Vedic Astrology is Not Merely Superstition!

Vedic Astrology is a proto-science. I don’t regard it as a pseudo-science though many people do. I don’t consider it to be a superstition. Not at all. Those who consider themselves educated should not only be skeptical about things but also be skeptical about blind skepticism. There are people in India and elsewhere who regard Astrology as total hogwash and balderdash. Nothing could be farther from the Truth. Here, I am going to take a simple example which I’ve used for a few conversations. This is just a simple example and could be verified by anyone who knows how to surf through internet and operate a computer. Computers and internet have made abundant number of horoscopes, data and resources available for research with ease. Anyone with common sense can examine for himself how accurate Astrology is. The inaccuracies, failures and inefficiency are because of us practitioners, because of the lost texts which were destroyed in dark ages–because of errors in translations and transcriptions and not because the Science of Jyotisha is in error.

1. Saturn Transits

Saturn gets exalted in the sign Libra. It takes Saturn a full 30 years to transit through all 12 zodiac signs. Saturn’s latest Libra transit occurred roughly in the period August 2012 to September 2014. This period created greatest turmoil in Indian political arena in last two decades or so. There were so many movements against corruption, social reform movements and much agitation among common masses. Many scandals came to become the common knowledge of masses. It created the atmosphere for the record win of opposition party alliance with a clear majority. It’s so because Libra represents justice–you might have seen the blind lady with a weighing scale in front of courthouses–it’s the sign of Libra which represents balance. Saturn is an agent of balance–it works to restore order and balance–it works for the masses. In 1984 elections, almost 30 years ago, when Saturn was making the Libra transit, Congress won with a clear majority and a similar event happened in 2014 elections. If anyone is not able to see a pattern which has repeated itself in about 30 years–it’s clearly because of his lack of sight. It’s not the aftermath–astrologers were quite sure about such regime change because whether one believes or not heavenly bodies do affect every being on earth. It’s widely known how Moon’s cycles affect tides in oceans. How Moon’s transits affect moods of person–on the full Moon day quirky persons become even more quirkier.

Examining global or mass events hasn’t been my metier. But I’ve taken some keen interest in personal Astrology. Trying to learn about my own psychological disposition made me interested about Astrology. What kept it going was accuracy of the events in accordance with astrological predictions in my own life. I kept record of Moon’s transits for my own feelings and for those around me–friends, relatives and colleagues and observed striking patterns about which I informed them as well  much to their astonishment.

Below I am presenting before you another simple argument–which anyone can check with help of internet for validity. Those who are skeptics can check it for accuracy and those who are believers can use it for those who are consulting them with certain doubts lingering in the back corner of their minds.

Various planetary energies work to amplify various behavior patterns in individuals. Individual certainly is more than the sum total of all planetary energies-but these energies do affect them. They work in mysterious ways because Karma has deep unfathomable ways of working. Sun for example gives a person will power and political power–connections into aristocracy and charisma. Mercury gives power to calculate, count, record and write-witticism. Venus gives sensitivity for beauty and art–enhances feminine qualities. Jupiter confers divine wisdom–knowledge of beyond and eloquence. Mars gives courage, stamina, strength and ability to fight.

Since I am from India–I would take one planet Mars for this case study and I would take some celebrities which are known to many if not most people in India. If a skeptic finds me culprit of being ‘selective’–I openly invite him to select 1000 celebrity figures who are subject to Mars strength–such as–athletes, dancers, fighters, wrestlers, military generals, Yogi, natural leaders, and stuntmen. I am quite sure that out of 1000 at least 700 would be fit in the rule of Mars being strong in chart of such a nativity. Why only 70% events? Because as suggested upthread–not all the rules are known–much has been lost in the dark ages–and that’s why it’s a proto-science which has a potential of becoming a super-science.

2. Strength of Mars

Mars is considered strong when:

1. It’s in its exaltation sign: Capricorn.

2. It’s in its own sign: Scorpio or Aries.

3. It’s strong in Ashtakvargas–in divisional charts–receives a strong value in shadbala calculations.

Any of the above 3 conditions might meet the requirement for Mars to become strong in chart of a person. Lets take following examples: I am choosing most recent and most popular celebrities for our convenience. I have taken birth data from Astrosage.com website. They mostly comply with Wikipedia data.

1. Incumbent Prime Minister of India: Narendra Modi

He has Scorpio rising in the ascendant. Mars is located in the sign Scorpio in ascendant forming Ruchaka Yoga.

2. Sri Sri Ravishankar: Spiritual Leader: Art of Living

He has Capricorn rising. Mars is situated in lagna with exaltation. It’s a strong Ruchaka Yoga.

3. Sachin Tendulkar: Cricket Legend

He has Mars exalted in Capricorn in the sixth house with strength.

4. Rahul Dravid: Cricket Legend

He has Mars in Scorpio. It receives strength in divisional charts as well.

5. Baba Ramdev: Yoga Guru

He has a strong exalted Mars in the seventh house in Capricorn.

6. Subramanyam Swami: Politician BJP

He has exalted Mars in the sixth house in Capricorn.

7. Akshay Kumar: Bollywood Star: Martial Artist

He has Mars in its own sign Scorpio-in ascendant.

