CTRL F, CTRL C and CTRL V

I paused for a moment, in search of most suitable word to describe the phenomenon we were discussing about (None of us had a word for it!).
“Now he is doing his usual ‘CTRL F’ inside  head,” my colleague said.
With cups of tea/coffee in our hands, we were standing in a circle sharing our views on Bob, his uncle, and of course on Johnny on the spot.
I was taken aback by his statement.
” Oh we did discuss about Facebook thumbs-up called ‘Like’ and laughed about Microsoft communicator’s ‘Sick Smiley’ being used in a manner it was least intended to, but we had never discussed anything about this great commandment, thanks for inspiring me and I might try and scribble a few lines on this as well,” I said without taking a breath.
My colleague seemed pleasantly surprised. But if you just look a bit carefully, this is yet another hint that technology is overtaking our communication. Those who are pretty familiar with computers use this kind of lingo. [ Yet another Recency Illusion!]
“Gosh, if I say do a CTRL F to find out a word for this idea, to my parents in a casual conversation, just because I have become habitual of it; since they rarely use computers, they’re very likely to be dumbfounded by my awkward articulation.” I said to my colleagues.

“That is right. There was a photograph in circulation on many social networking websites and in e-mail chains, where a couple twin infants were wearing T-shirts with CTRL+C and CTRL+V respectively printed on them!” Another colleague said which made everyone nod and smile together.

“It seems that their parents are computer programmers,” the first colleague said.

Would love to hear from you!

