        -Pink
        PS the blogger that is ranked First was seriously lacking smileys in his last comment. 😦 He also conveys some growing 'hate' for the Second rank blogger (all around win-win situation)! πŸ™‚ ❀️

        Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

