How to get your voice heard in blogging university?

The last two days have been very enriching experience of sharing for me. I have made many new friends and started following their blogs. I have received overwhelmingly positive feedback and support from my fellow classmates, for which, I am extremely grateful. I didn’t ever imagine this experience to be so rewarding. It seems as if I was living in a small shell in the outskirts of Blogosphere before entering into university. It has been a serendipity. I was expecting aloof observers who would give me some tips and feedback–I received them–a great many–and also made some beautiful friends. You all are very generous and helpful.

I wanted to thank you all for your kindness. I wanted to create a post to express my gratitude and love for you. When day one was about to end–I thought it was going to be the best day in university–because I had doubts about being able to repeat the level of active engagement on day one. I was wrong. The day two was even better than the day one. And it became even more easier on day two.

It has been a mutually enriching experience. I have received some comely comments suggesting that I have been noticed. I have expressed my humble thanks to most of you. I again thank you and want to say that since I am a retired person I have a lot of time and I have a great interest in getting to know people. This might be the reason why it has been possible to interact with so many of you. I would keep doing my best to help and interact with as many people as possible today and in days to come. I also ask for your precious feedback for my blogs and for others. Please be generous–your generosity would help you and others in unexpected proportions.

A rising tide lifts all the boats.

We all are here to learn. It’s not a competitive platform. It’s a platform to make friends and you don’t have to gain at someone else’s loss. It’s a mutually enriching experience. As we attentively hear what others have to say–we not only improve our understanding but also heal ourselves and others in the process. Our relationships improve quickly if we pay attention to what others say. That’s why I want to share a few observations which I feel would be of help for most of us in days to come. Since last night these ideas were bugging me because they wanted an expression. I wanted to help many people. These are simple observations but have been very effective in my limited experience. I hope that they would help many of you and might be of greater help to those fellow classmates who have been late for classes–those who couldn’t attend in last two days.

Use links for blog posts and assignments in the commons

I have observed that many of us are not using links in their commons posts. You work hard on your assignments. You write wonderful posts. But you don’t carefully share those links in commons to get feedback. This has a harmful impact on your experience. Many of us are very generous–they have repeatedly been helping others to put links to blogs in feedback posts–I want to thank all of them. Still if you don’t put links in your posts you are very likely to receive little or no feedback. This discourages you. Yes it would discourage anyone. The good news is–you can avoid this by carefully using links in your posts soliciting for feedback.

Please use link to your blog in your Gravatar profiles. When you ask for feedback or help and you’ve either forgot to share your site’s link or are unable to share it–other generous bloggers might be able to go to your website via Gravatar profile if it contains a link to your website. This has been mentioned in instructions by Michelle. Most of what I am saying here is basically a repetition of what has already been said but it would be wonderful if even one of us gets helped by reading this post.

Use blogging101 tag in your posts

If you use this tag in the posts you do during this course–these posts will appear in the WordPress reader for all of those who have enrolled for this course. It increases the chances of getting noticed. Even if you have missed to share links in commons, using this tag would ensure that some of the students would notice your posts in the reader and give you their valuable feedback.

Introduce yourself and your work in commons

As you submit your assignments in commons–please try to add a little introduction. Try to create a concise summary about your assignment or post before sharing the link and include it with your link and requests. I have found myself more inclined to interact with people who share their assignments with a crisp story. It might be just 100 words or slightly more–it helps prompt readers to engage with you.

Comment on posts of others as frequently as possible

You have observed deluge of posts and comments in commons. It’s not easy to see each and every new post. As you keep interacting with others–visiting their blogs, reading their posts and commenting on them–many new posts and comments get created each hour and you can’t access all of them no matter how much you try. It’s therefore easier to keep commenting on those posts which attract you. Don’t hesitate and go forward–say hello to your neighbors and friends. If you have some feedback and suggestions for them–it’s excellent–but even if you have none, it’s never harmful to say hello to new posters and to your old friends.

As you keep commenting you would be noticed. On the bottom right corner of commons page–we keep seeing updates. When others would see your name many times–they would be interested in interacting with you. Firstly it might be just out of curiosity–but after that it might be because you are an active participantΒ and very likely to visit their blog and give your feedback. It’s the easiest way to get noticed and heard.

Be generous and polite

Blogging is socializing. This is not helpfulΒ just in this course only but in our lives as well. Being gregarious and friendly would help you sail easily through. This really doesn’t have to do much with your inherent talents. You might be a wonderful artisan busy mastering your craft but if you’re impolite and reclusive you are not going to get noticed easily. You would get noticed eventually–but isn’t it better to get heard earlier than later? Being polite is healing for ourselves and others. It’s almost always well received.

You’re here to learn and engage. You are not only improving your blog but also gaining new friends. Do you remember your school or college friends? Some of these would be your life-long pals. Similarly it’s very much possible that you get to meet some fellow bloggers who have very similar interests and you might stay friends for many years to come. Isn’t it wonderful to get new friends who are creative and helpful? Yes, it’s!

I have been to many classes. I have spent a major portion of my life studying in classrooms. It has never been this much creative and fun. I wanted to share my experiences earnestly with all of you. This post has become a bit lengthy but for all the good reasons I hope. I heartily thank you again for reading, for your support, your friendship and your generosity. Please keep providing your precious feedback to me and to all our fellow friends. Have a wonderful day at university today.

image courtesy: 1 2

Featured image courtesy: here

84 thoughts on “How to get your voice heard in blogging university?

