The Secret of Vedas

The Secret in Bhagavatam

[ Lord Krishna taught it to his disciple Uddhava]

In the eleventh canto of Srimad Bhagavata purana, lord Krishna tells about the secret of Vedas to his disciple Uddhava, in following verses.

Excerpts are from Vedabase translation of Bhagavad.

SB 11.21.35 — The Vedas, divided into three divisions, ultimately reveal the living entity as pure spirit soul. The Vedic seers and mantras, however, deal in esoteric terms, and I also am pleased by such confidential descriptions.SB 11.21.36 — The transcendental sound of the Vedas is very difficult to comprehend and manifests on different levels within the prāṇa, senses and mind. This Vedic sound is unlimited, very deep and unfathomable, just like the ocean.SB 11.21.37 — As the unlimited, unchanging and omnipotent Personality of Godhead dwelling within all living beings, I personally establish the Vedic sound vibration in the form of oṁkāra within all living entities. It is thus perceived subtly, just like a single strand of fiber on a lotus stalk.SB 11.21.38-40 — Just as a spider brings forth from its heart its web and emits it through its mouth, the Supreme Personality of Godhead manifests Himself as the reverberating primeval vital air, comprising all sacred Vedic meters and full of transcendental pleasure. Thus the Lord, from the ethereal sky of His heart, creates the great and limitless Vedic sound by the agency of His mind, which conceives of variegated sounds such as the sparśas. The Vedic sound branches out in thousands of directions, adorned with the different letters expanded from the syllable om: the consonants, vowels, sibilants and semivowels. The Veda is then elaborated by many verbal varieties, expressed in different meters, each having four more syllables than the previous one. Ultimately the Lord again withdraws His manifestation of Vedic sound within Himself.

The Secret in Prasang Paarijaat

[ Sage Ramananda taught it to his disciples]

In his posthumous biographical book Prasang Paarijaat, sage Ramananda is quoted at many places, singing praises of subtle sound vibrations heard with in. 

{ Prasang Paarijaat is one of the greatest classics of spiritual wisdom. It was written about 700 years ago but wasn’t really published up until 1980s because of mysterious reasons. }

In the octet 29/226, sage Ramananda says:

  1. You’re that. 
  2.  He’s yours.
  3. He’s like you.
  4. That thou art.
  5.  You’re his.
  6. You’re like him.
These grand sentences express great cordiality between soul and supersoul and they tear apart the veil of illusion and attachment.

In the octet 29/227, sage says:

These(aforesaid) six grand Vedic sentences are capable of producing universal consciousness. They stop the dance of Maya. They make you aware of source of all knowledge. All of these grand words liberated many souls.

In the octet 29/229 , the sage says:

Soul is like Sadashiva. Shiva chants six letter Rama mantra. This sound echos in the heart. These(aforesaid) six grand sentences are development of those primordial sound vibrations. The priest of heart temple focuses his attention on these sound vibrations and attains Yoga.

Octet 29/230, the sage further says:

The being who has attained Yoga, becomes a candidate for six-fold properties. The six internal enemies become pacified immediately. As soon as he becomes a candidate to six-fold virtues, these sounds start twinkling with divine light. 

Elaboration on Octet 29/229 and 29/230;

There are four types of soul:

Antaratma ( Shiva)

Paramatma( Vishnu)


Sutratma( Bramha)

The antaratma Shiva chants the name of Paramatma or God. The name of God has all powers of God in it and it’s not different from God. The sound vibrations travel in a subtle Prana which is also called Sutratma because it is a link between soul and supersoul. Bramha is the sutratma or medium. He’s also known as Hiranyagarbha or prototype Bramha from whom all Bramhas of various universes emerge. 

When you start listening to the sound vibrations in your heart, you get connected to soul and supersoul simultaneously. The soul is chanting the name of God. This is how soul is connected to supersoul–through the name–the sound vibration. When you focus on these inner sound vibrations, you’re getting connected to soul as well as to true name and ultimately to God. 

The yogi who gets connected to the true name attains Yoga–the true union. He becomes heir to the six folded property of God–i. e. complete fame, renunciation, dharma, opulences, power, glow. He has always been a candidate but since he was not listening to the advise of his father, his father did not allow him to use all these properties. The moment he starts listening carefully to the word(which is God’s only advice)–he becomes an eligible candidate for all his father’s property.

The secret as taught by various saints

One who studies teachings of Kabir, Nanak, Paltu, Garib, Sahjo, Meera, Sur, Tulsi and other great saints realizes that their words are essence of Vedic teaching. Most of those saints were either illiterate or never cared to read Vedas. How did their words became epitome of Vedic wisdom? It’s because they attended the school of love in their hearts in holy communion with word. They heard essence of Vedas. You find many such quotations by Kabir and Nanak about the importance of Anahata Nada. That is how their teachings became quintessence of Vedic wisdom and even beyond them.

There are innumerable testimonies of sages and saints that attest to the fact that simply reading of Vedas cannot confer wisdom. In fact, you cannot even comprehend essence of Vedic wisdom by mere reading them. But if you attain Yoga by attending to sound vibrations which are ever effervescent in your heart–you will become rich with Vedic wisdom like ancient sages. That is why Vedas are called Shrutis. Shruti means that which was ‘heard.’ 

When your mind and body become harmonious or sattvic. You see that spring of beautiful melodies of harmony is heard inside your heart. Heart centre opens up and you become endowed with supreme wisdom.

image sources : 
1. Krishna
2. Ganesha
3. Sage Ramananda
4. Kabir
5. Nanak


Would love to hear from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s