Why Serve Your Community?

This post is inspired by The Daily Post’s prompt Community Service.

Why serve community?

What good is it anyway?

A heart full of gratitude is a heart full of love. You want love, no matter which substitute appearanceΒ you create for it. We humans are social animals and our daily lives are dependent on countless humans like us who have lived before and are living now. Right from your family, neighborhood, school, hometown and nation to entire universe–your community is what has provided for your safety, well-being and growth. If you’re grateful for it and look forward to pay back whatever little you can–your heart blooms with love. Your consciousness flowers and you find harmony and peace all around you.

At the deepest level, community service is not just an expression of our gratitude but also an earnest need borne out of deep desire of belonging which is part of being human. Your DNA wants you to support all life and supporting your friends, neighbors, family, poor and downtrodden makes your life shine with love and light.

Your self is not different from the world. You are the world. Whatever you give you give to yourself as there is no duality in the essence. You serve community and get served in the process. You try to assuage and heal others and get healed in the process. You wipe tears and your tears disappear–such is the law of nature.

The technology, art, craft, knowledge and wisdom is all a gift from your community. Sir Issac Newton, despite his extraordinary achievements was so humble when he expressed his gratitude for his scientific ancestors:

Without serving community you can’t grow deep inside yourself and you can’t flower as a complete human being. Selfless service is the way to peace, harmony and bliss.

An increasing ability to serve is the only reliable sign of spiritual progress.–Dalai Lama

54 thoughts on “Why Serve Your Community?

    1. I am running short of words expressing gratitude for you. You’ve said so many words of kindness today.
      May I know about you a bit?
      You live in UK. What do you do?
      The site listed in your profile is marked :private. Please let me know more about you too πŸ™‚
      Anand

      Liked by 2 people

      1. My private blog needs making like a website. It is on hold while I try and learn things via blogging 101. Bedressed.wordpress.com (the Wishing Well) is my blogging 101 blog. I have two others on my gravatar profile. All my practice, play and learn blogs πŸ™‚
        Currently I eat, sleep, blog, draw for a few minutes every day for #DrawingAugust and look after my dog. Previously I was a mother but my children are grown up and live away and I also have grandchildren. But I have been very ill and so trying to recover some. I have same/similar illness as Catherine of Continuing with M.E. blog. I have had this illness since childhood and unable to do conventional work at a job. I have done some part time work in my life but not for quite a few years . I am stuck at home most of time unable to walk far But can use computer again a bit more now tho keep exhausting myself. I also keep forgettibg to check where am i writing replies and is it private… never mind i say enough on my blogs sometimes πŸ™‚ sorry for the private blog isdue they attached the wrong one to my blogging101 ID and I was very late noticing. I might sort something with it in a bit but I keep getting lost in fascinating blogs like yours and trying to give blogging101 feedback and running out of time and/or energy for my own blog ☺

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Thanks for your kind words Colette πŸ™‚
          Now I more clearly understand your motherly concern for my health and writing. Thanks πŸ™‚

          Have you tried rhythmic breathing?
          I am not familiar with Chronique Fatigue but I have read that it’s often associated with awakening.
          I am not sure about you as you say it has been there since childhood πŸ™‚
          Is it genetic?

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Possibly can be. My son was dreadfully ill and his son has Muscular Dystrophy – seen as more serious disease and some ways it because my grandson’s life expectancy is supposedly to die while very young – but in practical and visible ways there is a lot of similarity in the day to day dusabling effects of these two very different diseases. In the west we perhaps seperate ideas and complicate with intricate theory and big drug business support for false medicine ( in some cases of medicine, not all)

            Personally I find things like my own version of ayervedic gentle head massage to sometimes be slightly helpful. I explored lots of different aspects of holistic healthcare and self help. Whenever well enough (not often for some time now) i sing to regulate breathing and to massage and excercise deep internal muscles. Lots of odd ways of managing my health. UK doctors are useless for my illness.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Hmmm…I suggest you learn rhythmic breathing–so-ham, so-ham so-ham–I find it very helpful in relieving stress. If there are any Art of Living centre you can learn from trainers. Pranayama is also very helpful πŸ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

