I Pledge Allegiance: Am I Patriotic?

Whenever I hear national anthem, tears start rolling down my cheeks and I get goosebumps. I love life, people, animal and this love is not limited to my family, state, nation or a particular community. I feel national boundaries are man-made and similar to many other artificial boundaries they are indispensable at a particular point in the evolution of mankind. The order helps societies thrive and without it there can’t be any substantial progress. Chaos and order keep playing with each other and history bears testimony to it. National boundaries aren’t going to be there forever and there would come a time when there would be one world based on universal love and brotherhood.

GalaxyB

Humanity is one. All life is one and this molecular dance of life is taking place in many planets, solar systems, galaxies and many universes simultaneously. To not recognize this cosmic play of life and love and to attach oneself to only one’s own country soon makes one jingoistic.

In the farewell party of my school I cried like a baby because I was soon going to miss a place where I had spent ten years of friendship, love and learning. I am a sensitive person who loves animals, nature and people around him and I feel overwhelmed with national anthem because it reminds me of people who have made my life what it is. My happiness is the result of labor of countless number of people who come from my own country and from others. This means I am not against the patriotism but I clearly see a very thin boundary between Patriotism and Chauvinism. This boundary can be crossed at any moment if you are not careful and aware.

Love

Patriotism is essentially a positive value. To show your gratitude towards your people and country is a form of universal love which has created all of us. When I look into my country’s history I see that truly patriotic people were those selfless servants of humanity who have inspired all humanity. Gandhi was a patriotic man whose meritorious deeds based on unconditional love served not only his nation of birth but also the entire mankind. The mind of Gandhi still pervades the earth and millions get inspired everyday by his legend.

Universal Love

I feel a patriot loves his people and country but this love should not stop at the borders of his nation. Rivers, birds, air and seasons don’t observe boundaries. Nature and life are one and the same for all nations. If you keep dividing yourself– this division doesn’t stop at nations–there are sub-divisions based on cast, creed, sex and ethnicity. It boils down to loving just your family–some people have allegiance just to their families and no more. This is overlooking the fact that your love for your husband, son, city, state and country is a tiny fragment of universal love which is source of all creation. If you love someone with all your heart it expands into universal love and it can’t just remain limited to certain people or places. It becomes unconditional universal selfless love of cosmos.

This post was inspired by Daily Post’s Prompt I Pledge Allegiance. Thanks for reading. Please give me your valuable feedback.

33 thoughts on “I Pledge Allegiance: Am I Patriotic?

  1. Pingback: I pledge Allegiance (to our world of humankind)… | The Wishing Well

    1. Thanks dear Pam 🙂
      It’s true, Russell was a great philosopher and pacifist. 🙂
      I wanted to read your story today but I needed some quietude. I would be sure to read it today 🙂

      Sincerely,
      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hildegard | Chez Hildegard

      A little tangent away from patriotism per se, but I’d like to make an additional comment, about “Rivers, birds, air and seasons don’t observe boundaries. Nature and life are one and the same for all nations.” Perhaps you only meant they don’t observe our man-made national boundaries? They do observe their own natural boundaries: rivers stay within their banks and birds in their territories, air flows according to natural laws, and seasons have their regular time in all parts of the world. When elements of nature exceed their boundaries, there is often havoc. Hmmm, more to think about. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for correcting me dear friend 🙂
        Yes nature is unifying element for all of us and it’s not dividing though regulating it’s for sure. I sincerely appreciate your observant reading and comment. Feedback such as yours helps me grow as a writer and human being. Many thanks for stopping by. Have a great day.

        Anand 🙂

        Like

    1. Thanks dear, I respect it and appreciate it, but I think I am not eligible for it as I’ve more than 200 followers. Hope you won’t mind 🙂 I can still do a post to answer your questions or answer them in comments. 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Repeat nominations are fine my friend but someone who has more than 200 followers can’t be nominated as per rule. These rules are made by us and respecting them brings order and harmony for our community, hence 🙂
          Cheers 🙂

          Like

  2. I believe that we as a species are meant to evolve into something bigger. A few hundreds of years down the line, things will change. Just like it always has but one thing that will remain with our species as a whole would be to find the purpose of existence.

    PS- I see this is generated from yesterday’s Daily Post’s Daily Prompt. You forgot to generate a pingback to the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. All you have to do is link any word in your blog to that page’s internet address. What I generally do is write that “the post is inspired by the Daily Prompt: *prompt name*” and hyperlink the prompt name to the prompt’s html address.
        This generates your post in the list of posts below the prompt.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Fun Simplicity

    I like this: “Patriotism is the willingness to kill and be killed for trivial reasons.” It reminds me of those Chinese historical dramas…LOL
    I’m still stuck at today’s assignment. The prompt makes my “Block” even more obstructed…haha

    Liked by 1 person

      1. To be honest I have no idea of what I am doing, couldnt even find my dashboard for a while!!! I have changed the title of my blog at least I think I have to Letting the Light in … One frame at a time…. but my real name is still Adrienne ha ha . I don’t know what I am doing and need to do some more posts but am not sure how to go about some of t

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Dear Adrienne 🙂

          Yes I can see your blog name is very beautiful now 🙂 I love it.
          Please take your time for posts. I would suggest you to do a post regarding the awards following rules and share the link in the commons as it would give you a good exposure and interaction with many new friends–only if you wish so.
          Have a wonderful new week,
          Anand

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Welcome Jenny 🙂
      Thanks for your kind words. We are all learning together and it’s a lot of fun too 🙂
      I would soon visit your blog and give some feedback. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Anand

      Like

Would love to hear from you!