  1. This is very good advice, well thought outand presented. TWO things I would like to add….. one is that a link to one’s bli is very important. the blog can also be found by clicking the user name at the top of a post.

    also, the “like” button is fine, and welcome. However, it is even bbetter to leave a more substantial comment. I always leave a comment in response to the post itself.

    what does “like” mean? like the topic, the writing, the photos? often “like” really just means “I read your post.” Real feedback is meaningful.

    just saying…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jessica,
      Thanks for your kind words πŸ™‚ I just visited your blog. I love the title. Hahaha it’s kind of hilarious. πŸ™‚ I like your tattoos too and the header image of flowers is stunning.

      I look forward to explore more and interact with you.
      Sincerely,
      Anand

      Like

      1. skyllairae

        Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ I appreciate your kind words too πŸ™‚ my picture is from a rose bush outside my favorite coffee shop back home, I recently moved away and I do get homesick every now and then and that photo always cheers me up. I look forward to reading more of your posts too. Have a great day πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. infobloomer

    Anand you are amazing at what you do. I am new at this. This is my first time at blogging university. Your post here was very informative. I never believed in my wildest dreams that I would enjoy blogging. Thanks for the tips.

    Like

    1. Hi Althea πŸ™‚

      Thanks for your kind remarks. πŸ™‚
      I am glad you are liking it here. I also find blogging university full of amazing people. Very supportive, encouraging and helpful. This is also my first time here. πŸ™‚ I am also enjoying blogging more now. πŸ™‚
      I wish you very best.

      Anand πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I know it might not sound good to add too many pictures to mature authors like yourself. I also like pictures a lot. Today I received some great advice on using pictures which are royalty free. I am learning so much here. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. oqu3

    Wow, Anand, it’s no wonder you are so well received. You have the heart of giving.
    It is good to make your acquaintance. Very good tips, sensible.
    Thank you. Sincerely; Mike (as you found out and refer to me)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree about the links in the commons. Have tried to click their names when they forget a link and usually there has been no gravatar linking either. So I am sure I have missed some great posts. 😦

    All of your advice was spot on and very good. Thank you. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so kind. Thanks for reading my post. I am so very glad that you found it pertinent. I hope we all enjoy rest of the course by learning and sharing together and stay connected even after the course if possible. πŸ™‚ Cheers πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello again!
      I visited your blog again. It seems you have not done a post today. Also I remember archives were there earlier–this time I couldn’t see them. I hope you enjoy posting and interacting with bloggers. Cheers πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. I know that most of them are repetitions of old instructions. I felt the need to share as I observed many bloggers omitting the, I am glad that some of them found little bit of help πŸ™‚ Thanks for your generous feedback πŸ™‚ Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hello again! I visited your blog and read your introduction. Since you also love mystery, thriller and sci-fi films–I am sure we would have a lot of recommendations for each other. My blog has many movie recommendations-though reviews are brief. Keep interacting my friend πŸ™‚ Cheers πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I wanted to comment on “The Dark Side of Moon.” This is honestly some of the best poetry I have ever read. I don’t claim to have read much but when I come across something intelligent, delicate, sensitive and pregnant I tend to recognize it more often than not. I want to ask–have you written these down today or earlier–if you produced these today–you really produce very quickly–which means you’re prolific as well. Thanks, it’s a delight to read your verses πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate your kindness dear. I hope you would come to know many more people. There are many wonderful people. You are also very nice. Keep blogging! Cheers πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words πŸ™‚ We all are learning from each other and we are doing so at a great rate and with lots of fun πŸ™‚ I wish you a great day at varsity today πŸ™‚ Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been our mutual experience. You’re so kind. I visited your blog and I am in love with your independent thinking. The following quotes from your day-2 post would make perfect sense if they’re put in introductions of most of us. They would for me for sure.

      β€œSome birds are not meant to be caged; their colors are just too bright”.

      “I have always been called different, random, out of ordinary, strange, weird, and awesome person.”

      You really write well Nadine! I like your all round take on life via writing. I wish you great success and luck. πŸ™‚

      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This post was a wonderful idea Anand! I too have seen quite a few posts in The Commons that were lacking a link to their blog, by the time I’ve seen the post though someone else has already said something so they know to include their link. Everyone I’ve met so far through this course have been so very kind and helpful, and most of all encouraging! I had no idea what exactly I had signed up for when I reserved my spot for this course but goodness I sure am enjoying it πŸ™‚

    ❀ and harp strings,
    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so nice of you Kate πŸ™‚
      Yes this journey has been a fascinating adventure full of serendipity. Most of us are enjoying it beyond their expectations. It seems as if friendship and feedback is helping all of us revive our dormant creative energies. Yes you’re right it was a very fortunate event to have enrolled for this course. I feel luckier. I hope that all of us gain many beautiful memories with this course.

      Thank you so much for your kind comments dear πŸ™‚

      Anand

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Florence πŸ™‚

      I checked your blogs Florence. I did comment on your posts in commons. You have a friendly voice and engaging writing. Keep up the good work.

      The tag I was talking about in the post is to be used in your blog posts done during our course duration. You need not use tags for commons post though πŸ™‚

      Please let me know if you need help with tags πŸ™‚

      I wish you a wonderful day in university today πŸ™‚

      Anand

      Like

Would love to hear from you!

