How Online Communities Help You!

It has been about 7 years since I started participating in online communities. I have always felt like an outsider in my birth place, mostly because of my views on life. As I kept interacting online I found a few very generous people who liked my ideas and gave me valuable feedback which helped me grow intellectually and otherwise.

Initially I participated in couple of philosophy forums and then started interacting via blog and Facebook. As I kept interacting, many things gradually started changing in my thinking and life and a transformation started happening. This transformation is still taking place and I see more love, light and peace.

a-beautiful_nature-1574431

I feel what makes these communities so beautiful is the abundance of people from various corners of globe who think like you and give you their generous feedback. It’s true that these people can’t really offer you things which your day-to-day community does, such as–food, clothes and housing(maybe it does for some of you); still it offers something which is also an indispensable ingredient in making you a complete human. Proper feedback for your ideas is a must if you want to feel alive and content–you can’t grow without it. These communities bring together some like-minded people who don’t give regard to caste, creeds, religions, ethnicities and nationalities and this the beauty of the renaissance that is taking place in this century.

15 - 1

As more people who are generous and kind get connected with each other despite physical distance–a critical mass would be reached and this current of life would help eliminate the darkness which is a threat to all life on earth. I look forward to more love, light and peace in such communities and on earth.

This article was small as I had not done proper research and polishing–my friend Audrey Walsh chipped in with her wonderful ideas which she heard in a video by a psychologist. She is fond of new ideas and videos on her website are amazing. I request you to visit her site as you would find a wealth of wonderful concepts and ideas over there. I am quoting her from my comments section to make this article look better than it originally was. Thank you very much Audrey!

So true Anand! Your post made me think about a video I saw not too long ago. About a psychologist that did a study about humans and cyberspace interactions. She found out, (among other things) that because we are all wired to be social creatures, we ache to find our own “tribe” as she described, we evolved seeking it through different ways. Partly because today a days is easier to travel thus move around, and find our own way, we are doing the same online, seeking online communities as to connect with what we feel a better match for us, and feel more authentic and happier.

27 thoughts on “How Online Communities Help You!

  1. Great post!!
    I too from time to time feel as an outsider in my own country, I sometimes wonder how my life would be different if i lived in another country and how much I will evolve to a better human there. And other times, I want to stay here to make a change.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anand, you have touched upon something I’ve been missing in cyberspace…a place to belong. Finding my voice, reaching out, helping others, and receiving such positive feedback has helped me to break Cyber Writer’s Block. What a great post this would make…lol. Take care and have a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. infobloomer

    Anand, you are on the button with this. Now I understand better why I have been so happy about this new adventure of blogging. I am a social creature and have (sometimes) felt like an outsider to my community as well. Bringing like minded persons together that is really what it is about. Thanks again for the inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind words Althea and glad you got inspired again. My apologies for not visiting your blog since I have been held back by community website work. I hope you would like to visit community and participate in it as and when your time would allow it–i would try to visit your site soon.

      Happy Wekeend,
      Anand 🙂

      Like

    1. Hahaha, glad you liked it dear. Huge cyber hugs and true love back to you–love doesn’t need any media to propagate. As you would read these words–you will feel a deep tingling sensation in your heart. 🙂
      Love ❤ ❤ ❤
      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: How Online Communities Help You? | Blogging 101: Alumni

  5. Audry Walsh

    So true Adan 🙂 Your post made me think about a video I saw not too long ago. About a psychologist that did a study about humans and cyberspace interactions. She found out, (among other things) that because we are all wired to be social creatures, we ache to find our own “tribe” as she described, we evolved seeking it through different ways. Partly because today a days is easier to travel thus move around, and find our own way, we are doing the same online, seeking online communities as to connect with what we feel a better match for us, and feel more authentic and happier. So yay for that 🙂 great post !

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Very profound Audrey. 🙂 May I use your comment in my post with a link to your blog now? It would enrich the content even more 🙂 Or else you can do another post on it in your blog 🙂 🙂

      Thanks for such nice feedback.
      Anand

      Like

      1. Audry Walsh

        you are most welcome and Absolutely! go ahead please 🙂 let me see if I find that video somewhere, was a long one too but I personally loved it. I get back to you if I find it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m new at online communities but I must say I just love reading on comments, views and ideas of different people. There are positive and negative impact from people on these online communities but I think it is great to find people who will be able to help you and at the same time you will be able to help them as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it’s true that mix of positive and negative exists in all communities and internet communities are no exception to it. Still, sometimes you can’t get to meet many people who think like you in your neighborhood but there are many many of them out here 🙂
      Thanks for your kind feedback my friend. Best wishes 🙂
      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for your positive and encouraging post, you are an inspiration. I knew about people doing blogs years ago and didn’t think much about it since I’m busy earning for my family and internet connection at that time is costly but I love connecting with people online or offline especially with those who share and understand your views it may not be the same but they respect them. I just had the opportunity to write or join online communities when I decided to be work at home mom. It’s great learning little by little from you guys. Love the work you do!

        Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

