Do spiritual people ever need to take a stand?

You have heard about surrender. You know why acceptance is so important for being peaceful. Any situation in your life, whether it’s pleasant or unpleasant is the reality of the moment. Acceptance and surrender to life are keys to spiritual growth. Surrendering to life is saying yes to whatever is. It doesn’t however mean to stop working for what seems right to you. Acceptance means that you acknowledge the situation and instead of wasting your energies in complaining and whining, start putting them in more creative ways to improve the situation.

Some situations in life are beyond correction and improvement. You can’t work to change them. They are your destiny. Some things are simply beyond our control. You can’t bring your childhood back. If you lost a loved one you might not be able to contact him ever again. There are infinite such situations where we have to either accept or to suffer miserably. These situations force you to surrender to life and goad you to embrace acceptance over wallowing in self-pity and tears. But there are some other situations where you might feel that they are not impossible to work upon. You feel that just a punch here and a kick there would turn things the way you always wanted them to. In such situations, you might find yourself procrastinating, complaining, quarreling and regretting over things, where it would be a thousand times better if you just start working to improve them. Acceptance of what is connects to the core of your being and you start feeling the free flow of life which got inhibited earlier. Complaining and crying over matters doesn’t really change them–it can, at best delay changes, if changes are possible at all.

Acceptance releases a great amount of energy trapped in useless emotions and thoughts. Negative energy is not of any use to your organism. It makes you feel ponderous and it makes you feel trapped. It’s harmful for your life and well-being. Acceptance releases energy which was trapped in emotional patterns and pain-body. Complaining and whining is part of your pain-body and when you start surrendering to life this energy gets released from your pain-body and becomes free, positive and creative flow of life. This positive energy not only makes you feel better, healthier and happier but also makes you grow spiritually.

But are there situations where spiritual people need to take a stand and fight?

Generally you see that sages have a smiling grimace with peaceful vibrations surrounding them. People who come in contact with sages also feel peaceful. Sages don’t ask for anything. They have surrendered completely to life. Do they have any ego? Yes and no. They have transcended ego but until there’s a body it needs to be nurtured. More so for a spiritual seeker who has not realized the Self. If a person has no ego–not even the fringe ego at all–he can’t have an ashram–or an organization which is involved in charity and social-service. His body would not sustain as there’s no structure to protect it against the animals, insects, viruses and bacteria. I don’t know if the body of an enlightened sage is immune to these things but a seeker’s body is definitely not.

Self-torture and mortification are not really spiritual. A true seeker needs to take care of his body and mind. He needs to be in company of good people too. He needs proper diet, hygiene and rest. If any of these things is improper his Sadhana–spiritual practices would get adversely affected. In order to ascertain that these things are proper he needs to take care of them. He has to look after his body, his diet, his company and his surroundings. Even when he has surrendered to the life. Surrender simply means taking guidance from the divine instead of taking guidance from the materialistic logical mind. Relying more on your inner guide, your Self, your intuition is surrender. It doesn’t mean however that you start accepting what is completely wrong and unjustified. If there are mosquitoes who bite you and pollute your blood you need to protect your body against them in order to stay healthy. Mosquitos don’t respect a saint’s body as far I know.

It’s true that there are occult powers which help mystics sail through difficulties but it’s futile to keep searching for miracles and occult instead of trying to explore darkness in you which is keeping you from freedom. It’s futile to waste time for acquiring occult powers to just stay healthy and safe. It’s similar to a material person who is trying to accumulate more and more wealth without being able to feel and live life. Similar to mosquitos there are people who are parasites who just want to hang onto a sage to use them. The conventional image of sage which makes people think that he’s always peaceful and never gets angry is good but often attracts people who are opportunists and want to use the sage. The law of Karma is working to keep these people in check but it becomes a need of the situation in life of a seeker or a sage to take a stand against such people.

The sage has to either run away from such people to avoid their company altogether or to make it clear that they can’t use him for their personal gains. His glance is enough to tell him about the deepest of human intentions and underlying causes behind them. Therefore the sage has to take a strong stand against some things which if not kept in check grow like mushrooms after rain. It’s not ego in the deep sense because it’s mostly controlled by the fringe ego devoted to caring for body, mind and surroundings which are indispensable for spiritual practices. The difference between activists and a seeker is that former believe that they can change the world merely by action without having to know themselves at first, whereas, the sage is pretty clear about impossibility of any substantial change without having realized the Self. But to realize the Self he needs to work for it and even after realization the bodily vehicle which is being used by the divine for awakening of others needs to be protected. This is why spiritual people need to take a stand.

Featured image courtesy: here

23 thoughts on “Do spiritual people ever need to take a stand?

  1. I read a couple of your posts and am intrigued! Your writing has a way of calming me and making me actually “think”–I’m an impulsive person and need to take a step back. Your writing makes me do that. Thank you. I’m actually quite glad I found your blog!! It’ soothing manner is good for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a great compliment for me Catherine. One of the best I have ever received. I thank you for your kindness. I also checked your blog and it’s beautiful. You are witty and creative. I wish you all the very best 🙂 🙂

      Like

  2. I very much like your writing. I love reading posts that are all for positivity and making ourselves the best version of ourselves we are able. I know I will be back to read more. Do you know anything about meditation? I have been looking into it recently.

