Logos & Logos!

“That mail explaining hidden meanings in the logos of various companies was a very intriguing one indeed!” I said to my colleague with emphasis.



“Oh, did you like that?” He asked with a jovial smile on his face.



“Indeed…Do you know that ‘logos’ as a word has another meaning, which fascinates philosophers and mystics?” I said, to further the discussion in the direction I like most!


“Oh, is it? I do not know any other usage of ‘logos’ except as the plural of ‘logo’”; with a sense of wonder on his face he said.


“Did you ever come across, by any chance to the biblical saying: “In the beginning, was the word, the word was with God; the God was the word” [John 1:1] “I asked with caution?


“No”, he said with insouciance!  
“What does that mean?” He asked.




“That, the quintessential and primordial word is the root of the universe and that very sound is the God” I said.
“Logos comes from Greek and its plural is ‘Logoi’; whereas, Logos is also a plural of ‘logo’ which stands for an emblem”; I said.



My colleague went for a coffee and I went back to my seat after this chit-chat. 





Would love to hear from you!