8. Bruce Lee: Hollywood Star: Martial Arts Iconic Legend

Mars has 2nd rank in Shadbala calculation. Scorpio is the ascendant rising ruled by Mars. Mars is exalted in navamsa as it’s located in the sign Capricorn.

9. Shahrukh Khan: Bollywood Star:Dancer

Mars in Scorpio in the 4th house forming Ruchaka Yoga.

10. Salman Khan: Bollywood Star: Bodybuilder

Mars is exalted in the tenth house with great strength in the sign Capricorn.

11. Arnold Schwarzenegger: Bodybuilding Legend: Hollywood Star: Politician(USA)

Mars has highest ranking in the Shadbala calculations.

12. Hrithik Roshan: Bollywood Star: Dancer: Bodybuilder

Mars in Aries.

13.  Adolf Hitler: Military General: Dictator

Mars in Aries in the seventh house.[Sun is also in Aries in exaltation–suggesting political power and charisma.]

14. Napoleon Bonaparte: Military General: Dictator

Mars in Aries.[Sun is also in Aries in exaltation–suggesting political power and charisma.]

15. Dharmendra: Bollywood Legend

Mars exalted in Capricorn forming Ruchaka Yoga from Chandra Lagna.

16.  Mel Gibson: Braveheart: Hollywood Star

Mars in Scorpio with strength in the sixth house.

17.  Tom Cruise: Hollywood Star

Mars rising. Mars has the highest Shadbala.

18. Hyder Ali: Military General Mysore State 

Mars in Scorpio. Has highest Shadbala

19. Fidel Castro: Military General: Politician(Cuba)

Mars in Aries in the seventh house forming Ruchaka Yoga. Mars has the highest Shadbala.

20. Rajnikant: Indian Film Star: Cultural Icon

Mars exalted in Capricorn the sixth house.

21. Shammi Kapoor: Yahoo Dancer: Bollywood Star

Mars in Scorpio in sixth hose.

22. Ranbir Kapoor: Bollywood Star: Dancer

Mars rising in Scorpio lagna.

23. Charlie Chaplin: Iconic Film Star

Mars in Aries in the seventh house forming Ruchaka Yoga.

24. Manoj Kumar: Bollywood Star

Mars in Scorpio.

25. Milind Soman: Ironman: Supermodel: Star

Mars in Scorpio. Ruchaka Yoga from Chandra Lagna.

26. Kundan Lal Saigal: First Bollywood Star

Mars in Scorpio. Ruchaka Yoga.

27. Sharmila Tagore: Bollywood Star

Mars in Scorpio. Ruchaka Yoga

28. Kapil Dev: Cricket Legend

Mars in Aries in the seventh house. Ruchaka Yoga

29. Major Dhyanchand: Hockey Legend

Very strong Mars in the sixth house in Scorpio.

30. Clint Eastwood: Hollywood Legend: Cultural Icon

Mars in Aries.

31. Navjot Singh Sidhu: Cricketer: Politician

Mars in Scorpio.

Featured image courtesy: here

image: here and here

9 thoughts on “Vedic Astrology is Not Merely Superstition!

  1. What i do not realize is in truth how you’re not actually much more smartly-liked than you may be right now. You are very intelligent. You realize therefore significantly when it comes to this matter, made me personally believe it from a lot of varied angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be fascinated except it is something to do with Lady gaga! Your personal stuffs great. At all times take care of it up!|

    Like

  2. “Those who consider themselves educated should not only be skeptical about things but also be skeptical about blind skepticism.”
    Well spoken.

    I must admit that I was a skeptic initially. Then I got into this heated argument with a friend, her family relies on astrologers for almost everything, So I decided to disprove astrology, once and for all. Then started my journey.. through astrology.. I started reading up stuff, going through basic lessons offered online.
    And the more I read, the more astounded I was. Astrology is so vast a subject and so deep. I was soon a convert. I must mention, it’s bad reputation emanates from a few of our corrupt astrologers. Used right and it can do wonders, Used wrong, well…

    I believe – “Willpower” trumps all, the stars can merely act as guides.

    P.s. : I will shoot you an email. Would love your “Vedic” take. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind words Ananya. I agree with most of what you say. 🙂

      About will power: Wait and see. There’s no free-will. Destiny is a super-power. It would take long discussions and I want to save you time so I would say wait and see and you would understand as I have been through the phase where I had a great faith in will-power; now no more.

      Thanks for reading it and the kind feedback. I would see your chart. So far I have seen charts of Ivan and Arpita only 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. My friend,
      I would certainly do it for you as you are interested and have been generous enough in discussions. 🙂

      Please send me your birth details–
      time/place/date of birth on my mail or if you want to keep them private please tell me here–I feel talking about your personal life should be done via mail.
      Please let me know if you specifically want to know about a thing. Though I don’t claim expertise–results are 70% true if your details are accurate 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ivan Proust

    I am not convinced because there are a lot of inaccuracies and logical errors made by you and other people who believe in astrology. I don’t think I can fit all I have to say in this comment, so I will make a post on my blog later. You can check it out if you want.

    See you later.
    Bye.
    : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, no problem. I have read many skeptics commentaries but they have not been good enough to eradicate impressions gathered by empirical study of thousands of birth charts in my life.

      Though it’s difficult to do so–if you ever get around sharing your birth details–I might surprise you with a thing or two about you 🙂 🙂

      Bye bye 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.