                    1. Why? I don’t understand why you are taking this burden on yourself? The suffering in world was always there and would always be there—it’s a world made of positive and negative where chaos and order play with each other πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 2 people

                    2. I believe it is in my best interest to be mindful of the realities of others as far as is humanly possible. Other than the natural forces of order and chaos, much of the chaos in our world is created by the ‘order’ of (hu)man…

                      Like

                    3. I feel you Colette. It’s not selfish to think of one’s own health. We are more able to help if we are healthier. I experienced muscle pain so I have to go through physical therapy for a year but it is really depressing to loose ability as we have before. Take heart and continue to spread inspiration my friend.

                      Liked by 2 people

              1. Also stress isn’t so much of an issue now i have no children in school. I live with stress better now for so much practice. I am more whole than i was. Just much less energy.I don’t lay in bed all day. I get up for my dog. I muddle along and try and vary between standing for some of day and bedrest when i must. I don’t sit because its very bad for my spinal problems and i can’t get medicine from my doctor for pain.

                Liked by 1 person

  1. It is so heart warming @Anand. One cannot give what one doesn’t have. You can only love other if you have loved, not the love for self but a genuine love that springs from the core of the heart. A kind of love and care that knows no boundaries, color or religion. Your love for life is so evident in your blog. You already have a fan here. God bless!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am blushing all over again πŸ˜› Hahaha πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for your kind words Maria and your words are perfectly true. We need to accept ourselves to accept others and a heart full of love is a heart full of gratitude too πŸ™‚

      A big THANK YOU πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks dear, now I am starting to run out of words of appreciation for you. I hope you understand my feelings of gratitude and love for all your kindness πŸ™‚ What temptation or procrastination you dislike the most dear friend?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hahaha I’m not a recipient of the award so I better avoid giving answer to the questions lol πŸ™‚ I guess in general I can be tempted with delicious but unhealthy food and I procrastinate on doing things I don’t like but must do. There are other things but I’m working on them..I’m a work in progress lol πŸ˜›

          Liked by 1 person

            1. My favorite is the Bible and Jesus inspires me the most πŸ™‚ Although I must admit I have yet to finish reading it. My favorite part there is the Proverbs, Job and Song of Solomon. Bible aside, I’m reading more on financial management books, I like Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robery Kiyosaki. Not much compared to a bookworm like you πŸ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Gosh! To call me a bookworm would be an insult(unknowingly). I feel like I have read nothing in life. I have watched more movies and written more articles than I have read…hence poverty in my writing. πŸ™‚ 😦 πŸ™‚

                Like

                  1. What to say to this. I feel I know you since a long time. Though it has been just 2-3 days. It’s so wonderful that someone could become so close a friend and touch you and transform you within such a short duration. Life is mysterious, wonderful and beautiful. I feel I am an empty path and you are walking on it. πŸ™‚

                    Liked by 2 people

                    1. We are saying same things to each other, over and again, it’s really something. I wonder how such moments of friendship come to happen when we get sparked together by the divine. It’s destiny. ❀

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Hahaha I don’t really believe in destiny and I really don’t know about that but I guess kindness really flows and it finds its way to someone else’s heart and life and it affects in profound ways we may never imagine πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. How could it not be true since you have been showing such kindness. It doesn’t come out of nowhere. I feel you are a very good person. A genuinely sincere and beautiful soul who never hurts others. Only then can you show such kindness and love to anyone anywhere and that’s what made me feel you must have influenced many people around you as you are influencing me right now ❀

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. Such kind words:) I have gone through a lot of pain and suffering in my lifetime and it’s not a good feeling so I don’t want to make others feel the same. Sometimes I am able to hurt others even my loved ones even if I didn’t mean to and this is what I regret in my life. I guess I’m just human. I love to think that I’m really influencing others in a positive way as others like you have influenced mine.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. Yes true. Only those who have wept and wailed thinking of morrow can wipe tears of others. You are working for a noble cause and common good and I see a very beautiful life full of happiness for you. It’s bound to be blissful for an unjaded heart like yours!!

                      Like

Would love to hear from you!

