Procrustean: The WordY FrYdaY NerdY !

Hello There!

I am going to share interesting words and their etymologies(stories behind their origins) every Friday on this blog.

Words have very interesting stories behind their origins and some of them are so peculiar that I am fond of them. This word ranks very highly when it comes to the peculiarity of its etymology.

In Greek Mythology Procrustes (Prokoptas or Damastes/”subduer”), was a rogue, smith and bandit from Attica who physically attacked people, stretching them, or cutting off their legs, so as to make them fit into an iron bed. In general, when something is Procrustean(prə(ʊ)ˈkrʌstɪən/), different lengths or sizes or properties are fitted to an arbitrary standard.

Procrustes used to offer an iron bed for relaxing to visitors who used to pass by the mountain where he lived. If the users of the bed were not fit to the bed he used to stretch them using his hammer, in turn killing them. Quite gory, I know! Nobody ever used to fit to his bed because he secretly had two of them.

In the modern sense, this word is used to suggest very arbitrary standards. You may insinuate towards social, educational or political norms of the day as being Procrustean mostly, because, no matter what you do, you will be a misfit! Education for example, has mostly been Procrustean, trying to fit students of all mental capacities into one frame–not providing for special needs of visual-spatial or ‘gifted’ students for most of the past century.

43 thoughts on “Procrustean: The WordY FrYdaY NerdY !

    1. Not help, you are going to help us. Don’t hesitate, alumni forum is our home and we can decorate it together. Please feel free to join us in doing weekly features you are already providing much support to all of us 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You really are great with words Anans! I’m loving this as I used to read the vocabulary section of Readers Digest. I also love trivia so it’s as if you are providing us nerds who are addicted to words with something enjoyable to eat 😛 Delicious meal indeed! Although I think it’s gory I’m handling it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My goodness. Such fine thyme! Loved it ❤

      Would you consider doing our weekly feature on Etymolgy? IT's on Mondays. Next two are booked but after that you can take. Please take that?

      Like

    1. Isaac Asimov invented that one I know. Thanks for the suggestion Ivan. I would keep it in mind. 🙂

      As an aside: If you also love doing this, you can contribute with “robot’s etymology” in our new forum’s weekly(Friday) feature, as well as in my blog, as a guest author 🙂 🙂
      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Procrustean… Love how that word rolls on my tongue.
    I loved how you used the example to explain, and the picture to make it more fun and everything else! I have a suggestion! I think you should add the phonetics of the chosen word as well. I feel that is the only thing which your post lacks. Add that and your post will be truly “whole”..

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My goodness Ananya 🙂
      You have been one of the most constructive critic of my posts.
      I love your suggestions ❤
      You remeber your suggestions about images on my blog on day1?
      [ Though I want to discuss about page-loading time now as I am learning a few things–maybe later??]

      You are an amazing support. Love ❤

      Yes phonetics is a must and I am going to add it right away 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: The WordY FrYdaY NerdY | Blogging 101: Alumni

Would love to hear from you!

