How lengthy should a post be on my blog?

Based on the feedback I have received so far I decided to trim down the length of the posts. Then some of you kindly suggested that I can write as long as it takes to convey my point. To get a good opinion about this I have created a poll. I thank Ananya for her suggestion which encouraged me to create this poll.

 

It would just take couple of minutes to give your valuable feedback. It would help me a lot to decide about the proper length of my average posts on this blog. Because I don’t write just for myself. I write for you. Thanks for your support, feedback and encouragement.

21 thoughts on “How lengthy should a post be on my blog?

  1. Anand, I personally try and keep posts on personal blog to about 500 words. The reason being is that when I’m reading someone else’s blog regardless of how interesting the post is, I tend to get bored. So, I just assume everyone is like me. WordPress had a Longform Blogging U course, but I haven’t seen it offered in a while. If they do check that out because it gave a lot of helpful advice and tips for writing and keeping peoples interest with longer posts. For my short story blog, I tend to go longer because my action goes pretty fast.

    But the bottom line is that you write the length that you feel comfortable with.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes you offer some very useful advice here Erica. I would keep these points in my mind. I know that it feels right. Some other bloggers have suggested about SEO but I feel that’s of secondary importance 🙂

      Like

  2. Its a tricky question honestly – yes you have to write for the reader, but you have to find the time to do the writing. It takes some time to do a Google friendly post of over 1000 words and a long post takes some thought & research time as well, not to mention “get traffic” time. But long posts are more interesting. I think the maid rule for long posts is make plenty of paragraphs – no walls of words – and add pictures.
    Dividing a long post into two is also good idea.

    Like

    1. Thanks Maddy 🙂
      Your suggestions are pertinent 🙂
      Yes I have received suggestions about SEO friendly posts. But yet I feel it’s more important to connect with people around you first. I also try to add pictures and paragraphs. In the past I have used series of posts. 🙂

      Thanks a lot 🙂

      Like

  3. Anand, if you are really worried that your posts are too long, break them into part 1, part 2, etc and spread them out over a couple of posts instead of one long post! However, the others who have commented are right, you should not be limited by word count, write what you want to say! Your audience will find you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot Meg. I have consolidated these suggestions. I hope you also voted. 🙂 I used to do that earlier but then I thought it was better to have all information at one place to save others trouble of clicking too often to visit other pages. I would keep this in mind, for sure 🙂 🙂 Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Traci Drury

    I feel that the length of a blog post really depends on your subject and the point you want to make (if any). Some posts require only a few sentences while others need more explanation, description, etc. The beauty of writing a draft is so we can read what we’ve written and either add or reduce. Your writing comes across as soothing and warm. With your commitment to the 101 class I have no doubt you will soon “know” when something is too long or short.

    Peace, love and happiness,
    Traci

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Traci,
      Thanks for your kind words. 🙂
      I clearly understand the import of your ideas. It’s true. I wanted to visit your blog but don’t see a link to a site. Could you please share it with me? Thanks 🙂

      Like

  5. Anand! Please! Your blog is great. Honestly, if a blog posting is interesting to the reader (or friend as I like to refer to it as), length doesn’t matter. Once you capture my interest, I’m sent from real life into a world of words that come together in a complete thought. No. For me–it isn’t about a short post or a lengthy post. It is all about the substance! Keep on writing my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Catherine,
      Thanks for your kind words. They are heartwarming. You are such a nice friend for all of us. Giving your valuable feedback and encouraging us again and again. I understand your idea clearly. I love your blog, tag, tagline and your writing. I am learning from you to be precise and to-the-point in writing. Thanks a lot 🙂 🙂

      Like

  6. wordscoffeeandlacedresses

    I agree with Kristina and Arpita. There is no such thing as a good length, plus, as yours is a spiritual blog, you can get away with writing long texts. For me, I write about 500-700 words as I am merely writing about my day. If I wrote any more, it could get a little boring (in my opinion).
    But, say it is a different kind of post, like a DIY type of thing, you would need to write more just to explain everything properly.

    You carry on writing how many words you want, don’t be tied down by a word count. As has already been suggested, try to break up the text with pictures and short paragraphs, to make it easier to read.

    :]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your wonderful feedback dear friend 🙂 I agree with what you have to say and I am assimilating all these suggestions including votes which would be open for one week. I hope you have voted. Thanks for your valuable feedback, time and visit. Sincerely, Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Anand,
    Honestly I have been thinking on similar lines for the past few days. I personally don’t read long blogs, unless it is very interesting or is a blend of photos & writing which makes it interesting. I am more inclined these days to making shorter posts. But again it depends on the subject of your blog. I can get away with lesser writing & more photos since mine is a travel blog .but yours being an essentially spiritual blog, I say don’t think about the length so much. For your posts conveying the message is of more importance. Hope it helps 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Arpita,

      Yes it’s very helpful. 🙂
      I feel your response is very thoughtful. I feel established niche authors might use great length articles. 🙂

      Most of us are not very literary persons–we write blogs as a hobby and for self-improvement–so it might be better to stay light until you are experienced. I do feel that some things should either not be said or said properly. As we would grow we would learn how to express ourselves more effectively. Moreover, we would also know what works and what doesn’t. I think working matters. In last week I have worked about 10-12 hours everyday to interact with people, hear them and help them. To improve my blog I have learned a wealth of information which I couldn’t in last 4 years! I have made some wonderful friends and I hope I stay in touch. 🙂

      I feel motivation is the key. Staying connected with beautiful friendly people like you motivates us to keep working. 🙂 We all know that basics like fonts, polls and others could be used but we lack motivation. This has been a great experience for me. I hope it becomes even better for all of us.

      Wishing you a nice Sunday,
      Anand

      Like

  8. There is no such thing as a good length. I think as long as you are not rambling you are fine.

    If you care about SEO (search engine optimization), I do know that Google and other search engines favor longer posts. (1000’s range).

    As long as you use headers, paragraphs, and images to break up the text so it is not a giant wall, you will be fine.

    Also, when you create polls, you do not have to add an OTHER option. As long as you have “Let voters submit an other option” or however it is worded on the side, they can add in their suggestions like it shows in the last option.

    You’re doing great!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks again for your valuable feedback Kristina. I would keep the SEO thing in mind. You are a technical expert. I have not seen anyone else helping others so much technically. You are the real helping geek of the community 🙂 Yes I realized that later. I am going to edit that extra button. Thanks for voting and commenting. I really appreciate your encouragement 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Like

      1. It’s the advantage of having had a WordPress account for 6 years and coding for my brother’s self-hosted site. One of my ambitions is to learn to create websites from scratch and make them from others as well as help with things like this. I just really love helping, LOL.

        Liked by 3 people

        1. It’s so kind of you. Yes your experience shows up in your attention to details. I also worked for a software firm but seriously was never interested in that–life was dragging me. Thankfully, I am doing what I love the most now. Thanks for being kind. Stay blessed 🙂 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

Would love to hear from you!