    all the best,
    the (esc)ape artist

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting. Your feedback is precious to me. I look forward to see your blog too. Please keep coming back. Thanks for kind words. Yes meditation is one of my prime interests. There are a few meditation and breathing techniques I have written about. Please use the search box to find those posts. Alternatively I can help you with the links to such posts. Or please let me know what you want to know about meditation. I would try answering your questions to the best of my knowledge and capability. I look forward to discussions with you. Sincerely, Anand.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanl you for the reply. I just am wondering if meditation is something you meed to commit a lot of time to. Will I need complete silence to be able to meditate? What is the main goal of meditation? I plan on searching on your blog for these answers as well.

        best,
        the (esc)ape artist

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Short answer is: No–you need a little time. Also: It’s an activity which keeps going 24/7 and not just sitting cross-legged for an hour, which might act as a booster in initial stages and might be needed for stabilizing. Goal of meditation might depend on what you want it to be. For example: I wanted to get liberated from suffering and wanted bliss and peace. Other people might want more intelligence, harmony, peace or relaxation or staying fit or anti-aging effects. I hope it helps. Though I feel it needs a detailed discussion initially to understand it if you are new. Meditation is a way of living. It’s to be aware of how you walk, talk, eat and behave–you start from gross–body and external–then you move to subtle –mind–thoughts and feelings–then you find that you get connected to source of all life and your life becomes harmonious and peaceful. 🙂 Anand

          Liked by 1 person

  3. oqu3

    Thanks for the follow. I suspect you will find something to incorporate into your pattern of perspective. I know that you are not Christian, but don’t be deceived, the average representative Christian out there is not Christian either. I know that regardless of our differences I can use something from visiting your blog and vice versa.
    And that is because the journey to improve self and mind goes like that. So welcome, dear friend. And I will be by to hear your narratives.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello There,
      I wanted to interact with you immediately after following you but couldn’t . Thanks for writing to me. I clearly understand what you mean. Christ Consciousness, Krishna Consciousness or simple Universal Consciousness is not realized by most of the people. I feel whoever is connected to the core of being–no matter which path he followed–would be loving and compassionate. I also feel that I would learn a lot from you. I look forward to explore more of your blog 🙂 Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Not at all. I am using it all the time. You are sensitive towards other’s suffering I can see that–which is a wonderful quality anyone can have. May God bless you with his bliss, peace, light and happiness 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Your words do your bidding and your wisdom shines through them. Couldn’t visit yesterday because the householder in me had to finish a few chores that had overflowed from Sunday into Monday. Love your blog; its serene look goes with its character. I can’t even bring myself to be my flippant, non-serious self here…just can wish you the very best in your quest of spirituality.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your precious comment has some of the most heartwarming feedback I have ever received dear Anand 🙂 You again made me smile with your sincerity as well as with your wit. I know that you make many people smile everyday. It’s a great act of kindness and truly spiritual. I heartily thank you for visiting my blog and giving such a wonderful feedback. Thanks for all your kind words and I wish you great luck and success in your artistic journey and life. Sincerely, Anand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Do visit again. I know I will return to your blog. My blog is a collection of senseless ramblings…I don’t know how and when those bugs of humor and wit (perhaps) crawl into those posts – but I am grateful that they do.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I will, definitely very soon. Yes you’re very creative and you’ve an amazing talent. 🙂 Creativity is inexplicable like love, life and all that truly matters 🙂

          Like

  5. It means you have been practicing Kriya Yoga since school days. Glad to know. I still don’t know about the technique since they kept it a secret. I feel it’s some type of breathing practice/Pranayama. I know about rhythmic breathing technique taught by AOL. I never joined their program though–inquired about it from a friend. I invented a variation of rhythmic breathing in 2003 while I was suffering from gastric ulcers borne out of anxieties borne out of excessive pressure owing to competitive examinations I was preparing for in Kota(Rajasthan). This practice not only cured me of many diseases but also gave me a deep taste of bliss which was to follow. I called this practice Taal. I had not heard about AOL’s practice by then and my method was different. Now I feel it must not have been that great after all since nobody else got benefitted from it. You might find articles on Taal in my blog if you search. I have heard about Isha Yoga courses and Shiva is Adiyogi–the yogi of yogis. I wish you best of luck in your practices. I can’t say that I am capable of answering your questions but we might have a good discussion if you feel like it. Thanks 🙂

    Like

    1. I took initiation from Saint Rajinder Singh Ji who is a master in the line of Kabir-Nanak. He teaches Surati-Sabad-Yoga–meditation on sound and light vibrations. I independently found sound vibrations in 2003 and they flourished after 2007. That’s why I took initiation from a Sabad master. I have practiced Hatha Yoga, Jnana Yoga, Mantra Yoga and Sabad Yoga along with intense devotion in different stages in my life. I cordially thank you for your interest 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would love to hear about the various kinds of yoga. I have been to the path of Spirituality for sometime now & have a lot of questions. I am very glad to have come across you. Which form of Yoga did you find to be the best amongst all?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I have been exploring Vedic Astrology too. I feel we all have different propensities. I for example, have a strong Mars in my chart, therefore meditation on sound vibrations worked well for me. But even Jnana Yoga worked well too. For a while it was mostly an intense devotional phase–expansion of heart. It has been a potpourri of disciplines which led to the same path. I would be interested to interact with you and learn about your practices. But I sincerely don’t think that there’s any ‘best’ path for everyone. Do you have guru?

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I have been a follower of Paramhansa Yogananda since my school days and consider him my guru. I am also a devotee of Shiva & all my spiritual practices are devoted to him. I took up the Art of Living course but could not connect well to it. These days am into Yoga & really want to take it up seriously. So will be taking the inner engeneering program with Isha Foundation in October, their practices are Yoga based.

            Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear from you!

